We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely convenient to beach- town- bus stops- restaurants without needing a car!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laguna Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Laguna Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely convenient to beach- town- bus stops- restaurants without needing a car!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We were very pleased with the warm and hospitable staff of this hotel. The room was spacious and clean with an efficient heater for the cool evenings. There was also a kettle with coffee, sugar and lightener provided, as well as ice and refrigerators in some rooms A breakfast bar with freshly made coffee and boiling hot water for tea drinkers or hot cereal eaters was also fully stocked with fresh fruits, juices, croissant/danish.
The location is perfect for beach goers- minutes away by foot. Chairs and towels are also provided. wifi is the perfect solution for those European visitors who don't want roaming charges or US sim cards! Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britishblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    73
    16
    14
    10
See reviews for
43
80
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

We found the hotel very clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. We paid for a jacuzzi bath which was a really good move. The bedroom was very small but the bathroom was the same size which, for a bathroom, was huge and great to relax in the tub after a hard day shopping!

The hotel is a short walk from the really beautiful beach one block away and there are steps down to the sand which might make beach access difficult for the infirm but the beach is great for kids and is peaceful and quiet.

The hotel is situated on the main road (Pacific Coast Route 1), as are all the hotels in Laguna Beach so don't be put off. Road noise diminishes through the night and isn't a problem for sleeping (and we were near the front of the hotel).

Breakfast is adequate - croissant and pastries but nothing special. However lovely terrace to sit out on to eat.

No direct ocean views at all, only over the rooftops of the houses between it and the sea.
This was a good value hotel but I think it's a bit tongue in cheek to call itself a boutique hotel, much better than most motels but along the same lines.
If you get what you pay for this is really great value but don't expect the earth for this kind of money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Laguna Beach Inn was a low stress, warm site where my three nieces and two great nieces got together. The rooms were well kept, the reception by Charlotte and Zack was delightful and helpful. There were no telephones! Terrific. Don't need them. The good coffee and juice and simple fare were a treat in the mornings. Charlotte recommended the accessible less crowded beach sites and sunset viewing spots as well as quaint, walking distance places to visit. The staff made a huge difference. I didn't want to leave the hotel except to get to the beach and back. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinneendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

The hotel is convenient to restaurants, shops and only a short walk to the beach. The rooms were very comfortable and the view from the terrace was amazing. The staff were friendly and very accomodating. The maids were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok - it the rolls had been fresher or bakery bought they would have been better.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricelss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Be very sure of what you are getting if you are planning to stay at Laguna Beach Inn...as it is no more the lovely place we have enjoyed so much in the past. As of three weeks ago,they are no longer affiliated with the grand hotel down the road. So forgetaboutit if you remember the lovely wine and cheese in the evening, the internet hookup in the bar area, or the divine breakfast at the grand hotel down the road. That is ALL gone. Is is now just an average hotel with nothing to bring us back again.
They had our reservations for at least two months before we arrived but did not alert us to these recent changes, nor did they change the room rate to reflect these changes. We left our family, ie grandchildren, in Anaheim to spend what we thought was to be a delightful evening in Laguna Beach. WRONG! I was furious and let them know how disappointed I was with our reservations. They did discount the room rate when we checked out, which I think they should have done and accept as their way of saying "sorry." But would we ever consider staying here again? NO.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaBeachInn, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear NancyHouston,

We are so sorry to hear of your extreme dissatisfaction regarding the complimentary amenities that we, unfortunately, can no longer offer due to the recent, and unanticipated, change in ownership. We had worked very hard to notify each guest by email who had booked reservations before this decision was made, and it seems our email failed to reach you. My humblest apologies in our obvious oversight. We feel the same sadness that we can no longer offer our cherished Wine and Cheese reception, or the full restaurant breakfast at the nearby K'ya Bistro. However, I assure you we are still the very same lovely place you had visited so much in the past, as the rooms, customer service, and accommodating staff remain the same.

Please also keep in mind, we still offer many valuable and complimentary amenities: free continental breakfast for all of our guests each morning, free parking (which is a luxury in itself in Laguna Beach), and free high-speed WiFi in every guest room and all public spaces (provided you travel with a laptop or other connected device).

We have always appreciated your business, and we offered you a substantial discount off your room rate, which you accepted and replied in a very kind email, "We appreciate your lowering our rate for that night. We enjoyed our stay in Laguna Beach, although the weather was not very nice that Sunday night." It was clear to us that you were satisfied with the outcome of your stay.

We don't feel that a review of "Terrible - 1 out of 5" rating is warranted when the hotel property, cleanliness, service, and abundance of other complimentary amenities remains the same as you had previously experienced in past stays. We wouldn't assume a person would return to a "terrible" hotel multiple times, based solely on the extra free amenities offered.

We have always, and will continue to strive for excellence in the "Economical Hotel" genre of Laguna Beach's hospitality industry. We will also continue to look for new ways to make our guests feel comfortable, at-home, and appreciated.

Thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

For $100/night (in low season), you cannot beat this clean, convenient hotel. My only complaint is that you really cannot control the temperature (there's no thermostat), it's either low, or high. So, I woke up every two hours either too hot or too cold, and had to adjust the (loud) fan each time. The shower pressure isn't great, but the bathroom and bed area are fine. It's an extremely clean hotel, and the staff is very, very, friendly. Free parking and breakfast (at the sister location), as well as Diedrich's coffee free on site, is a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleBeInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We liked the service, the little touches like the wine and cheese eve and the breakfast voucher but the room was small and needed updating and had the loudest air con known to man. But saying that this place is fantastic value and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuklumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Inn

Property: Laguna Beach Inn
Address: 2020 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3650 (Formerly Laguna Hacienda Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Laguna Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime stretch of Laguna Beach, the Laguna Beach Inn offers premier rates for a vacation close to the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the comfort and convenience of this cozy beach getaway. The family-friendly inn offers a heated outdoor pool, BBQ area, and even encourages small dogs to come along and enjoy some fun in the sun. Laguna Beach Inn is located across from Woods Cove Beach, "one of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California," and within walking distance of many great restaurants, boutiques and Laguna's well-known art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing