We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is very hard to rate this property. Let me say it this way. My wife and I have been returning yearly for more than 5 decades.
The rooms are small and old, and the only AC is the ocean breeze and ceiling fans, but it is hard to notice because of the friendly, welcoming staff and the location. Right on one of the best beaches in the world. In one of the best walking cities. You can have great food and drink on your private beach chair or just an iced tea and a desert on the Terrace. The constant sound of the waves, sunsets, dolphins, and pelicans will all color your day. It is not for everyone but it is our home for 3 weeks each winter. Can we say more.

Room Tip: Tell Varia what you want and she or her staff will do their best to make it happen if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYNorthcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We know exactly who you are and we thank you so much that part of our extended Hotel Laguna family our special continues to choose us as your home away from home! We appreciate your taking the time to let others know how much you enjoy our historic property, customer service, and restaurants. We can’t wait to see you again very soon!

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    74
    72
    84
See reviews for
88
145
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patterson, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Laguna on February 15th. What a beautiful Hotel on the beach. Great room with ocean views and styling from years past. Slept with the windows open and went to sleep hearing the waves break on the shore. Staff was all very friendly and professional. Stayed here about 2 years ago with different management and the staff attitude was terrible. Diner was fabulous and the executive chef (relatively new from what I was told), actually came to our table to check on the meals. Went to the bar after dinner and danced. Great band. I very rarely write positive reviews but this Hotel deserves it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
The staff and management Hotel Laguna were delighted to read your wonderful review of our historic property, the live entertainment, and our Executive Chef’s delicious menu. We are so happy to hear that all aspects of your experience were memorable! We also love your room tip: why come to Laguna Beach and NOT get an ocean view room? We hope you’ll visit us again soon!

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Scary Awful!
Rooms dated, dirty and plain scary! Beds are fine but linens are thin and old as are the pillows.
Red lights at end of the halls... Seriously!
Check the door locks and under the bed before you shower!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kencindyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish your concerns would have been addressed the day you arrived. As noted in numerous previous posts, our own website, Yelp and other social media outlets, we are a historic location and take great pride in our rich history. The red lights at the end of the hallways are a throwback to our history as being a location for sailors to stay at when they docked at the old Laguna Beach pier in the 1930s. Our rooms are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis, as are all of the linens. We would like to thank you @Kencindyg for your patronage and hope your next visit to Laguna Beach is better suited to your needs.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was traveling with a child and my very frail grandma. We ere able to get around fine. Our room had a great view. The beds were very comfortable and the windows opened for a nice breeze. Its a great location and a piece of California history. People who want it updated are really missing the point of Hotel Laguna. The breakfast was simple but tasty (and free).

Room Tip: Relax! Enjoy just sitting in your room with the windows open listening to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redrn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are so glad we were able to make your Laguna getaway so enjoyable! We greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our historic Hotel Laguna and hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This historic property needs renovated. i was in a standard room which was very small. The bathroom was like those on a cruise ship. The room had a courtyard view but the windows were 1950's. This property would be great if they enlarged some of the rooms and updated things. I liked the location and the view of the ocean, but the prices at the restaurant were way high. I had fish taco's and they were 18.00 for what should have been a 12.00 meal. I won't be staying here anymore.

Room Tip: get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCWorldTraveler1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our property. We’re pleased that you enjoyed both our location and spectacular ocean views that our setting affords. The size of our guestrooms reflects the historical charm of a hotel built in the late 1920s. We are distinguished for being a historical landmark in Laguna Beach, being the first hotel in the city. Although we may not suit everybody’s accommodation needs, we sincerely hope that you will return and enjoy our ocean views at our OceanView Bar & Grill. Thank you again for providing us with your perspective and comments.

Regards, Hotel Laguna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This historic property is in a great location, and the view of the ocean is nice, but otherwise, it is a dump. I needs to be redone. the furniture is nicked up, the rooms are SMALL. the bathroom is very tiny and the prices in the restaurant are inflated.

The only good thing is the location and the fact you can hear the ocean if you sleep with the windows open.

Room Tip: get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougEFresh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our property. We’re pleased that you enjoyed both our location and spectacular ocean views that our setting affords. The size of our guestrooms reflects the historical charm of a hotel built in the late 1920s. We are distinguished for being a historical landmark in Laguna Beach, being the first hotel in the city. Although we may not suit everybody’s accommodation needs, we sincerely hope that you will return and enjoy our ocean views at our OceanView Bar & Grill. Thank you again for providing us with your perspective and comments.

Regards, Hotel Laguna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

As a native of Laguna Beach, picking out a hotel to stay at was hard with my many biases. As a teen I worked in several of the many resorts along its beaches and was plenty exposed to the wide spectrum of room amenities, guest services, and epic ocean views that potential tourists have to choose from. After recently moving to Colorado, I wanted to come home to Laguna and show my Canadian girlfriend what the town is all about. The Hotel Laguna could not have possibly been a better call! Our rooms were well-priced and came with an unbeatable view of the ocean right outside our window. Simple, clean, awesome. I could literally check the surf conditions from the comfort of my very, very comfortable king size bed. Parking, which is normally a nightmare of epic proportions in our small town, was effortless as the hotel has a large lot and wonderful valet service. It's location is in the heart of downtown, and I was able to walk my girlfriend all around its streets. With everything at our doorstep, getting coffee, shopping, and going out for drinks never once required using our car during our four-night stay. The hotel's restaurant is literally built on the sand, and guests can watch people surfing and waves crashing as they enjoy wonderful food up on the deck (and there's heat lamps, yesssss). Every employee we interacted with couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

I was born in Laguna Beach, attended school there from kindergarten all the way through high school, and will always consider it my home. My biggest worry when booking rooms was that staying at a hotel would fail to give my girlfriend the true Laguna experience. WOW, could I have not been more wrong. From top to bottom, every bit of my stay made me feel right at home again. While I may live far away now, I will always choose the Hotel Laguna in my future trips back home. I couldn't have had a better stay. If you want a beautiful vacation to a down-to-earth, authentic West Coast beach town full of nice people and gorgeous views in every direction, don't even consider looking at another hotel. The Hotel Laguna IS THE PLACE TO BE. 10/10 !

Room Tip: Pay the slightly higher fees for an ocean view, it's well worth it. You simply can't get suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletcherberryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Good morning, fletcherberryman,

Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your enthusiasm and attention to detail. We are elated that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to your next visit!

Safe Travels,
Hotel Laguna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing