We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch and outdoor seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro

Metro
Reserve with OpenTable
Metro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 75 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between 1st Street and Moraga Road
Transit: Lafayette BART is within 10 minutes walking distance
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great lunch and outdoor seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great lunch experience stumbling upon Metro while in Lafayette walking along Mt Diablo Blvd / Our server, Donna, made great menu recommendations and the food was first rate.
Fish & Chips, Caesar Salad, Chicken Sandwich, Hamburger were all prepared to perfection and eating outdoors on their patio in a nice shaded spot only added to the experience. The bar looked like it would be a fun place in the evenings........another time ! / Service was first-rate.....the water glasses were never empty / Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WallyGator92260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Happy hour at Metro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have enjoyed the bar for happy hour, $5 wines, cocktails made with care, and small bites available. Lots of natural light, not a dark bar. Fun place to meet the girls after work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ts_Travel_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful spot, especially for outdoor dining.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently had a wonderful brunch on the patio. Food and service were really good. Despite opening onto a main street, the patio is sheltered and quiet. We have also eaten there many other times and always enjoy going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Recent dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have been to Metro many times for Brunch, Lunch and Dinner. This was family dinner - they put us in the main dining room near the fire. Very nice. Round table for six. Service was excellent, the food was great - some of the dishes we liked were the ribeye steak, mary's chicken, and the sausage rigatoni. Friendly and professional and highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJDTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect Patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had been given a gift card from this nearly local restaurant and had never used it. What a mistake as it will now be on our circle of dining choices. On a warm weekend day we dined on the expansive and shelter patio. The size is misleading as there were at least fifty other diners and yet we felt alone and comfortable so as not to hear or share our conversations. The prompt service was well received. The menu choices were sufficient to allow for all types of diners to find a delicious selection. We started with a super spicy bloody Mary and it came as ordered in a foot tall glass. The goodies inside or across the top made the drink an art piece. The drink was well received. My dining partner had fish tacos and they were excellent. The item I enjoyed was the Thai green curry salad. It also was an art piece. Delicious would be an understatement. Our selection of the cheesecake with rhubarb reduction ended a perfect late lunch. Staff are attentive and well groomed, The patio was clean and well laid out with sufficient shade from multiple large umbrellas. We are already planning to return but with friends who we wish to introduce this wonderful dining choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro also viewed

 

Been to Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing