We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere In Time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Somewhere In Time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

When you get to the hotel, it's so surreal. Even the town, it's almost as if you are stepping back in time. I love old hotels and I have stayed here on a number of occasions. This particular trip was with a friend but I have been with my husband and on my own. They have two restaurants in the hotel and the food is superb. They bring in live musicians on the weekends, which was a nice touch. The rooms are not large compared to some other hotels but back in the day, they needed every inch. They have a small elevator that was added later but I prefer to walk down the stairway and "listen" to the voices of the past. The beach is just feet from the back of the hotel and they have cordoned off about 50 feet for hotel guests only. I enjoy walking through the town. They have a little bit of everything but my two favorite aspects of Laguna are the art and the boardwalk. I have gone at all different times of year and I just wish I could live there. It's an incredible feeling and the hotel does their utmost to make the experience one you won't forget.

Room Tip: Ocean view and Ocean/garden view rooms are the most expensive for a reason. I prefer the ocean/gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    80
    69
    70
    84
See reviews for
86
136
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Ok....who wouldn't like staying on the water? 5 stars for location and the restaurant!

No AC and I live in San Diego...we do need ac and those of us that aren't cheap use it! I spent the night awake as it was too hot to sleep!

285.00 for the one night....bathroom is so small....toilet bowl isn't even updated, no counter space AT ALL, shower fills with water and so does the sink.

Windows open up on both sides but the center doesn't, no child SAFETY as you could either jump or just fall out of the window!! Amazing that is legal since Ca. Is the most litigious state!

Also, had to leave the drapes open or we would have really been suffocating....so had to deal with the outside lights ALL night!

I guess if it was 90.00 a night I could justify staying there although to me, it isn't even worth the discomfort for that price!

Also, my room on the 2nd floor was over the valet parking so....noisy for hours and the beach water sound was great but there was an annoying fountain that felt like it was next to my bed!!

Normally fountains are relaxing but with everything else it was just another disturbing thing!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine262626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We are locals and have stayed here a couple of times. The hotel is 50's retro and has some great features. The down side is its very noisy especially in the late night and early morning hours. Maintenance is also an issue. They really need to have a better maintenance plan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We're from Las Vegas looking forward to some relaxing time by the beach .i was going with my family to see the pageant of the masters and spend some time together . this time of year in Laguna is very busy ,but with the help the front desk ( Pam ) our whole trip worked out perfect. We had four rooms and a lot of people to deal with . The hotel was very nice ,rooms could use a little updating but all were very clean , Thanks for everything

Room Tip: Try garden ocean or ocean or coast view south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williammelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

PROS: The location was excellent, right next to the beach and downtown Laguna Beach. Parked the car once and walked everywhere. Only a short walk to the Pageant of the Masters venue.

CONS: The hotel's lobby bathroom was nicer than the hotel room. Very outdated. There was no A/C, the ceiling fan was inadequate, and room faced the P.C.H. (main road). Had to sleep with the windows open and every drunk & large vehicle that passed by woke us up. DO NOT GET A ROOM THAT FACES THE MAIN ROAD.

BOTTOM LINE: If you are single and looking for a place with a bed, toilet, and a TV... This is your place. If you are looking for anything more than that, spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: DO NOT GET A ROOM THAT FACES THE MAIN ROAD, the noise is horrible and you will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights and never got a decent nights sleep. The windows and doors are thin and old and let in the noise. Twice woken at 4.00 am by drunken people shouting outside our room. One went to bed with the tv on high volume and fell into a drunken sleep so we could not get to sleep. Staff indifferent to the problems, do not stay here until they replace the doors and windows to get some sound insulation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location is the best. Right in the heart of downtown. You can walk everywhere. The staff is very attentive. George at the from desk was very helpful with recommendations for dining a cigar lounge and sightseeing. The bar and restaurant has a spectacular ocean view. I love the historic aspect of it, the decor and the rooms were very clean. I highly recommend this location. The price was also good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing