We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks just like the pictures!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach

Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$150*
and up
Orange County Helicopter Tour from Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular surfing and bodysurfing beach.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Looks just like the pictures!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Funny thing, most advertising for beaches (and resorts, etc.) shows quiet, almost unpopulated areas where you can imagine a sense of total privacy. On arrival, you discover lots of people, beach umbrellas and noisy kids. Laguna Beach, for a week this May, actually looked like the pictures. Gorgeous, quiet and relaxing.

Can't quite figure out why, but short of some very exotic locales, it was the most private public beach we'd ever seen. (Yes, I wrote that as the most private public beach.) Easy parking, easy walk down quite a few stairs (or ramps) and a beautiful pristine beach at the bottom.

Whether or not you think the water cold probably depends on (the time of year and) where you were raised and where you went to the beach as a kid. New Englanders are fine. Californians get cold in their own native waters! ;-) ;-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank analytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

When going to the beach in Laguna Beach, don't miss going to Pearl Street beach and watch the blowhole. Diver's Cove is another favorite of mine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed the day we spent here.
Beaches and area in general was very clean
Beach was busy but not packed
We were able to spend a relaxing day here.
There were also lots of great shops. Several places to dine at. Prices seemed very reasonable and places we looked at and ate at. We enjoyed all aspects of Laguna beach

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
179 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect for a picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Wow, it was the most amazing view. You can see so far south of the coast. We didn't swim but watched others. Lots of metered parking available, bring your change. There are public restrooms along with grassy areas. Just off the Pacific coast hwy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sonic1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not to be overlooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

One of the nicest recreation areas we visited on our holiday was Laguna Beach.
Clean and very well supervised by life guards, this beach is located right in town. This adds a lot to the options for a family.
A sandy beach, one can tan, play volleyball, swim or take part in other beach style activities.
Directly across the street from the beach area is downtown Laguna Beach. With all of its quaint stores and services, the downtown is well worth taking time to explore.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#