We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 20, 2006

my wife and I recently stayed at Casa Laguna and weren't all that impressed. The hotel had a charming feel, but lacked the organization and efficiency that we are used to encountering. Our room was small but comfortable. We were disappointed to find that the spa was a small room located directly below the noisy kitchen. The staff was very friendly but we expect that in a $200 + per night hotel. Breakfast was disappointing! My wife ordered the French toast which was as ordinary as any French toast in a roadside cafe, while I had the bland quiche. Even as dog lovers, we found it annoying that the house dog was begging for food while we were trying to enjoy our breakfasts. Parking was a bit of an inconvenience, but manageable. The grounds are well managed and charming. The sunset view from the patio was beautiful. We would not recommend this hotel to others who expect "Bang for the buck."

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank goauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

As is sometimes the case, it appears that Casa Laguna and Goauto were a poor fit. It appears this guest was looking for something like one of Laguna Beach’s high-end, bustling, beachfront resorts. Since this review was written, Casa has developed a reputation for top-notch gourmet breakfasts that have won multiple awards and about which our guests rave. The house dog Goauto mentions, and who many guests found endearing, has not been with us for some time, but we are still very dog friendly—with some restrictions. And finally, our pricing is very competitive with other Laguna Beach accommodations receiving a similar high level of customer satisfaction response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour of Highway 1.

Despite high hopes for this B&B we were extremely disappointed.

The rooms are very small - we had a double ocean facing room with balcony. The room was clean but so small that we had to empty our cases and then take them back to store iin the car.

Do not underestimate the noise from PCH1- we were awake from 5am each day as the traffic started to come through.

It is very difficult to walk into Laguna as it is about 2m and there isn't pavement all the way so you have to walk on the very busy and dangerous road. You can take a cab if you don't want to drive (despite the fact that on the first night the front desk told us that it was virtually impossible to get cabs into town).

The breakfasts were good and the small pool area was pretty but it wasn't enough to persuade us to return here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelguru26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

We are sorry this guest did not love Casa Laguna, as many of our guests do and did even back in 2006. Many things have changed at The Casa, but we still have a few small, cozy rooms that many of our guests prefer. Those who want more room generally choose one of our suites. We still front on historic Pacific Coast Highway, just like many of the surrounding luxury homes, high-end resorts, and nearby fine restaurants. You may hear some noise from the road, but for most of our guests, it is not a problem. Most of our guests also appreciate being away from the hustle-bustle of downtown Laguna. If you don’t want to drive downtown, we have two wonderful restaurants within walking distance, and we now have better cab service than described by travelguru26, and a wonderful public transportation system that allows you to leave the driving to someone else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

Having never previously stayed at a bed and breakfast in the US and given the range of views on TripAdvisor, I was somewhat apprehensive about booking Casa Laguna - particularly as I was also booking a room for a work colleague. However, the overall experience was very positive and I would certainly recommend it to others.

I stayed in Casa Laguna while on my way to San Diego for a conference. Rather than taking a connecting flight from LAX to San Diego following a 10 hour flight from Europe, my colleague and I decided to hire a car and make the connection by road. The journey from LAX took around one hour and we were therefore enjoying a complimentary glass of wine and nibbles - various selections of dips, cheeses, nuts and olives - at Casa Laguna within a few hours of landing, rather than sitting in the transit area of LAX.

The first thing I noticed about Casa Laguna was the quality of service. Check in was extremely simple and friendly and we were given a quick tour of the hotel while being escorted to our rooms. I had booked an ocean view room for $ 200 per night. The room was fairly small, but very comfortable and clean. My colleague had a $ 250 per night deluxe room which was of a similar size and standard to my room.

Having spent most of the day in a plane, it was a real pleasure to stroll down to Victoria Beach and stretch our legs. The beach is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and has beautiful views and is extremely sandy.

The one big downside of Casa Laguna is the lack of an on-site restaurant for evening meals. As a result, we had to get a taxi to Laguna Beach that evening. When you are jet lagged and tired, this is something that is best avoided, even if the meal at the San Shi Go sushi bar was very good.

Breakfast the next morning was extremely good and I would certainly recommend the House Omelette to start the day. The homemade banana bread was also excellent.

Many reviewers have noted the noise from the highway and the difficult parking conditions. While both of these are accurate observations, I had no problems with either. If you are seeking complete peace and solitude, however, then Casa Laguna is probably not for you. Similarly, if you are not prepared to park your car on the side road outside the hotel, parking may be an issue for you.

Overall, Casa Laguna was a complete change from the normal 4 and 5 star chain hotels that I tend to stay in when visiting the US. It was far more personable, far more relaxed and the food did not have the mass produced quality of chain hotels. Would I stay there again ? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

My best friend found this B&B by searching the internet and reading lots of guest reviews...all of which do not do it justice. You really have to stay here to understand how wonderful it is. The staff is very attentive and friendly, yet not in a way that breaks the relaxed mood of the stay. When my friend and I first entered the room, we were literally oohing and aahing. The room was amazingly clean...and I mean clean. No dust in the corners of the bathroom, on the baseboards or the blades of the ceiling fan (yes, we really do check these things. We're the type who remove the comforters and pillows before we even unpack. No need to do this here...you could tell they were freshly laundered). There was a personalized welcome letter and a basket of water, fruit and homebaked cookies. Another guest staying there said when they entered their room, a CD of romantic music was playing in their room (we were on a girls-only getaway so no music for us). The wine reception was one of the best I've experienced - unique imported cheeses, nuts, fruit, interesting local wines, etc. Breakfast was truly gourmet and had plenty of choices of hot dishes, one for any palate. The homemade banana bread was to die for....definitely worth the calories! But even with all that, it was the grounds that took our breath away....lush plants, flowers and twinkling lights. Everywhere we walked, there was a little nook to sit and read or enjoy the view...several tables had a gorgeous view of the ocean. The hotel is right off PCH, but even with the cars, you still feel removed from all the hustle and bustle.

It truly is the quintessenntial B&B.....a warm friendly staff, relaxing environment, delicious food, charming decor (NO foo-foo flowers in the room....yay!). Oh, there's also the owners golden lab that lounges around the property...very mellow and lovable. The only issue keeping my review from being a 5-dot "Excellent" is the parking. It's mInimal and very tight. We were able to find a spot right in front on the street,, but other guests weren't so lucky. It's typical of little beach communities, but a pain none-the-less. However, if you are looking for a relaxing and personal place to stay, then the Casa Laguna is it. I would recommend it without hesitation and can't wait to go back with my husband so we can enjoy the private jacuzzi that overlooks the ocean.!

PS...be sure to check out the Inn Keeper's closet for brochures, etc of local food and entertainment. It's quite extensive. They also have a basket of local restaurant menus in the lobby. They made it so easy to dine out in an area not familiar to us.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CaliTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

we stayed this past sunday night. i booked an ocean view room from the hotel website for $250. when we arrived, i had to pay another $30 in taxes. so we're talking nearly $300. for that price, i expected more from the bed and breakfast.

pros: the grounds were charming. the staff very helpful. the wine and cheese from 5 - 7pm was delicious. they also had out giant organic macademia nuts, olives, guacamole, salsa and tortilla chips, veggie platter with dip, along with the wine, cheese and bread.
also, breakfast spread was nice. banana bread, pumpkin muffin, fresh fruit, granola and yogurt, bread and bagels, as well as your choice of something off of their menu. i got the casa omlette and hubby got the banana walnut crepe. he found his too sweet, alas, but was full from the buffet area.
the free peet's coffee all day was a nice perk.
i admit i booked mainly due to the food reviews! =)

cons: tiny tiny room. we had a tiny bathroom. hubby barely fit in the shower. the bed was squeaky and uncomfortable. the carpet looked old. the whole room just looked more worn than charming. also, we were on the highest deck with a long balcony going across all the rooms. it was very noisy with people tramping past our door late at night and in the morning! we were in room #18. also had idiots talking in the b&b car lot right behind our room at 10pm.

the walks to moss beach (tidepools and caves) as well as victoria beach (sands and strong waves), were not far, but dangerous! there is no pavement on one side of the road and the other side is narrow pavement. there are no crosswalks for miles and the south coast highway is exactly that. we walked past a shoulder to jay walk right outside the b&b and there was a fresh memorial with messages, flowers and boogies boards! obviously some poor kid who got struck very recently trying to walk across the busy road like we were doing!

not a nice walk into town. you would have to drive. parking was not an issue for us on sunday night, however, in town or at the b&b.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xiaotien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

Casa Laguna has always been known for their superb breakfasts, and we’re glad xiaotien enjoyed the food, if not the room. Many things have changed since xiaotien’s stay. We now serve a gourmet breakfast from a menu, and evening wine & cheese has taken on much more of a gourmet flair than the munch-fest xiaotien describes. A few guests still think some of our rooms are a little small, but we have a variety of room types and sizes to choose from. Our beds have changed considerably, and we now get raves about the luxurious bedding and cushy toppers. We’ve had no luck convincing the city/state to put in sidewalks or a crosswalk, but we continue to provide printed directions for walking to our nearby beaches without getting on Pacific Coast Highway. As to the worth of a stay at Casa Laguna, our pricing is competitive with all Laguna Beach accommodations receiving a similar consistant high level of customer satisfaction response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, in a "ocean view room." We chose this hotel based on the rating it recieved through this website (having stayed at very good hotels in the past) and we were very dissapointed.

First, the hotel sits on the very busy Pacific Coast Highway. The traffic was so loud that we kept our patio door closed, with the air conditioner on the entire time (and I hate air conditioners). Second, our "ocean view room" was more of an ocean view balcony, (again the noisy highway mere steps from the balcony) as you could only see the ocean from this vantage point., looking around a corner Third, the hotel is about a half a mile from the nearest beach and a mile and half from town, putting it in a lousy location. Last (and the inspiration for this review's title) is the building is old with low archways that my husband and I each hit our heads on in our 2 night stay, causing quite a headache.

On a positive note, the service was good, the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms clean.

We will not stay here again because of the location and noise. The included breakfast and cheep wine they offer 3 times a day do not a great hotel make.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LupeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

We are always surprised when a guest complains that Casa Laguna is situated on Pacific Coast Highway. That is quite obviously our address, and the photographs on our web site and in most promotions clearly show the highway in front of the main building. This is the only highway connecting Orange County’s beach cities, and nearly every hotel and literally thousands of luxury homes sit on historic PCH. That said, those who are highly susceptible to road noise may want to stay further inland, or at one of the high-end beachfront resorts. For most of our guests, the drone of PCH traffic becomes little more than white noise within minutes of their arrival.

This guest is incorrect in stating that the balcony is the only place with an ocean view. With few exceptions, the beautiful Pacific can be seen from gardens, patios, and terraces throughout our property, and from numerous windows. They are also incorrect about the distance to the beach. It takes less than ten minutes to walk to beautiful and historic Victoria Beach—we know, because we frequently make that walk ourselves to watch the sunset. And most visitors find being a mile away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Laguna a good thing. In regard to wearing a helmet in order to avoid striking your head on our beautiful Mission-style arches, we can think of no judicious response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Spent two nights here with my husband to celebrate our second anniversary. For $300 a night for the Newport Suite, we expected a bit more. The property had lots of charm, the staff not so much. They weren't rude, but neither were they helpful or engaging. They just seemed disinterested. What we liked: the pool, the breakfasts, the Peet's coffee, the jacuzzi tub in the room. What we didn't care for: the lack of water pressure in the shower (and that it was in the jacuzzi tub), the difficulty getting to the beach, the indifferent staff, the price.

Stayed: September 2006
9  Thank KaelinCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

We hope that KaelinCB and her husband have had the opportunity to try a return visit to Casa Laguna in more recent years. Our current staff is fully trained and retrained to assure that they are providing top customer service and attention. Repairs and upgrades have been made throughout the property. And the things this guest liked about the property are still around today, but are even better. Beautiful Victoria Beach is just a ten minute walk from Casa Laguna, through lovely Laguna Beach neighborhoods. Our pricing is competitive with similar Laguna Beach accommodations receiving a consistant high level of customer satisfaction response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
490 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
824 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.9 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 23 in Laguna Beach
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $230 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing