We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk the halls that Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks Jr and many other Hollywood celebs did in "the day"”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“walk the halls that Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks Jr and many other Hollywood celebs did in "the day"”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Very cool & vintage charming (Yeah, I'm a guy, and yes I did say "charming"...LOL)

Right in the mix of Laguna's restaurants, bars and stores. Park your car and forget about it. You can walk to everything from here, including the beach which is directly behind the hotel. Many rooms have ocean views, get lulled to sleep by the roar of the crashing waves, after a bloody Mary in the oceanfront bar (Damn, I'm a good writer, huh?? LOL)

Built in 1930 don't expect the Ritz, but do expect to go back in time, and walk the halls that Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks Jr and many other Hollywood celebs did in "the day". Did I mention Errol Flynn and Humphrey Bogart also rested their heads there...

The front desk manager "Varia" was AWESOME, and helped me book a great overnight birthday stay for me and my wife. Thanks Varia!

Everything looks freshly painted and I heard they were getting new room furnishings. Although everything was fine when we were there.

This hotel is awesome for history buffs and people wanting a taste of vintage "Hotel'ery", I just made that word up....LOL

Yeah the bathrooms are a bit small and the fire escapes add to the history of the place (C'mon, didn't you watch "I love Lucy", that's the way buildings were designed back then...)

We were blown away with the location, staff & vintage building, rich in history. A definite stay in Laguna Beach!

Room Tip: Oceanfront, or Oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    89
    79
    75
    85
See reviews for
91
151
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Hotel Laguna has been an emotional favorite of ours for 8 years. This is the hotel where my husband proposed, where we spent our honeymoon weekend, we've attended countless weddings and where we've spent almost every anniversary since then. This once highly romantic, sweet historic hotel feels like its lost the magic. We are actually local residents of Orange County but have always felt Hotel Laguna was our mini-vacation retreat when we needed a night away without having to go too far. Sadly, I think the trip we took last weekend will be our last. Each year for the past few years the quality of the hotel has declined. We've overlooked the conditions because of the amazing view and the romantic history of the hotel.

In this particular trip, the pedastal sink was cracked and had a hole in it the size of a pea, the base it stood on had a huge crack running from top to bottom and the sink was severely clogged and took almost 30 minutes to drain each time I used it. There was dust on the bathroom counter, and an errant hair that clearly didn't belong to us.
The ceiling fan was dirty, the bed was saggy, the drapes were really hard to open and the bedspread was ripped and I counted 6 different stains that were larger than a saucer. The room clock had not been properly set , and that was just inside of our room. I know they are starting to do some renovations, but the hallway ceilings were literally hanging down and severely water stained (and we weren't even on the top floor), the carpets looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years and were about 20 years beyond replacement time.

Its just so sad to see our favorite place deteriorate to the point of looking like a Motel 6. We mourn the loss of this majestic hotel and hope some significant investments are made soon, or sadly, loyal followers like us will no longer call Hotel Laguna our home away from home.

We've already decided to spend our next anniversary weekend at a different Laguna hotel. Maybe we'll try back in 3-4 years and see if they made the improvements. I sure hope so. I hate to see landmarks lose their magic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShoeAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

La Conner
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We didn't stay - we just ate on the terrace which was fabulous. Walk thru the hotel lobby thru the bar and all the way to the back terrace. Any table has a great view of the beach and sunset, rolling waves and is magical. We had good food and drinks that's all I wanted. Service was attentive. A+ for the view and happy hour.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laconnerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and I have been coming to Laguna Hotel for 5 years in a row. As we come all the way from Brussels, Belgium we stay several weeks. This shows how much we enjoy the Hotel. The Staff is the nicest and the most efficient we have ever seen and I mean managers, waiters, maids, maintenance, housekeeping, etc. Not to mention the good food, the private beach and the beautiful terrace facing the ocean, and we have traveled quite around the world. Thank you Hotel Laguna and looking forward to see you next year.

Nicole & John McEvilly

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmcevilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We came for the night from our vacation in Las Vegas. Made reservation online as suggested by a co-worker. As soona s we walked into the lobby it was like OH-Man whats this. Checked in got in the Old Shacky elevator to the 2nd floor. When we opened the door to our room we almost walked out, but we said its an adventure so let check it out. We were sorry we stayed, was very creepy. It was clean but sooo old and outdated. We were woke-up 7 Am by a garbage truck right under our window which was open because theres no A/C, what a way to start the day. We got up and left right then. At check out the girl tryed to bill us again she didnt realize we paid when we booked online. It was all around bad. We usually stay more up scale when we travel but this place was really 0 stars.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDRD529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a last minute stop on our honeymoon, we checked the guide book and just turned up. The valet was lovely, and helpful and the receptionist lovely. We were lucky and had an upgraded room - honeymoon perk - with a view of the sea. The room was simple and a bit tired (as is the hotel as a whole) but very clean and comfy. The small private beach is a great perk, safety for your things whilst swimming and a comfy lounged with towels - great if you are travelling! Yes breakfast was in a former bedroom but the coffee was hot and pastries tasty, just take it back to your room! Also, they do have free wifi.
In short a simple hotel that is relatively cheap when compared to the rest of Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFrenchsgoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We had room 203, perfect ocean view! The room was small, but clean. The windows could use some updating. The free breakfast in the morning wasn't much, but hey, it's free!! The location is great!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rklad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing