We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Convenient”
Review of Laguna Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laguna Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Laguna Beach B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and Convenient”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We booked this hotel from Orbitz.com for a spur-of-the-moment weekend trip to Southern California. It's right next to the highway which we thought would be annoying but wound up being hardly an issue. It's less a highway than a wide street (with traffic lights). From our room we could hear street noise if we listened carefully, but definitely not enough to disrupt our sleep (and my boyfriend is sensitive to night noise).

The room was cute, tastefully decorated with hardwood floors. No fridge, our cable was broken and the wireless internet didn't work from inside our room (we had to go out onto the patio area immediately outside our room to get access). These weren't big deals for us because we weren't there to watch TV and it was pleasant sitting at their outdoor table to check email, but could be issues for some.

The little touches were nice, like the free use of beach towels and mats from the front desk, the wine and cheese hour in the evening and coffee in the morning. The breakfast at the restaurant down the street was delicious ($8 credit from the hotel for each person) - we ate until we were stuffed, and then some.

The beach (Wood's Cove) across the street was perfect for us (small and uncrowded) and downtown Laguna Beach was an easy 1 mile walk from the hotel.

We enjoyed our weekend getaway immensely and would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
Jiffel,

Thank you for your kind words for Laguna Beach Inn. We will look into the internet and cable not working from your room... We do strive to ensure all our guests feel at home and I am very glad to hear you enjoyed everything else at the INN... We hope you can come visit with us soon and thank you for the business!

Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    74
    16
    14
    10
See reviews for
44
80
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I just stayed overnight in Laguna Beach, CA for a mini vacation in late August with my two kids, ages 12 and 16. We stayed at the Laguna Beach Inn and we felt so welcome, it was a wonderful change from what you usually encounter at a larger hotel.

The hotel is fairly small, but the service was so upbeat and friendly, we loved it. We stayed in a room closest to the street on a Sunday night and hardly heard a car until about 7:30 am the next morning. They offered a free wine and cheese bar/happy hour, there was a pool right outside our door and the hotel manager and office staff, Ashley and Nicholas were just outstanding. They were friendly and funny...Nicholas even came to make me coffee himself, when I told him the (free) coffee had run out.

They offer free coffee at the hotel and also give you a seven dollar credit (for two) for breakfast at their sister property and restaurant K'ya down the street about six blocks. The food there was a little pricey, but very good and it was a pleasant walk from the hotel. Overall, even though it might mean that my new favorite hotel in Laguna Beach might be more crowded next time I go there, I felt I had to write and say what a great value it was for the price. We paid about 160 for a room with a king sized bed, but the next night, which was Monday, they were running a summer special and we could have had it for another night for 120. Compared to all the other hotels in the area at two and three times that much, it was a great value! I would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank 1onnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
1onnut,

Thank you for your great response on Trip Advisor! We appreciate all feedback and will make sure to pass on your comments to both Nick and Ashley... We look forward to seeing you again soon at Laguna Beach Inn!

Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed at Laguna Beach Inn for 2 nights with our 3 teenagers. We were pleasantly surprised what a nice quaint place this is. We had booked 2 rooms one which someone obviously had been smoking in (all rooms are nonsmoking). The staff were incredible to accommodate us even though the inn was very full. They also were great with our kids - brought them cheese and crackers and checked in on them to make sure everyone was happy. The rooms aren't that big but very comfortable. The coffee/wine bar was great. It is also on the trolley line which makes access to downtown easy. The beach across the street was nice as well (they provide chairs, umbrellas, towels, etc). Breakfast at their sister hotel was delicious (you get a credit there). We definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a small, quiet, cute, quaint place with an incredibly personable and accommodating staff. This place is the one.

  • Liked — the atmosphere and the staff
  • Disliked — rooms were small, pool is ok
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaggiegirlCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
MaggiegirlCalifornia,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words... We pride ourselves on our team members and the "value" we offer for the area. We are very happy you enjoyed our sister hotel, La Casa del Camino, and look forward to seeing you at Laguna Beach Inn!!!

Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopaziaTravel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Laguna Beach in for a relaxing beach weekend. Upon arrival our room smelled a bit of milder (a smell common among cheaper roadside motels). The bedding and decor were nice but there was a burnt out patch of carpet that needed repair.

We booked this hotel directly through their website which never gave the impression that the pool is directly on the street and not very private at all. We opted to spend our time at the beach nearby which was gorgeous.

The room had no telephone - which wouldn't have been a problem if we had cell phone service. Lucky for me, my phone worked fine. But for my sister, not so much. Being pregnant, I realize that it's actually important for a hotel room to have a telephone. It's something that might not have fazed me in the past, but I have to say it stood out to me as a basic amenity that the hotel did not provide. They did, however, have free wifi.

The location is excellent and the hotel does provide a discount for breakfast at their sister hotel about 6 or 7 blocks away. It's either a short drive or a nice walk, depending on how hungry you are. The breakfast itself was great. They also provide beach towels and beach mats in the lobby as well as coffee with takeout cups in the room.

As for the value, I think it depends on when you book and what rate you receive. We booked late and wound up paying $169 plus tax per night. Not a great value for what feels like a dressed up beach motel.

  • Liked — Location - a beautiful beach just a block away
  • Disliked — No telephone in the room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopaziaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
TopaziaTravel,

I'm truly sorry you had "mixed" feelings about Laguna Beach Inn. We did a survey with our customers and realized that the majority of them did not really care that a phone was in the room, however, as you mention we do offer complimentary wi-fi and our staff is close enough for any immediate needs... Regarding the rate, they do fluctuate based on seasons and July is one of our highest seasons and our rates are actually lower than most hotels in the area. Thank you for your feedback...

Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This is a little gem. Really inexpensive and easy to walk into town from. With parking and a pool it is ideal. Not the biggest of rooms, but certainly very clean and comfortable. Good big bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Staff on the reception were very helpful. Laguna itself is beautiful with a stunning sunset, would recommend

  • Liked — very clean and lovely breakfast along the road
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
Karara,

Thank you for your compliments on Laguna Beach Inn... We do offer a great value for the area and look forward to seeing you soon!!!

Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The Laguna Beach Inn was awesome. We had never been to Laguna Beach before so we were not sure what to expect. It surpassed our expectations and was one of the best deal$ in town. The staff was very hospitable and easy to work with. Parking was free and easy. We were even able to have a covered spot each day. There was great coffee available each morning in the lobby or maker in room. The room was not large but was just right for us. It was clean and nice. It has a nice pool available and you just walk across the road to Wood's Cove (We found this to be the choice beach spot at Laguna beach). Not to mention the breakfast - GREAT. You get $7 per person credit at a restaraunt at a sister hotel. It is 6 blocks away but is a nice walk. I would highly recommend this place for a nice get-a-way.

  • Liked — Price, location, quality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houseofharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
houseofharris,

Thank you for your great comments! Laguna Beach Inn prides itself on service and value for price paid, yes the breakfast and coffee as well as the wine and cheese hour add benefits for everyone that stays in the Inn! We really look forward to seeing you againg soon, and I assure you we will pass on your comments to our team...

Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Our room was cozy and decorated beautifully. The bed was pillow top and comfortable. The hotel included a wine and cheese get together in the late afternoon and a full breakfast at a historic sister hotel closeby. Beach access and Woods Cove is 1/2 block away. The cliffs above the beach made for a spectacular view. We loved this quaint artistic town.

  • Liked — The Room and closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — Pool could have been warmer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2008
Lilly47,

Thank you for your comments, our value for price paid is definately the reason people book at the Inn... We look forward to seeing you again soon at Laguna Beach Inn...

Regards,

Laguna Beach Inn...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#19 of 22 in Laguna Beach
130 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Inn

Property: Laguna Beach Inn
Address: 2020 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3650 (Formerly Laguna Hacienda Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Laguna Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime stretch of Laguna Beach, the Laguna Beach Inn offers premier rates for a vacation close to the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the comfort and convenience of this cozy beach getaway. The family-friendly inn offers a heated outdoor pool, BBQ area, and even encourages small dogs to come along and enjoy some fun in the sun. Laguna Beach Inn is located across from Woods Cove Beach, "one of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California," and within walking distance of many great restaurants, boutiques and Laguna's well-known art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing