We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Charming little historic hotel. Most rooms have ocean views, although the hotel is on the inland side of Pacific Coast Highway. My wife and I spent a couple of nights here during fourth of July weekend. Room was small but very well appointed. The grounds are beautiful, with multiple levels and many secluded tables and chairs for a private cup of coffee or a nightcap. The included breakfast was cooked to order and excellent. We also had a very nice couples massage here. If you visit in the summer, the distance to town and the beach is alleviated by the free shuttle/trolley that runs every 15 minutes until 11pm and has stops right by the hotel.

Room Tip: Top level rooms all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are so pleased that this couple enjoyed their Casa Laguna getaway and we thank them for their kind words regarding our romantic property, award-winning breakfast, and relaxing spa services. We hope they will have the opportunity to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    146
    48
    32
    19
See reviews for
42
728
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I decided to explore California for my first time ever over a long weekend, with my dog. It was, of all places I have every stayed anywhere, my favorite. This was due to many things, such as it being on the coast in the first place, and the location in Laguna Beach! (The view from my patio alone made it all worth it.) The room was cute and very small, but it had way more great little things than I expected. The cookies were a great touch! The inn and grounds were charming, the walk to the beach was short, breakfast was amazing, and everyone was very nice and helpful. I recommend this place, especially with the ocean-view patio!

Room Tip: Bring a picnic lunch and get a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J6242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Just because Casa Laguna was chosen as one of the top ten most romantic inns in the world doesn’t mean we are just for couples. A large number of solo travelers, like J6242013, find our inn to be the perfect place to relax, kick back, and enjoy some “me” time. We’re so glad this guest chose Casa Laguna for their holiday weekend getaway, and we want them to know how much we appreciate their patronage and the fact that they took the time to write this lovely review. We hope they will have the opportunity to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Casa Laguna was a great relaxing place to stay. For the most part, the youngsters on the staff were welcoming and helpful, the grounds were beautiful and relaxing and the surrounding area was amazing with beaches, tidepools, and great (but pricey) food nearby. Breakfast each morning was excellent, we tried almost everything on the menu and nothing failed to please. The room we had was on the small side with a closet and three small drawers below the desk for storage, but had a balcony with a view of the ocean which made a perfect start and end to every day. Our overall visit was positive and relaxing with the exception of little things like being reprimanded by the little lady up front for coming back from the beach with sandy water shoes and being charged for a water bottle which we did not open (we purposefully set the two unopened water bottles "for sale" in the room off to the side at the beginning of our trip, we obviously should have brought them up to the front desk).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are pleased that this couple had a relaxing and pleasant stay at our inn and were able to enjoy our beautiful grounds and highly acclaimed breakfast and amenities. We greatly appreciate that they took the time to share the details of their stay with others in a valued four-star review. After careful investigation, I have been unable to find any staff members who remember an incident regarding sandy shoes. We are known for our guest first customer service, and as a coastal hotel it is certainly not our policy to admonish guests for sandy shoes. It would be rare indeed if someone went to the beach and did not bring back some sand. I sincerely apologize to this couple for any distress they may have experienced due to a discussion of sandy shoes. I want to take this opportunity to explain to prospective guests about our water service. Each room is provided with fresh cold water in sanitized refillable glass bottles. These can be found in your refrigerator and are refilled at our reverse osmosis water station. Additionally, we sell metal sports bottles imprinted with our logo. These are enclosed in plastic bags sealed with a tie and tag stating the cost and explaining that all you have to do is open the bag and use the bottle and we will automatically charge the indicated cost to your credit card. Due to sanitation issues, we cannot resell bottles after the wrapping has been opened and thus these bottles are considered purchased and are charged accordingly. Again, we thank this couple for choosing our inn, and we apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during their stay. We hope they will return again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely private heaven in Laguna Beach. Expensive but you really get your money's worth. Food was excellent from the classy breakfast to the afternoon "snacks." Location was my only dislike. Long walk (1-2 miles) to downtown shops and restaurants. Also it is not within any easy walk to the beach. Rooms beautiful and perfect but small.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaStarSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We want to express our sincere appreciation to SeaStarSeattle for taking the time to share their opinions with others in this greatly valued five-star review. Of course, we need to advise prospective guests that Casa Laguna’s pricing is competitive with similar accommodations throughout the Laguna Beach area, with the added value of the full gourmet breakfast and evening wine and hors d'œuvres mentioned by SeaStarSeattle, free parking, and no added resort fee. We are exactly 1.5 miles from downtown shops, restaurants, and festivals, and there is a free shuttle running all day, every day during the festival season. During the off season, Casa Laguna will cover the cost of a round trip on Laguna Transit so our guests can park-it-and-leave-it. Two excellent restaurants are just one block away. It appears we may have fallen short in our acclaimed guest service by not telling this couple about beautiful Victoria Beach, which is just a 10-minute walk along neighborhood streets (we’ve timed it). We are so glad this couple chose our little paradise for their Laguna Beach stay, and we hope they will have the opportunity for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of our 2 week trip touring around California and wanted to find somewhere to relax for a few days after a busy first week. It is absolutely gorgeous location, the grounds are stunning and very much remind of us the Mediterranean! The pool area is very relaxing with music being piped out which almost (!!) blocks out the sound out PCH and the water and iced tea coolers are always kept topped up! The rooms are relatively bijou, but are gorgeous! The sheets are the comfiest we have ever slept in and the little welcome basket was a lovely touch. We went to beautiful Victoria beach one morning and the B&B loaned us beach chairs and an umbrella. The breakfasts were amazing, very unique twists on some Californian classics and it was so lovely to sit out in the courtyard garden to enjoy it. Unfortunately on our second morning it was drizzling a bit, but it gave us a chance to eat in the cozy mission by the fireplace! The wine and cheese 2 hours was lovely, really yummy cheeses and hor d'herves which we enjoyed up by the poolside. The only thing to be aware of with this B&B is that it us a bit out of town and not walking distance for lunch or dinner, but the staff will happily call you a taxi which is about $8/9. The staff were all really friendly and helpful! We would definitely recommend Casa Laguna for a relaxing break along this beautiful coastline!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Rachel H is not the first guest to compare our property to garden inns of the Mediterranean—even some who live in that region have mentioned the similarities. We are so pleased that this couple enjoyed their relaxing stay at our inn, and we cannot thank them enough for leaving this balanced and detailed review. We’re at a loss to understand why Rachel H was not aware that there are two superb restaurants just one block south of Casa Laguna—one of which is highly Zagat rated. And of course, the timing of this couple’s visit was just days before the fun, free, open-air trolleys started making their all-day runs from the inn to downtown and back, greatly reducing the need for taxis. We again thank this couple for their patronage and their kind recommendation. We hope to see them back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We just recently celebrated our 10 year anniversary at this charming little B&B. We only live about 30 min. away from Laguna but you don't have to travel very far to feel like you are on vacation! We booked the deluxe ocean view room and we were not disappointed! Yes, the room was on the small side but what it lacked is size it made up in charm. I loved the french doors that opened to the bathroom. The jacuzzi tub was heavenly and the bed was very comfy. The view was spectacular and we enjoyed watching the sunset from our room with the window and door wide open:) The gourmet breakfast was delicious! I was surprised at the selection on the menu and both of us loved what we ordered. The outdoor courtyard where we ate our breakfast was beautiful with a serene ambiance. We spent a few hours at the pool which was nicely maintained, beautifully lined with flowers, and offered an unexpected view of the ocean. Overall we had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary. The only negative would be the noise from PCH but really there is nothing you can do about it. The place was so beautiful and well done that it was easy to overlook the road noise. We would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Casa Laguna is proud to be recognized by locals like Tracy V as the perfect nearby destination for staycations and weekend getaways. We are so pleased that this couple chose our inn for their getaway, and we cannot thank them enough for letting others know how much they enjoyed their stay through their wonderful descriptions and photographs. We hope they, like so many other locals, will make our inn a regular destination for relaxation and rejuvenation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This little gem has all the right touches of old school so Cal charm. The rooms are nestled amongst many calming fountains and lush landscaping; gorgeous Woods Cove & Victoria beaches are down the street; our pooch was treated like a king & became their little B&B mascot; The staff is always perfectly present and jolly; wine & cheese in the afternoon; the beautiful and brilliant Chef Michell's luscious breakfast menu in the sunny mornings on the patio! Small scale and perfectly suited for a nice romantic get away or a brief respite on a business trip. It leaves behind the flashy, brash loudness of much of So Cal and opts for a laid-back, quiet elegance of the so Cal of old and is not, in Oscar Wilde's words, for those who know the price of everything and the value of nothing!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
Green Features: much attention paid to this issue in all aspects. form the recycled water to the green laundery practices, etc....
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We want to thank Sean D for what is clearly one of our more eloquent reviews, and for his kind words about our award-winning inn, our dedicated guest-first service, and our oft-praised friendly and helpful staff. We want this couple to know that we very much appreciate their patronage, and we look forward to seeing them again when they accompany our canine mascot during his next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. We're known for our full gourmet breakfasts, chosen from a menu of delectable entrees. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. We are a member of the slow foods movement, and our property is a registered wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing