We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food great value”

Nick's Laguna Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick's Laguna Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 169 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Ave
Description: Nick's indoor/outdoor Laguna Beach venue features Classic American comfort food, crave-able bar snacks, plus unique cocktails & an extensive wine list. Located in the heart of Laguna Beach, our intimate 80-seat restaurant features a chic bar and beautiful outdoor patio. Our décor highlights several artistic touches, from inlaid abalone and oyster-shell accents to artistic mosaic tile floors. The Exotic wood-trimmed booths and hand-blown glass lamps along with warm tones of brown, blue and sand complement the exposed brick walls. Our exhibition kitchen showcases the talents of our passionate culinary team. Nick’s Laguna Beach has become a favorite in Orange County to dine, drink and escape.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I had the halibut sandwich with the warm potato salad everything was high quality and very tasty the hell of it was a nice size piece on a wonderful brioche bun I highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    317
    48
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“lucky to get a table ! very popular place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

recommended by hotel front desk for dinner - and well deserve! packed but we mange to get a high -top table for 2 along the bar- made for interesting people watching ...to our surprise and memory - we had dessert here 1 year ago , on a last minute get-away as this occasion was again - but this time we choose the sea bass - suggested by waitress - she was quite knowledgeable of menu, and had a great attitude ! [ commend managers for the staff, polite and friendly ] food was delicious and cooked perfectly ! even the Irish whiskey cake for dessert - YUM,

setting seem very crowded and tight for space - may be hard for catastrophic? but we were good., there is front open patio area in front BUT THAT WOULD BE A WAIT! { 1 year ago, we sat there for dessert on a cool, damp, foggy evening and that patio was chilly - despite the plastic, sheeting to block the weather out }

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
647 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“American comfort food perfected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a busy, noisy American bistro with exceptional comfort food. I had the grilled rib eye sandwich with a Asian peanut butter slaw. The steak was cooked to perfection and was tender and tasty. The grilled sourdough was Parmesan encrusted on the outside and grilled to a perfect crunchy golden brown. Some grilled onions and a melted cheese accompany the steak inside the crunchy envelope. The Asian slaw was good, but not remarkable. Portions are large. No room for dessert. Will come back.

Helpful?
Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good burgers, bustling atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Busy, bustling and good. Expect a wait if you don't book (we waited 45 minutes). But, if you've got time then you can grab a drink in a nearby bar and they'll phone you when a table is available.

Burgers were good. Staff were nice and attentive. I'd go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank eljefe707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly excellent flavours. Some of the best food I have had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had five different dishes at Nick's and I think I knew after the first mouthful of the first meal we had there that these people knew how to create a dish and cook it to perfection. I don't think it would matter what you ordered as they have a total control of what they are delivering and it is all in their precise flavouring. If you find room for pudding I would however recommend the Butter pudding which is beautiful warm 'cake' with a blob of ice cream on top. Simple concept but again beautifully executed with perfect flavour. Service is good. Typical American style waiter service but thankfully falls short of being obsequious unlike some other restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_G-Rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Nick's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing