We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Views, Unspoiled Land”

Crystal Cove State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.99*
and up
Orange County Helicopter Tour from Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Terrific Views, Unspoiled Land”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited and hiked around Crystal Cove, a relatively unspoiled part of coastline in between Newport Beach and Laguna Beach. There were paths high up on the cliffs and ramps that went down to the beach. You need to be in decent shape to go up and down the ramps since they are quite steep. We saw a few surfers out there, but large rocks near shore probably keep most away. There is a small fee to park your car in the lot since its a State Park. After a good hike, we ate at Ruby's Shake Shack for a sandwich and shake. Overall, nice place for a hike without driving far from civilization. The bonus is having lunch at Ruby's afterwards. Recommended!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmjlhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    221
    33
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miles of Pacific Ocean beach”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This park is a natural science beauty. The tides were high so we didn't experience the tidal pools at low tide. We saw porpoises from the bluff but no whales. They have cabins for rent right on the beach. We parked in lot 3 and there is a short hike to the beach. The fee is $15 for the day pass.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkmWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool, but don't make it first on your list.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Can't argue w/ beach and hiking trails--nothing ever wrong w/ that. This review is not based on the availability of hiking trails. This stop came after a couple hours at Laguna Beach, so we were still mesmerized by that great experience.

$15 for parking that you find out about on the way out. You pay for a shuttle to (per person) from the parking lot.

Did not eat at Beachcomber, but heard good things about it. Visited friends who were enjoying the shake shack. Pretty basic.

Since I read about this spot and persuaded everyone to stop I might have expected more. The majority of the cottages were much more run down than I expected ("phase 3 reconstruction".
They looked like a 6th grade class could pull them down in one morning. Wondering how long they've been in reconstruction--60 years?. Was more of an eyesore and I'm the one that was saying "no, that's kind of cool." The rest of the group not appreciating any mystique/allure/history.

Bathroom facilities are definitely ones you would find at the beach. Kind of like a bad golf course.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicDadBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great coastal views”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I love the long, 10 mile loop, starting at the ranger station. You get peeks at the coast throughout the hike, and I like the variation in elevation, rather than just an up then down hike.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ocshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven & nostalgia”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Fun spot to visit and explore the tide pools. Don't miss the cottages and the visitor center to get a sense of how things were back in the day. Stop at Beachcomber to have a bit as you watch the sunset.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeilaniGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Cove State Park also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Crystal Cove State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing