We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nifty Nick's”

Nick's Laguna Beach
Ranked #1 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laguna Ave
Description: Nick's indoor/outdoor Laguna Beach venue features Classic American comfort food, crave-able bar snacks, plus unique cocktails & an extensive wine list. Located in the heart of Laguna Beach, our intimate 80-seat restaurant features a chic bar and beautiful outdoor patio. Our décor highlights several artistic touches, from inlaid abalone and oyster-shell accents to artistic mosaic tile floors. The Exotic wood-trimmed booths and hand-blown glass lamps along with warm tones of brown, blue and sand complement the exposed brick walls. Our exhibition kitchen showcases the talents of our passionate culinary team. Nick’s Laguna Beach has become a favorite in Orange County to dine, drink and escape.
SVaughn1
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nifty Nick's”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The restaurant is very nice and cozy. The staff is great and very engaging.

During our brief conversation with our waiter we stated we were there for our anniversary --- and didn't think twice about it --- but to our surprise --- out comes a (complimentary) small bowl of ice cream to our table. NICE TOUCH!!

One of the manager's came by before we left and check on our dining experience --- NICE TOUCH!!

We were impressed with the quality of location, ambiance, food and service.

Excellent job everyone!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SVaughn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    327
    48
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I only gave Nicks Laguna Beach one less star because of the location. Anything on PCH with paid parking in back, walking a distance is a pain and the inside of Nicks is cramped and noisy. We prefer Nicks in San Clemente and South of Nicks in San Clemente but the food always is consistent. Their vegi burgers is like no other. Fries tiny and crisp. I have friends who also rave.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,315 reviews
1,135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Just makes excellent rating - beats competition in town”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As is the case with most all good places in town, you have to make reservations well ahead. The first thing I noticed about Nick's compared to other places in town, is that the seating was more spread out vs on top of each other - certainly a positive. We started with artichoke and french onion soup. Both were fine, nothing great. Soup should have been served hotter. Lady had chipino - which was very good. I had ribs - which were good to very good. Side of shoe-string fries was very good. Overall very good food. Service was very good. Prices were a highlight - most plates under $20. Wines under $40. I give it overall excellent based upon the value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Def. recommendable”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went there because Watermarc next door was closed that night. Had an enjoyable dinner at Nick's. Everything was tasty if not delicious. Particularly liked the shrimp tacitos and the seafood stew. Prices are appropriate. Service good. Would go back if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. Had a cheese burger. And amazing artichoke. Servers are very friendly and helpful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kukkukb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Nick's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing