We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary, Charming and Magical Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Laguna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arabella Laguna to your Saves list
Arabella Laguna
506 N. Coast Hwy., Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“Extraordinary, Charming and Magical Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Extraordinary and Charming. We live in Laguna and got married at Arabella. We rented the venue for the reception (we walked a block to Heisler Park for the ceremony), hosted a wedding brunch and housed the family there as well. It is an extraordinary property and the rooms were perfect. Comfortable, great beds and plenty of space for everyone to spread out with common spaces to relax and visit. The property is a "surprise" even to our neighbors in Laguna who pass it daily. It is charming and magical with something beautiful to see wherever you look. The catering cottage was perfect for the rehearsal dinner as well as the wedding food preparation and a buffet table allows for easy serving and access. The catering companies we used both loved it and it is fully equipped for most the items you would need with the same charm as the property. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a venue for an intimate event, a weekend away or a family reunion. We are looking forward to a reason to go the three blocks to stay there ourselves. They have done a great job of marrying charm, modern and romantic in one beautiful property. Magical, magical, magical

Room Tip: The cottages are both great but we didn't find an unsatisfactory room anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Yes, the location of Arabella Laguna is within walking distance to the beach and downtown Laguna. My room was fine, but not a cottage. There are a lot of stairs to and bad night lighting on the property. They could use some TLC around the property and some new outdoor furniture.
However, this isn't about the accommodations but a warning about the expectations of the management that are worth mentioning here since you may not learn about any of this until you check in. Guests are expected to do their own housekeeping, including swapping out towels, taking out the garbage, doing the dishes, making the bed or risk paying additional daily fees. What? Shouldn't this be provided in a place that charges $200+ per night? The owner was crabby and my stay was marred by several issues that were fixed but at some inconvenience to me. I have never felt less like a guest and, for the price, I would stay anywhere else the next time I am in Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at Arabella Laguna. My family surprised me with a "reunion" birthday party and our family took over 4 of the units plus the living area with the catering kitchen. The property is gorgeous---spacious, charming, has very comfy beds and is well located for walking to restaurants and shops. There was room for adults to gather and party while the kids ran around on the spacious lawn area or watched one of the multiple TVs in our rooms. The kitchens are well stocked and there are laundry facilities for longer stays. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Most rooms are on second floor. Choose jacaranda cottage if you do not want to climb stairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GramSRDPTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My house was being painted and uninhabitable, so I got to be a visitor in my own town. A friend recommended Arabella Laguna. Very nice. Since I was only there a few nights, I chose the Heather suite. It overlooks the garden courtyard but had a partial view of the ocean. It's a studio, meaning it's like a hotel room (king bed) with a full kitchen and a fairly large bathroom with shower. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The bed and bath linens deserve a special mention as they were extra nice. I'm noise sensitive, and PCH is close. But, I slept soundly. The kitchen is well equipped if you want to cook, or at least make coffee. Apparently, the larger units come with a dishwasher. There is no A/C. I live nearby and nobody has it. You don't need it. There's no maid service, but I think the price reflects that. If you want fresh towels, you trade them in at the laundry room. There is a home type washer and dryer, no coins.
The location is great. The beach is 1 1/2 blocks away. 2 blocks to a Von's Pavilions. The village is a 5 minute walk. Good restaurants and nightlife are within easy walking distance. 5 minute drive to Trader Joe's.
I see this as a great way for someone to experience life as a local in Laguna. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LagunaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beware of noise from Hwy 1 and hidden charges. Arabella will charge $50 per extra guest per night without providing additional bedding. These charges were not disclosed during online booking. I would not stay there for more than 2 nights because of the noise from Hwy 1 . If you have your windows open ( which is the only option to get fresh air) then be ready to wake up to every motorcycle passing by . Closest beach is not the best in the area, so we had to drive to better location anyway… Next time when I visit Laguna Beach I will explore other accommodation options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Arabella Laguna for several nights in the Foxglove suite. It was nice comfortable clean and unusual. The property is beautifully landscaped and quiet. You feel like you are staying at someone's home rather than a rental property. The location is in north Laguna and very easy to go anywhere in town with the free open air trolley. There are just a few rentals so it's not crowded or noisey. Parking is good as long as each guess has one vehicle. Otherwise parking is on the street with Meter. Very close to beach and restaurants. No AC so if the weather is expected to be hot reschedule!! Overall this is a lovely property. Will visit again. Also pictures on website do not represent the property correctly. It is much nicer in person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbhine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the smaller Lavender Suite for 4 nights - it was furnished really nicely, clean with good, working facilities and a fresh supply of linen and utensils if we needed them. The place itself is only a few minutes from the main beach and restaurants and shops so an ideal location - it is also hidden from view and has a gorgeous little garden with swing seats and a BBQ. The only minor negative was that it was sometimes hard to get in touch with the owners to confirm bookings etc. However, the whole admin process ran smoothly in the end and we enjoyed our time there! AND, really great value for what you get! Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snigatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabella Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Laguna

Property: Arabella Laguna
Address: 506 N. Coast Hwy., Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of days-gone-by, historic Arabella Laguna nestled under towering elms has all the comforts of home. Each cottage or suite has been refurbished in eclectic bungalow style. From its location on gallery row in North Laguna you are minutes to beach, town, shopping and as well as art galleries, museum and festivals. The four buildings surround a lush courtyard with barbecue for the guests' use. Each suite is appointed with fine linens, full kitchen, wireless connect and a TV with VCR. Perfect for a vacation getaway, small wedding, small corporate meetings, birthday parties and family reunions. Unique and enchanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Arabella Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing