We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Shangri-La in Laguna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little Shangri-La in Laguna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

What a find the Casa Laguna Inn and Spa is! I am just sad that just a couple of small issues would have made this a 5 star rating. After much research about this property, I made one error that I would have never thought I would have needed to do....CALL FOR ROOM DETAILS. I decided upon an ocean view room, with the "new" shower stall - not needing the deluxe room with the 2 person whirlpool tub (we never take baths - only showers). BIG MISTAKE. The new shower stall barely holds 1 person! The shower head was so high that water didn't get to much of my 5'3" body, and I could barely reach the shower gel dispenser mounted on the wall. I have stayed on cruise ships, river boats, NYC hotel rooms, European hotel rooms -and this was the single worst bathroom I have ever been in. Using the toilet meant sitting half-way off as the toilet paper roll mounted on the wall stuck into my arm. The only towel bar was too close to the counter below so the towel draped onto the counter and anything we tried to put there. And only one hook. Truly a terrible situation in the bathroom. The bedroom was airconditioned, with a ceiling fan, and windows on both ends of the room, with a view of the ocean. Nighttables were terribly tiny. HOWEVER, the overall atmosphere of the property, with flowers blooming everywhere, and intimate places to sit, to read, or chat - with gentle music playing everywhere was wonderful. The included breakfast was DELICIOUS! The access to tea, water, coffee and lemonade was lovely. We didn't indulge in the afternoon appetizers as we were usually on our way out for the evenings. Summer free trolley stop was literally at the front door. If you are disabled, inquire about room location - there are lots of stairs needed to move around the property. The staff were incredibly pleasant! WE WILL BE BACK - but in a different room!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We are so pleased this couple enjoyed their stay with us and plan to become one of our many valued regularly returning guests. We look forward to their return and we recommend that they take a moment to peruse our website before booking, so that they can see photographs and read a full description of all of our ten room types—including the square footage. Casa Laguna is a historic property, with portions built in the 1920s and 1940s. Our Courtyard, Patio, and Ocean View rooms are “artist rooms,” so-called because they retain the original 1940s size and layout, while sporting modern plumbing and amenities. There are a few artist rooms that have no tub, only enclosed showers. These enclosures are 34” square, which is 5” wider than tub enclosures in the typical American home. Our guests like to call these rooms “cozy,” and they are part of charm that brings people back to our inn again and again. However, we do have a number of suites and junior suites that are more suited to those who prefer a room size in line with modern resort hotels. And all of these have Texas-sized jetted spa tubs built for two. We greatly appreciate TravelingtexHouston’s thorough and balanced review that gave us the opportunity to provide more detailed information for prospective guests, and we thank them for their valuable patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    152
    51
    35
    21
See reviews for
43
767
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I had booked an ocean view room as a treat for my wife on our honeymoon and we stopped on our drive down from San Francisco to San Diego. I'm telling you this because we were travelling heavy and the rooms weren't the biggest, however, you soon forget all about that once you meet the staff, see the overall picture and watch the sunset on the ocean with a glass of champagne.

All the facilities, the value for money and most importantly the staff made our stay a memorable part of our honeymoon and we are eternally grateful. There is absolutely no doubt we'll be back and hopefully there will be a laundry service ;).

Room Tip: The ocean view room wasn't the biggest but if you don't mind squeezing in for a few days you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 795Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We thank 795Danny for his kind review and we’re thrilled this couple plans to return to Casa Laguna in the not too distant future. We have 10 different room types, including more expansive suites and mini-suites (see reply to the review above for more details), but our most popular rooms are cozy “artist rooms”—so-called because they retain the size and layout of the historic 1940s motel rooms while providing modern plumbing and amenities. We invite this couple to peruse our website before their next visit so that they can choose the room that best suits their needs. We again thank them for their patronage and we look forward to their return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Took my girl here for her birthday. Loved it! Got a room with a view and it was nice. I mean real nice. Like everyone else has stated the breakfast is amazing and the wine in the evening is a nice touch. No need to worry about getting to either Casa isn't stingy about their offerings. We had the same waitress each morning and she was very cool. The grounds are beautiful and the Trolly pick up right out front is perfect!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FunfunfunVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We’re so pleased this couple enjoyed their stay our out inn and plan to return again in the near future. We thank them for their kind review, and we look forward to their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I spend a wonderful two nights celebrating our wedding anniversary. The room was smaller than a hotel room, with a desk, king bed, and a large spa tub, but sufficient. The bedding was deluxe and the bathroom soaps and lotions were light and fresh. They even provided bath salts for the tub. The grounds made me feel like I was in a European B & B. Many levels with flowers and privacy. Chairs and tables throughout to enjoy the marine breeze and the quiet and peaceful surroundings. The breakfasts were delicious and made to order from a menu. Coffee, lemonade and water is provided 24 hours. Towels are provided for the beach. If you want to be in the middle of the town of Laguna downtown, this is not the place, but there is a free trolley that picks you up right outside the front door! There is free parking, so you don't have to drive anywhere. The beach access is close by. This is a quiet place without children. There are not a lot of rooms. I would highly recommend this place for a special occasion.

Room Tip: A room off of Pacific Coast Highway might be quieter. We were not directly on the street side and d...
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle! I loved the fact that they recycle! Our room had a basket for all recyclables in addition to the trash can!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siesta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Like so many of our guests, siesta2014 experienced that feeling of being thousands of miles away at a Spanish or Italian villa. It’s something we strive for by maintaining our unique architecture, our lovingly cared for gardens, and a “guests only” policy. In addition to the free summer trolley enjoyed by this couple, there’s a city transit shuttle that is very inexpensive and Casa Laguna will pay for one round trip each day. We thank siesta2014 for letting others know about the many features and amenities she enjoyed at our inn, and we hope this couple will have the opportunity to visit again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

This B&B really stands out amongst the larger resorts in Laguna (Montage, surf and sand, etc.) It's charming, clean, and small. It's "couples only" mantra worked fine for our older daughters (early 20's) traveling with us. With the exception of a loud-mouthed neighbor through paper-thin walls, the only sound issue was the mild roar coming from PCH which borders the property. It's not a deal breaker if you're prepared. They make due with tight parking spaces, inclusive gourmet breakfasts that are rich and well prepared and service from their very young staff, which is sincere and dedicated (though our check-out was a confusion of papers and numbers which was unfortunate.) Do not miss a massage, which was the glowing highlight of our stay. It's a bargain at $110. If you want to feel more pampered than the masses at The Ritz Carlton down the street, and are willing to shrug off small (but comfy) rooms, flies at breakfast and the rumble of the highway, this might be a fun 2-night getaway. The view of the ocean out your window ain't bad either.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We greatly appreciate Jim F’s fair and balanced review, and we’re so pleased he and his ladies were able to enjoy many of our popular services and amenities. Those reading this review need to know that Casa Laguna has ten different room types scattered over a wide expanse of property, and we invite prospective guests to peruse our website before booking so that they can choose the room that best suits their needs. In addition to the cozy “artist rooms” mentioned by Jim F (so-called because they retain the size and layout of the historic 1940s motel rooms while providing modern plumbing and amenities) our inn also boasts expansive suites and mini-suites for those who want something less historic and more in tune with modern resort accommodations. We sincerely apologize to this guest for any difficulty during check-out. This is a rare occurrence, and rest assured we have taken steps to assure it does not happen again. We thank Jim F for choosing our inn and for taking the time to share his experience with others through this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Casa Lauguna is a precious jewel. The accommodations, wait staff, breakfast and daily happy hour are all excellent. The quality of this B&B is 5star in my opinion.
If ever there was a little piece of heaven on earth it is there, The location is convenient , you can walk to a pristine beach relax by the sea and then come back to swim in a pristine pool surround by lush perfectly maintained flora. The overall vibe is calm and serene. The front desk attendants were so helpful and polite. Kathleen is there to make your stay as charming and comfortable as possible. The property is immaculate, the housekeepers and greens keepers should be commended for their attention to detail. We had choices for our overnight stay in the Laguna area, we were thrilled to have made the right one. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: 1st time rm 22 was great
See more room tips
Green Features: Love them no need to change linens or towels if you can reuse.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMELA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We love it when guests use words like paradise, heaven, and precious jewel when describing our property. It means that Casa Laguna was a perfect match for their style, and that their stay was exactly what we intended it to be--as close to perfection as possible. We thank Pamela D for choosing our inn and we’re thrilled this couple plans to visit again in the not too distant future. We look forward to their return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Laguna and stayed here. We had a king bed with a view. Garrett checked us in, explained everything about the Inn and was the ABSOLUTE BEST taking care of all of our requests and questions, he really cared about us having a quality experience. The breakfasts are amazing and nothing I can say here does them justice, they are just perfectly prepared and seasoned. If I had anything to complain about, it would only be the rooms are very tiny and can get hot. They do however make the most of the available space. We were also raving about the sheets, so luxurious! I would have rated this a five instead of four if the rooms were bigger, so it you don't really care about that, look at this review as a five:)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLaneWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We are so pleased that this couple enjoyed so many things about their visit to our inn, including our dedicated guest-first service and award winning food. Those reading this review need to know that many Laguna Beach hotels were built at a time when a cool ocean breeze and an open window was all that was needed to keep your room comfortable. Sadly, due to climate changes, those days are long gone. That is why Casa Laguna is one of the few hotels in Laguna Beach with air conditioning in every room. Regarding room size, our inn has ten different room types scattered over a wide expanse of property. The room rented by this guest is one of our most popular “artist rooms,” so-called because they retain the size and layout of the historic 1940s motel rooms that were the beginnings of Casa Laugna. Our inn also boasts expansive suites and mini-suites for those who want something less historic and more in tune with modern resort accommodations. We sincerely thank MaryLaneWhite for choosing Casa Laguna for her Laguna Beach stay, and for her fair and balanced review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing