We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town charm, but small rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Laguna Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small town charm, but small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a cute little "motor lodge" like they were called in the 60s. Nice clean rooms, although a bit small. Nice staff. Wonderful common patio outside the roomsfrom where you can see the ocean; only a block from the beach. There was a small pool, but we didn't use it. It is a long walk to the true center of town, but lots of stuff between hotel and center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    73
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
79
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in September 2011 and were delighted with it. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was less than a 5 minute walk from the beach and a pleasant walk into the main town of Laguna Beach (via a myrad of coffee shops & art galleries!). Very relaxed atmosphere everywhere, which was perfect for us. We enjoyed the continental style breakfast and there was enough quality coffee to keep us going throughout the day when we weren't off on a day trip somewhere.
The room wasn't the most luxurious (and could probably do with freshening up), but it was clean, tidy, and comfortable which was all we required; it's not as if we were in it all the time. The free wi-fi was a blessing and was very useful for planning our trips. The pool was small but a nice area, even if it was pretty much next to the street.
Overall, we had a fantastic time here, not least of which because of the friendly and welcoming atmosphere created by the staff, and we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K-A_Berwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

As part of our two week holiday in the US, we stayed at the Inn for 4 nights around Memorial Day and would never do so again. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and there was free internet access using their PC, but it stops there.
The pool at the front was right next to the footpath and the busy Pacific Coast Highway, with little or no privacy from passers-by.
Slightly picky, but the inn isn't next to the beach as one reviewer said, it is a pleasant 5 minute walk away from one of the many nice coves in the area.
Our room, up two flights of steps, was hot and stuffy and the aircon was too noisy to leave on at night. I know this was USA but the outside weather that week was not that hot and the nights were decidely chilly.
The so-called Guest Lounge is awful. There is a chaise longue which seats two, a low table, a chair that had seen much better days and a bar stool for when you used the PC. The room is dim and looks almost seedy. The "free breakfast" to which you helped yourself consisted of fruit (apples always, oranges and bananas if you were lucky), coffee dispensed from one of those containers you press on top, cereal (NO healthy options), yogurts and "sticky buns" and I think that was it. One day at 9 am there was ONE small carton of milk left, no yogurts, no cereal, no coffee and no staff to replenish the stocks and when we returned at 6 pm there was no water available.
Our holiday in the US was wonderful and we would like to record our appreciation to the people we met but we would never again stay at the inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrFussyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaBeachInn, Manager at Laguna Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and the kind comments about our staff at the Laguna Beach Inn! I am sorry to hear that our guest lounge and complimentary continental breakfast was not to your satisfaction, our staff checks on the breakfast frequently so our apologies that it was not replenished upon your arrival.

We appreciate all of our guest reviews and thank you for taking the time to post your feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is old but updated. The rooms are small but they are clean. The bed was comfortable. The rooms don't have their own balconies but have access to a common patio (with a view) with several tables. This was more than adequate for having a beer or a snack after returning from the beach. There is a fantastic cove beach right accross the street. You can borrow beach towels and umbrellas from the front desk for free. The staff was very nice and friendly. One more important thing: parking was free and convenient. The only complaint I have is that they played this awful music from the patio speakers. It was quiet enough that you couldn't hear it in the room but loud enough that you were subjected to it while sitting at the patio. Overall, great value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHORtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

It was my wife's birthday and she wanted to go somewhere special. Well, the Laguna Beach Inn was exactly what was ordered. Convenient location, ocean view, free parking, free breakfast, close to downtown, beach. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
A wonderful place to stay for any reason.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obozcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and loved it. The hotel is right next to the beach. The room was comfortable, relaxing and very clean. They have excellent room service. Nice breakfast. Wonderful experience. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland valley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent Sunday through Friday here and truly enjoyed it. The rooms were comfortable, the heating system quiet for the type system it is, Room very clean, the staff very polite and helpful. A short walk to the beach at Woods cove. We will be back and intend to come here as a new tradition for my wife and I yearly or when a weekend is available and the money is in hand.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Inn

Property: Laguna Beach Inn
Address: 2020 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3650 (Formerly Laguna Hacienda Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Laguna Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime stretch of Laguna Beach, the Laguna Beach Inn offers premier rates for a vacation close to the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the comfort and convenience of this cozy beach getaway. The family-friendly inn offers a heated outdoor pool, BBQ area, and even encourages small dogs to come along and enjoy some fun in the sun. Laguna Beach Inn is located across from Woods Cove Beach, "one of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California," and within walking distance of many great restaurants, boutiques and Laguna's well-known art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Laguna Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing