We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have a long way to go”

The Cooperage American Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cooperage American Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
465 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“They have a long way to go”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just had a light lunch at the 3-month-old restaurant in our neighborhood. The owners have done a fantastic construction job. The terrace with open doors to the inside part is well done. With smart design, plenty of flowers, large napkins, and beautiful interior - it has a pleasant ambiance. However, the dishes we had were a big disappointment. The onion soup was salty and loaded with more soft bread than cheese. The Caesar salad was beautifully presented but the mayonnaise based dressing tasted greasy, and like mayonnaise. Where are the anchovies? We both ordered a glass of wine and the content varied considerably. Does no one check how much wine should go in a glass? The staff however, was friendly but inexperienced. I wish this new restaurant with a prime location will do well. We will give it another try, but for the price and location we expected it to be a lot better.

Helpful?
Thank reise-tanta-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    75
    46
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Overpriced, stingy servings of wine and food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This local place is really a rip-off. Two fish tacos each had very very small pieces of fried fish, not nearly enough to cover half the tortilla. Nothing else in them except a little fruit salsa and a few pieces of shredded lettuce. Served with a salad on the plate that had an overly acidic blue-cheesey (?) dressing that did not complement the tacos... just weird. The Brown Derby (cobb) salad had the same dressing, and was mostly lettuce, hardly any proteins. Not even half an avo in the entire salad. Wine was far less than half a glass. I don't mind paying for good food, and don't need massive portions, but I do not like to be ripped off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskgon,mi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service , delicious cocktails a good time was had by all,”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Traveling with my family on birthday vacation. They made the reservation . Our server was amazing , recommended many items on the menu. We started with unique cocktails that had hangar one gin , it was amazing mixed with fresh rosemary , juniper berries, my husband stated it was off the chain! We had shrimp and grits , excellent . My husband had the pork loin which was good to the last drop . The s'more desert was sinful. Everyone in our party that lives in Orinda want to return again, us Michiganders will have to wait until next trip. FYI if would like patio seating please ask when making a reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaMunford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent & Crisp Style & Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were promptly seated with a 7:30 Saturday reservation although the bar was full & lively and the restaurant had walk-ins waiting / Our server was quite knowledgeable, attentive, & knew the menu well / The drinks (Gimlets & Manhattans) were first rate and the balance of the drink menu seemed quite appealing / Appetizers ordered were the Calamari served with a great dipping sauce, Yellowtail sashimi served on a cold salt block (Tasty), and Truffle Fries (Excellent). / Dinners ordered were the Salmon Special (Perfectly grilled & served over a pea puree), & their version of the hamburger (Ordered by a St Mary's student, of course) which was perfectly cooked. The people-watching was great and the entire dining experience at The Cooperage was a lot of fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WallyGator92260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Elevating Lafayette's Food Scene”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Went to brunch with family this past weekend at Cooperage and the food, atmosphere and service did not disappoint, despite the hype! The entire Petar's space has been renovated to reflect more of a rustic Northern California wine-country wood decor. The staff, although very busy, is well trained and attentive. The cocktails are fantastic, and definitely try the deviled eggs if that's your thing. Nobody at our table of 8 people was disappointed with their entree. I will most certainly be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cooperage American Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Cooperage American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing