We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough, Service Lacking”
Review of Laguna Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Laguna Beach B&B and Inns
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Enough, Service Lacking”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned, this is the sort of place you rent for a comfortable bed and clean shower. The rooms have some quaint features, like the faux wood floors, free Wi-Fi connection, granite counters on the (very small) vanity and the nice wooden desk. There were plenty of towels for one person and the bed is comfortable.

On the flip side, the rooms are fairly small, there is no phone in the room to call the front desk, the rooms overlook the parking lot (giving it a motel feel) and it is too far from the Main Beach to walk.

None of those things would stop me from giving a better rating, three stars for sure, if I didn't have a very unpleasant experience with the manager, Christy. She should consider enrolling in Hospitality 101. The other employees here were perfectly polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    76
    16
    14
    10
See reviews for
45
81
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although the Inn is by the side of a busy road the rooms are quiet. The beach is across the road - a visit is a must! Some very good restaurants within easy walking distance. We tried the Mozambique which is a 5 min walk - upstairs seating in the open is a lovely view, although the food was a little disappointing the views were great. Some good art shops locally. The rooms are stylish, spacious and spotless. The pool is small but nicely appointed. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decemberlady31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room and the service were very good. Close to a beach cove which has a good beach and some reef for snorkeling etc.
The downside to the hotel is that the wi fi is terrible, amazing how a hotel in a built up area can provide such a poor service for their guests. If you w

Room Tip: As above need to get a side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have been back to this hotel three times. It is located about 1.5 miles from downtown, but still the location is great. During the summer there is a free shuttle bus running directly in front of the Inn. Right across the street is a stairway with access to Wood's Cove, a sweet beach. Also, you walk by the old Betty Davis Home, so feel the history. Free parking is a real plus, also the continental breakfast is simple, but good. Negatives are street noise and on the last visit young, noisy people using the pool late during the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

okay...so the paint is worn, the upholstery is torn .... but when you turned the key, that engine was sweet!
Laguna Beach Inn was a true find. Not because their was a concierge waiting for me at the front door, bellmen to take my luggage, fresh flowers in the room...none of these...however, this is a rating given because at the end of the day, why do you ned a hotel? A bed ..and a good bed. That's what I got at Laguna Beach Inn. Clean bathrooms with abundant towels, wifi signal that was great ...all the basics were covered at a steal of a price compared to the over priced market of Laguna/Newport area.
Yes, 5 stars because for price quality relationship....they did their job!!!! (room price was done on line)

Room Tip: I had room 102 with a great view of the town and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernardlaborie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a nice charming inn close to the beach. I booked ahead 6 months ago and got a good rate. I don't expect much but was surprised I enjoyed the stay, Room is not big but clean. Great breakfast spread free. Matt from front desk is very nice and helpful. There is free trolley from the city right at the corner to take me to town. Even the trolley has an mobile app so you can track when it will at your stop. Only disappointment is we got the room outside of the breakfast/patio area so it was loud in the morning.

Room Tip: If you are want to use the free trolley, get the trolley bus tracker from itunes or others. It will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyCAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Inlaws we're driving me crazy so many kids decided to get a room by the beach it was very convenient we didn't have to walk far all the shops and restaurants were around this was our second stay here at this motel it works first time so well that we had to go back a second time if you're ever in Laguna Beach you should stop by they have great service in the motel is just fabulous we loved it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
421 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
741 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#17 of 22 in Laguna Beach
140 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
438 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Inn

Property: Laguna Beach Inn
Address: 2020 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3650 (Formerly Laguna Hacienda Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Laguna Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime stretch of Laguna Beach, the Laguna Beach Inn offers premier rates for a vacation close to the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the comfort and convenience of this cozy beach getaway. The family-friendly inn offers a heated outdoor pool, BBQ area, and even encourages small dogs to come along and enjoy some fun in the sun. Laguna Beach Inn is located across from Woods Cove Beach, "one of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California," and within walking distance of many great restaurants, boutiques and Laguna's well-known art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing