We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and bloody Mary's”

Watermarc Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Watermarc Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Laguna Avenue
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great service and bloody Mary's”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I ended up at Watermarc after our first choice restaurant had stopped serving breakfast late on a Sunday morning. The Watermarc's outdoor sign for $5 Bloody Mary's was enough to get us in the door-- and they were exceptional (dilly beans, three different types of stuffed olives,, lime and a salted rim.... Awesome!) our server Kevin was friendly and animated host who gave us suggestions on his favorite menu items. He insisted I have the crab cakes Benedict when I was struggling to decide between another menu item. Then, when my order wasn't quite right, he comp'ed that dish from our bill. H was more dissatisfied than I was! But it's a sign of a waiter who really wants to make things right and give each guest a great experience. I'd return just to try more of the menu and have another drink!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Braceless45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    172
    29
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We asked for a nice table because it was our 25th anniversary and they seated us by the window up front. Best table in the house. I was very impressed. Drinks and food were outstanding. The herb-crusted lamb chops were amazingly good. A little on the pricey side for what you get, but the service and atmosphere was above reproach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roadwussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant and Concept”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We chose this restaurant because of Tripavisor ratings and are glad we did. The grazing items are a unique concept and the food choices are excellent. Started with the tomato soup which came with a small grilled cheese sandwich...excellent and the corn chowder which had popcorn instead of crackers. It was a nice combination. I also had the filet pot pie. It was filled with tender meat. My wife had the tuna with watermelon and cherry tomatoes that offered a wonderful blend of flavors

And to top it off the desserts were great. My wife had the lunch box which came with home made ding dongs and milk. She is still talking about it.

The only negative is that the front of a restaurant is a hangout for the kids that are at the ajoining bars. We had a late dinner so it may not be problem for earlier dining. Our waiter was great and went out a few times to ask them to leave.

Michael our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. It was one of the best meals we had in LA.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't miss the ding dongs!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a memorable mother-daughter sojourn in the area and as we were going to the Pageant of the Masters, my daughter suggested we have an early dinner at Watermarc as she'd eaten there in the past. We parked across from the theater and it was a 15 minute or so walk to the restaurant. There is downstairs as well as upstairs seating, and our table was located upstairs. As it was a Saturday night, you definitely needed a reservation. Wade was our waiter, a true delight, who definitely knows the meaning of great service. We decided to have small plates and share. We selected steak pot pie, sizzling shrimp (least favorite), corn risotto and fried goat cheese with apples and honey - corn risotto was the definite winner with the fried goat cheese a close second! We were honestly full, but when Wade asked if we wanted to order dessert, I said "only if there is something chocolate and decadent". When he suggested ding dongs, I was truly skeptical, but he insisted they were better than the original (which I never particularly liked) and he was right. Three homemade, fudgy ding dongs were wrapped in foil and served up in a metal lunchbox with a container of cold milk. What lusciousness! The Chef, Marc Cohen, is a creative genius. Watermark - a mark showing the greatest height - indeed - Watermarc continues to reach for the heights!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceA885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Good service and good food !
I had friend from overseas, we both enjoyed, I am sure will come
Back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermarc Restaurant also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Watermarc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing