We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We're from Las Vegas looking forward to some relaxing time by the beach .i was going with my family to see the pageant of the masters and spend some time together . this time of year in Laguna is very busy ,but with the help the front desk ( Pam ) our whole trip worked out perfect. We had four rooms and a lot of people to deal with . The hotel was very nice ,rooms could use a little updating but all were very clean , Thanks for everything

Room Tip: Try garden ocean or ocean or coast view south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williammelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    74
    72
    84
See reviews for
88
145
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

PROS: The location was excellent, right next to the beach and downtown Laguna Beach. Parked the car once and walked everywhere. Only a short walk to the Pageant of the Masters venue.

CONS: The hotel's lobby bathroom was nicer than the hotel room. Very outdated. There was no A/C, the ceiling fan was inadequate, and room faced the P.C.H. (main road). Had to sleep with the windows open and every drunk & large vehicle that passed by woke us up. DO NOT GET A ROOM THAT FACES THE MAIN ROAD.

BOTTOM LINE: If you are single and looking for a place with a bed, toilet, and a TV... This is your place. If you are looking for anything more than that, spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: DO NOT GET A ROOM THAT FACES THE MAIN ROAD, the noise is horrible and you will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights and never got a decent nights sleep. The windows and doors are thin and old and let in the noise. Twice woken at 4.00 am by drunken people shouting outside our room. One went to bed with the tv on high volume and fell into a drunken sleep so we could not get to sleep. Staff indifferent to the problems, do not stay here until they replace the doors and windows to get some sound insulation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location is the best. Right in the heart of downtown. You can walk everywhere. The staff is very attentive. George at the from desk was very helpful with recommendations for dining a cigar lounge and sightseeing. The bar and restaurant has a spectacular ocean view. I love the historic aspect of it, the decor and the rooms were very clean. I highly recommend this location. The price was also good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are awful! I felt like I was staying at a motel 6 if not worse. The beds are uncomfortable and small the bathroom is small and the hotel is just shabby and out dated. The only nice thing is the beach but it's not even worth the trouble and customer service is not their specialty. This hotel is in a great location but it's not worth the discomfort or hassle. AVOID THIS PLACE!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shanahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

First of all, let me say that I didn't stay at this hotel. I was there for my cousin's wedding, so I cannot really comment on the rooms, but on the common areas of the hotel.

This is certainly a classic: located in the very heart of artsy Laguna Beach, just a few steps south of the main beach. As you can guess, location is unbeatable and you can go walk from here to anywhere in town (which is, of course, a rarity in Orange County). From most places in the hotel you get an outstanding view of the Pacific.

Seeing the pictures you'll find in the corridors, you can already guess the hotel's name predates the twentieth century, but the actual construction is from the 40s or so. It shows.

The hotel certainly looks tired: a main ballroom with stained carpets and brick walls which have been painted and repainted all over. The bathrooms serving the Laguna Room are small, with scraped tiles and suspicious looking plumbing. I didn't see any kind of swimming pool, either.

In conclusion, this hotel should cater to a crowd willing to spend their days dozing at the beach, walking over to the gallerias and stores of Laguna and forgetting a bit about the busy and hurried suburban life of the surroundings. It is a reminder of a time gone by, but its central location and air of nostalgia compensate for an old timey vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyhtstriyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had brunch here during the weeking so availability was good. The staff our very attentive and try to accomodate your table choice, we were lucky to have a seaview table, the menu isn't huge but the food is very good and not too much. Good for families with young children.

Cost for Brunch including service was around $40 for 2.

The hotel looks very nice too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobberleymuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing