We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Cove Villas
Nearby Hotels
The Inn At Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ranch at Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach House(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Tides Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Brisas Hotel(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Montage Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
$695
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$659
$593
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$232
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
62
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrocery storethe property manageracross the streetwalking distancedirect beach accessvisiting laguna beachocean frontperfect locationunitamenitiesdecklinensgatedgalleriesfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 65 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just came back from a wonderful time at Sunset Cove. We stayed in the Antigua suite, which has two bedrooms and a sofa sleeper. The suite overlooks the beach, and it would be possible just to relax in the living room all day looking out to the ocean. We were with our two teenage children. Each morning, I would wake up about 7 and take a long walk on the beautiful beach. We would have breakfast out on the balcony (there are decent breakfast places two minutes away) and then spend the day on the beach. Unlike the rest of my family, I get sunburn quite easy, however, the beach items that are supplied fit the bill. We used the chairs and beach umbrellas. At night, we would walk into the main part of town, which maybe is a 10 minute stroll, and had dinner. In the rooms, management supplies a book which shows menus of all the Laguna Beach restaurants.
After the first night, there were a couple of things that were needed, a blanket for the sofa couch and the bathroom knob was not properly working. It was not a big deal, but I left a text message, and by the time we got back to the room, everything was taken care of. On the beach, you would watch people going by. Quite frequently, they would look up at the Sunset Cove condos and you can tell that they were thinking how impressed they were by the architecture, the balcony's and the overall appearance. Really had no complaints, except it went by too quickly. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent a week in the Lanai Villa. It had one bedroom and one bathroom. There were 4 of us so we made use of the pullout couch. We were not impressed by how uncomfortable the pullout was but to make up for it we just put the mattress on the floor. The room was great and had a small ocean view out of the bedroom window. We loved the entertainment system and the full kitchen. We were able to use the grill and save money on eating out. The property is imaculate and had an incredible view of the ocean. They let you borrow beach chairs, toys and umbrellas free of charge. Our favorite part of the property was the upper and lower decks which are open to all quests. We were able to sit on the deck and have our morning coffee each morning while enjoying the ocean. Another plus is having a garage to park your car. Parking in Laguna is very limited. We were able to park our car in the garage and walk most everywhere. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They really take pride in the property.
A couple of things that really made the vacation awesome:
1. The Orange Inn which is a small coffee shop kiddy corner from the villas. They had incredible coffee and muffins.
2. The location of the villa was awesome. You can walk to main beach on the ocean side in the sand or on the sidewalks.
3. Costa Azul is a small surf shop close by. My daughters took surfing lessons and had a great time. They have wonderful surf instructors.
4. The tide pools around Laguna are awesome. We saw so many starfish and other little critters.
Overall our trip to Laguna was amazing. The villa was the absolute perfect place to stay. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are awesome because whether or not your room faces the ocean you can take advantage of the upper and lower decks which face the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTMMan35, General Manager at Sunset Cove Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words and I will pass on to our staff.
Also, thanks for mentioning the sofa bed- sorry for the problem but we have replaced with a newer system, so we hope it helps out! Sometimes the little ones like to use our sofa beds as a trampoline!
It was great that you were able to enjoy the area with all the great local resorces close by to our property. I will pass on a hello to the guys at the Orange Inn and surf shop.
Thanks again and we look forward seeing you and your family in the future.
Best,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent our honeymoon in the Seychelles Villa and had one of the best experiences thanks to Tim and Peter. Tim helped me to decide which Villa would be our best experience...and he was spot on! Peter was so much help to us while we were there and we appreciated him so much! The villa was beautifully appointed and had everything we needed. The view from our room of the ocean was priceless...and waking up to the ocean each day and seeing the dolphins was heaven! We could not say enough about this place and the staff. If you are questioning where to stay in Laguna...you should not think twice! We have made a decision to return as often as possible. Thank you again Tim and Peter for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent a week in the Seychelles Villa. The location and views were fantastic. We fell asleep to the sound of ocean waves and heard no traffic noise whatsoever. Occasionally we could hear footsteps in the unit above us, but it wasn't bothersome. We saw daily pods of dolphins, watched pelicans skim the shoreline, and enjoyed seeing the Newport to Ensenada yacht races from our balcony. Bring your binoculars for enhanced viewing.

The spacious unit was comfortable and stocked with all we needed. Ralph's Supermarket was across the street, and Whole Foods, shopping, and downtown restaurants were all in walking distance. You can easily walk along the clean beach to Las Brisas for drinks from their spectacular cliffside setting, or the other direction to Splashes for lunch. I suggest walking to nearby historical points of interest in charming neighborhoods to see the oldest home in Laguna, actress Bette Davis' former home, and the tiny Catholic cathedral. Locals frequent the Laguna Coffee Company on PCH couple of blocks away.

We saw several units, all of which were beautifully decorated. Laguna was especially spacious and sunny, but Seychelles was our favorite for its long wide balcony. We would all stay here again, though it is definitely a splurge. I've rented beachfront homes over the past few years, and our Sunset Cove Villa was by far the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraMadretravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Sunset Cove has several villas located directly on the beach, with a keycard-locked entrance from the beach. Great location, villas are generally comfortable and in some cases, exquisite. The owners/staff were very helpful. Parking is in a secure garage (but bring a small car --- spaces are narrow). The best part for us was the grills outside each unit, which kick ouut serious BTUs.

The only thing we did not like was the fact that all of the ocean front villas are multiple bedroom affairs. With only two of us, we stayed in a 1-BR unit, which fronts onto the alley. As a result, you get traffic and people, rather than surf, as your nocturnal song. The bed was somewhat dreary. A good bed should leave you rested and energized. A great one should make you horny. This one did neither.

Next time we'll spring for the two-BR units. The beds in the one we looked at looked much more fun.

Room Tip: Go for the 2-BR units on the sand, not the 1-BR on the alley.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews