We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calypso Unit- Wonderful Vacation!”
Review of Sunset Cove Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Cove Villas
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Calypso Unit- Wonderful Vacation!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband, 5 month old daughter and I stayed at Sunset Cove the first week of September and it was wonderful. The location in Laguna Beach can't be beat. Close walk to restaurants, shopping, etc. Ralph's Grocery store is across the street, and the beach the villas are on is a wonderful place to walk. Although the Calypso unit itself doesn't have its own bbq or an amazing view from the patio, it doesn't matter as you are steps away from the large common deck with a bbq, that was rarely used by other guests. There is simply no better place to watch the sunset in the evening. Peter and Tim were extremely helpful, and if you are travelling with a little one, a pack and play is provided. The condo was in great shape, clean and had everything you would need to feel at home. My husband, daughter and I had a wonderful stay here and would recommend this place to both families and couples wanting to get away for some peace and serenity! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealPrairieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

located right on the beach, with a perfect distance away from the craziness of main beach, but just a quick walk to downtown. Ralf's is right across the street if you want to pick up groceries, and all the great Laguna restaurants are just an easy walk away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstrotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The title says it all.

I have to admit that I have benefited from the reviews on tripadvisor many times, but have never posted my own review until now. That should tell you something about this place. I cannot stop thinking about the experience we had and feel compelled to let others have a similar experience.

Laguna Beach itself is a great vacation destination with great beaches and scenery, plenty of activities, shops and great art and local flare. There are multiple sources for information on what you need to see and do in Laguna, so I will not go into detail here. As for my family of 4 kids (15, 13, 11, 11) the beach was all they seemed to really need.

The beach is one of the main attractions of the Sunset Cove Villas. You are right on the beach with your own private gate controlling access to the property. The views of the beach are awesome from the properties multiple balconies and windows with each of the small villas having seafront views as far as I could tell. We stayed in the "Laguna" villa with unbelievable views. The common area open patio is gorgeous and has outdoor grill and kitchen area for you to make a meal if you choose to (we did and had a great time).

What family with children is content only looking at the beach? Mine certainly is not. The beach immediately out of the gate of the villas is great for relaxing and enjoying the sun. The surf was generally a little rougher right there with some smaller rocks etc along the beach edge so was not ideal for kids to play in the ocean, but surfers seemed to congregate there. We spent hours watching the surfers. Our kids spent all of their ocean time just 150 yards down the beach where there were no rocks and the surf was still plenty big for boogie boards, body surfing, and any other water sports.

After playing in the ocean and on the beach you go back through your private gate - wash off the sand in the beach-side shower and walk up the steps to the villa. It is so accessible and convenient that our kids made trips back and forth for snacks and beach gear multiple times a day. The villas provide beach chairs which can be taken out on the beach and also several boogie boards all on a first-come first-served basis; we never had any problem with having enough chairs or toys etc.

The "Laguna" villa (and I believe ALL others) has a full kitchen equipped with standard cooking utensils so you can either dine in or dine out at your discretion. We did a combination of both depending on our mood. Remember the common (very large) patio has an outdoor kitchen grill as well which was fun to use. There are a variety of restaurants nearby as well if you choose.

The "Laguna" has three bedrooms including a very comfortable master suite and private bathroom as well as a pull-out couch in the living area. All of the bedrooms are very comfortable with closets and dressers etc so that things don't get too cluttered.

Things could not have been nicer and I very anxiously await more vacation time to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Our family just spent five days enjoying this property. The location was perfect for exploring Laguna Beach and spending a few days at Disneyland. We stayed in a one bedroom unit that had all the amenities of a hotel with triple the space. We enjoyed many nearby restaurants and visited the grocery store to stock the kitchen, even grilling steaks one night. Highly recommend this property.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I look forward to visiting Sunset Cove Villas each year. It is the perfect place to unwind. The location is ideal. We were steps away from casual as well as upscale dining options. Ralph's grocery store is also in walking distance. It's literally right on the beach. I fell asleep each night listening to the ocean. The staff is very friendly and out of sight unless you need something and they are quick to respond. The sheets are soft, the units are very clean and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethAndTomL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sunset Cove Villas – A piece of Paradise is a wonderful place to stay when traveling in the Laguna Beach. My girlfriend and I spent 5 days at the villas in early September this year. We could not have found a better spot to be that Sunset Cove. The place is amazing from the ocean front location and views, open patio, common areas, and the property managers were very helpful. I have been going to Laguna Beach for years and the property at Sunset Cove Villas rates the highest on my list. The only negative would be that I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Sunset Cove Villa was the perfect destination for our very small intimate family gathering to celebrate our wedding. The accomodations were well beyond our expectations, and the location is breath taking! I can't think of a better place to enjoy a sunset or a walk on the beach. After all of our family went home, we had a chance to spend a day to ourselves and realized Sunset cove villa will be a destination to return to year after year. Peter and Tim were amazing, meeting every possible need, truly five star service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
#16 of 22 in Laguna Beach
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#14 of 22 in Laguna Beach
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Villas

Property: Sunset Cove Villas
Address: 683 Sleepy Hollow Ln, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront luxury accomodations in Laguna Beach, CA. 8 units ranging 1 bedroom and 1 bath to 3 bedrooms and 2.5 baths, can accomodate from 4 to 8 guests. Gourmet kitchens, lots of decks, gas barbecues, exquisite ocean, whitewater and coastline views, and private access to beach. Most units with Jacuzzi bath and private patio or deck. Entertainment systems and hi-speed internet in all. Located in downtown area near shopping, galleries, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Villas Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing