We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The pageant of the masters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Beach

Laguna Beach
Book In Advance
$110.00*
and up
Laguna Beach Surf School Lessons
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular surfing and bodysurfing beach.
Eckert, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The pageant of the masters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to Laguna beach on our latest business trip. Great place . Love this beach , great restaurants and plenty of sand. We ended the day at the pageant of the masters just up Laguna canyon rd. first of all wow, all the great art and people that are there .we walked around for a couple of hours and saw all kinds of amazing art. From paintings to sculptures . Then at8pm the show starts. It's live art . Pele drees and stand still as the original paintings looked very fun. Don't miss this great but do get tickets early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    134
    22
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lots to do and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

By all means do visit Laguna Beach. It is an artist's colony so there are lots of galleries, good restaurants, shops and the beach is beautiful. The Pageant of the Masters is held annually in the summer months and well worth seeing. It is an art exhibit of some of the best artists in the area plus an amazing show outside. People are dressed up as paintings they call their tableaux. You would think these are the paintings because they seem so real. They even did Joan of Arc as a sculpture which looked like the real thing until the "actors" moved. They surprise you with the take down of each tableau. Dress warmly because it can get cool. There is also a restaurant in the exhibit area that you should reserve for. I think they do take reservations.

Parking can be tricky but there are spaces towards the canyon road.

It is beautiful all year and worth a trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The unmatched beauty of Laguna Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family lives in Irvine, California - a short drive from Laguna Beach. And when relatives and friends from abroad come to visit Southern California, we take them to Laguna Beach. It's mixture of rocky and sandy coastline are beautiful. Together with the walkway along the upper edge of the beach cliff side, visitors are challenged with a choice: "do I walk along the sandy beach next and see the ocean and cliff side up close, or do I walk on the upper walkway?" I say do both! The views of the gardens, the view from the walkway and the view from the gazebo are wonderful. The beach offers good waves for surfers, a volley ball court on the sand, lots of clean sand for walking or tanning. Frequently, I've see bride and groom with a professional photographer taking photos along the rocks. I've visited many times and haven't grown tired of this beach while other beaches have left me bored after a single visit. And after you're done walking along the upper edge of the cliff side, you can rest while you eat at Las Brisas on Cliff Drive or at one of the many restaurants that line the South Coast Highway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch in laguna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a great lunch at the Surf and Sand Hotel at their seaside restaurant and bar. Great ocean views
Great food and decent price. It's all about location
I recommend a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rome949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique California Coastal City - Lots to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Laguna Beach can be crowded in the summer but is definitely worth a visit. There is a good public bus and free trolley bus in the summer to get around
The attractions are too many to list. Lots of art galleries, an excellent playhouse, Festival of Arts and Sawdust Festival, famous Pageant of Masters (live art recreations), a few excellent restaurants, a few night clubs, and best of all great beaches and quaint coves, skin diving, scuba diving, surfing, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DougCort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing