We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Laguna location”
Review of ROCK'N FISH - Laguna Beach - CLOSED

ROCK'N FISH - Laguna Beach
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Avenue
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Laguna location”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Laguna location is on the 2nd floor across the street from the beach. Request a table at the window for a nice view. Fish entres were very good and the menu is interesting with variety. Warm restaurant with friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busytraveler1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    48
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Tried to go to Nick's, but too loud, dark & noisy. This was next door with no 45 min. wait for table. I haf the Irish stew, my wife had the salmon, both excellent. 2nd story view of ocean , nice atmosphere. Avg about $20 per person for dinner. Would go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strider97116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff was ignorant”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Food was very good, a little pricey but worth it if the staff was not so terrible. They tried to seat 6 of us in a booth built for 4. When we requested a table, it was not received well by the hostess. Then 10 minutes later we saw her do the same thing to another party of 6. Think she would have got the message the first time, or was it the first time? Talked with the owner and he was very nice and appologetic.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank anngoolsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer selections”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great beer selection. The service was a bit slow but it was almost closing time.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flikflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Could have been better.”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Had a long weekend getaway in Laguna Beach and this was our first stop -

FOOD - 3.5 stars. 10 ounce Aged Filet Mignon was a 4 stars in our book, tender and seasoned just right. I'm not sure if I tasted a hint of garlic but it has a mysterious taste which I enjoyed. The King Salmon however was mediocre. It was cooked well but flavor was not impressive. Just okay. Food preparation was average. Nothing to brag about.

SERVICE - 2 stars. COLD, non-chalant, unfriendly but not necessarily rude. We did not have time to change travelling clothes after a long drive to Laguna Beach; it was getting late and we have a toddler with us so we decided to just brave ourselves to see if this restaurant would give us a table without reservation. The first hostess informed us with a sigh that we needed reservation but as we were about to leave, the manager called us back and told us, we can be accommodated. I should have known better and should have continued walking out as our experience here was somewhat uncomfortable. The servers demeanor felt like we owe them for taking us in without reservation. Or maybe it's because we were not dressed to impress? Our server was not only unfriendly but also unattentive. She sounded and looked like she was bored when she was with us. I really should have walked out of here when I had the chance...

ATMOSPHERE - 2 stars. Dim lit... appears darker to me.... gloomy, sad....appears cold. To be honest with you, I'm sure their decor is well designed, furniture looks nice and well placed but the overall atmosphere of a restaurant or any establisment for that matter always reflects the employees disposition and vice versa. In this case, since the servers (all around) were cold and unfriendly, that is also what I would rate the atmosphere to be.

PRICE VS. PORTION - 2.5 stars. Average portions per serving. The price would have been acceptable had the experience been friendlier or fun.

BOTTOM LINE: Though, the age filet mignon was awesome, I will not be back here due to the poor service and unfriendly faces.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROCK'N FISH - Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing