We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in Laguna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights. We were able to check in two hours earlier which was great as we had driven down from LA. The room we had was a sea view, which did have a good sea view if you were on the balcony-which is shared. The room was smaller than I expected, but very clean and had everything we needed. The welcome basket was also a nice touch!
The breakfast is great as are the complimentary drinks available through the day-tea,coffee juice etc.
The pool looked lovely,although we did not use it. The wine and cheese in the evenings was also really appreciated, as was the free internet use. We did not have any spa services although I'm sure they would have been great too.
The staff were really friendly and helpful. They helped us with restaurant bookings, where the beaches were etc.
The only downside to the Casa Laguna is that it is a bit of a walk anywhere to eat or the main town area. Crossing the road by foot is also a bit dangerous! There seems to be a lack of foot paths around the Inn. Also it would have been nice to have had our own balcony to enjoy the sunset, as you cannot even have your curtains open in your room to enjoy the view as people walk past your room to get to theirs! It didn't really spoil our time there though.
The parking was also a bit tight. Plenty of spaces, but lots of posts to try and park between, not ideal for most American big cars!
Overall, we had a lovely stay here. If we go to Laguna Beach again we may choose somewhere on the beach or nearer to the main town, but we thought it was good value for money.
Also, Victoria Beach which is a private beach 5 mins from the Casa Laguna is lovely :-)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpiogirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

What a fantastic small hotel! The room we enjoyed was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was great and staff was helpful in answering all our questions. I enjoyed a nice massage and enjoyed sitting by the pool and reading. We ate at a restaurant within walking distance that was fabulous (sorry I can't remember the name - I'm sure you'll be pointed in the right direction by staff). We like the character of this property as we prefer smaller properties with personalities all their own vs. cookie cutter hotels. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvalonCatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My girlfriend and I just returned from our stay at The casa Laguna Inn and overall we had a nice time. The food was delicious and the woman that waited on us gave us superior service. She described the menu in detail and even introduced us to the chef. She was very accomodating, knowledgable and fun. Her service was outstanding! and the food was delicious. I now understand why the reviews regarding the hotel service and food are so good!

Unfortunately, our room was very small, and although clean, we were really cramped and I felt we paid too much for the room. Further, the hotel location is at the far south side of town, we needed to use our car frequently and never informed about the trolley at check in. By rhe time we realized there even was a trolley, we were checking out!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawyerup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaInnkeeper, Innkeeper-Proprietor at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2009

As always, I appreciate guests taking the time to share their thoughts about their stay with us, be it in response to our follow-up letter or, as in this case, in a more public forum. We always look for ways to improve our guests’ experience by closely monitoring those areas where we could possibly do better. It is therefore with great pleasure that I see the dedicated efforts of our innkeepers to make Casa Laguna “the perfect getaway” being recognized, and thank Lawyerup123 on their behalf for that recognition. Nothing pleases us more than to know that the personal touch with which we welcome our guests has made a difference.

Unfortunately, it appears that this guest was disappointed by the size of his room and our location. Recognizing that there is little we can do about either, I would still like to reassure our prospective future guests that the size of our rooms is not an issue for the majority of our visitors and that our location is seen by most as ideal.

Our property, being a historic bed & breakfast inn, has some rooms that might appear small when compared with those of common “big box” hotels/resorts. This being said, we are constantly complimented on the charm of our rooms, their comfort, and all of the amenities, including a small refrigerator, an ambiance fireplace, and a double jetted tub in those rooms where we were able to fit them in when we restored the inn. For guests concerned with space, we recommend our junior suites, which are much more spacious and represent an excellent value when you take into consideration all of the included amenities such as off-street parking, our award-winning gourmet breakfast, wine & cheese, high-speed internet, and access to our DVD library.

As for the location of our inn, most of our guests appreciate the fact that we are not in the middle of Laguna’s downtown congestion, yet we are just minutes from the area’s top restaurants, galleries, and the theater and festival grounds. We are just 1.7 miles from Laguna’s downtown “village” and Main Beach, and just one half-mile mile from great shops and restaurants. Also, the fact that we are located right between Laguna’s two most luxurious resorts, in an upscale residential neighborhood, is seen as an attribute by most of our guests. In addition, Victoria Beach, arguably one of Orange County’s most beautiful beaches--and a favorite of Lagunatics--is only a few minutes away by foot. Two wonderful restaurants, Dizz's as Is and Tabu Grill, are on the next block.

I am truly sorry that Lawyerip123 was not made aware of Laguna’s free trolley, since it indeed adds so much to the overall experience. We were instrumental in working with the Visitors Bureau and the City to implement this wonderful and ecological complimentary amenity, and informing guests about it is part of the personal tour we give each of them when they check in. Our staff always tends to play-up the convenience of the summer trolley, and I cannot explain why this was not done for this guest. I have, thanks to this comment, reminded our innkeepers of the importance of doing so.

Once again, I thank all your reviewers for their comments and am pleased that we were, overall, able to offer Lawyerup123 and his girlfriend a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Just returned from a weekend at Casa Laguna in the Laguna Suite. Loved the room and the jacuzzi. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Enjoyed being away from the center of town. We parked our car the whole weekend and took the free trolley around town. The road is right by the room and we noticed the noise during the day, but once we went to bed and shut the windows and doors we thought it was very peaceful. We enjoyed Victoria Beach and walking around town. Loved dinner at Sapphire. We really had a peaceful time and enjoyed being lazy for the weekend.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Superwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Everything about the inn was wonderful, from the terrific breakfasts to the great setting to the outgoing and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

This inn was so charming with a Spanish style theme. Personalized baskets in the room with great amenities. Breakfast was AWESOME and so was wine and cheese hour. We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisandwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The people here at Casa Laguna are very, very nice and accommodating. Especially, Nancy who waited on us every morning that we were there for breakfast. She was a sweetheart and makes Casa Laguna Inn that much more special. For breakfast, they will make you ANYTHING you want but take a look at their offerings. Everything is soooo good. Especially the hash with pork. The Chef is young and talented. It's a shame they don't cook all three meals there but Laguna Beach has so many offerings that it wouldn't be worth it to keep a full time staff there. The property is charming but if I were to stay there again, I would definitely get a larger room as ours were so small that my husband and I were practically tripping over each other. They are NOT in walking distance to anything unless you call a long walk walking distance but there is a free shuttle so getting around was not a problem. Overall, I may NOT stay there again as I like a LOT more elbow room but that's the only negative, albeit a big one for me.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
522 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
987 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.9 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#8 of 23 in Laguna Beach
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $264 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing