We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular neighborhood breakfast spot”
Review of Chow Restaurant

Chow Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We support our neighbors and local farms by offering fresh, organic, healthy ingredients. Our chicken is organic free-range, our beef is natural & organic and our seafood is sustainably caught & delivered fresh. All our desserts are made fresh daily in our Lafayette location and fresh juices are pressed to order. This commitment to quality has put us on San Francisco Chronicle's list of the Top 100 Restaurants in the Bay Area nine years in a row.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Popular neighborhood breakfast spot”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a walk around the Lafayette reservoir, we had breakfast at my friend's go-to spot. Loved the casualness of the place, the market within the restaurant, and the ability to order smaller portions of the pancakes, french toast, etc. w/o having to split an order with someone else. They even cooked my bacon as requested: extra crispy. Waitstaff was very attentive which is good when you're drinking coffee and trying to wake up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Claudio Cravero, General Manager at Chow Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for checking us out! We're glad you enjoyed your breakfast and will make sure to share this with the kitchen. Funny, I'm the same way when it comes to bacon—it has to be extra crispy! Did you see anything on the menu that you want to try next time? Hope to serve you again soon! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

Claudio Cravero, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    113
    48
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good for dinner, outstanding for breakfast”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our second visit to Chow after having an amazing breakfast there in 2012. We had great expectations for dinner but the food simply didn't match our expectations.

We had mussels and half an artichoke as appetizers and found the chock to be very dry and without much meat. The mussels were very good.

All enjoyed our wines and the Porter beer they served was very memorable. It was almost like drinking a dessert beer--very rich, sweet and flavorful.

The size of the dinner salad was small, and it was sparse in both chicken and salad dressing. This might have done as a side salad, but was very disappointing as the main course we expected. The pepperoni pizza was good. The Thai noodle salad came with lots of chicken but scant steak. Heat level was low, but flavor was good. Plentiful noodles and broth made this dish seem more like a soup.

Desserts were also disappointing. We left major portions of peach pie, pecan pie, berry cobbler behind because they were on the bland side. The one dessert that was demolished was the flour less chocolate cake and ice cream. We recommend that.

We asked for some gluten free bread to go along with my wife's salad and she was served 4 slices of grilled bread. Very nice--two came home for breakfast the next day.

Next time we visit, we will definitely come back for breakfast. Much better food and much better value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Claudio Cravero, General Manager at Chow Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Flattered that you enjoy our breakfast so much! What did you try? That said, I'm sorry to see the dinner didn't quite meet your expectations.

We're committed to serving fresh, quality dishes at every hour so please know that I'll be checking in with the kitchen about your meal.

I hope to hear back from you! Would love to know what we can do better for next time. Thanks for sharing and take care.

Best regards,

Claudio Cravero, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great spot and wonderful meal!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great food, fun location in the heart of Layfayette & great service too! The food really is great! My daughter always remembers their cobbler a family favorite. We often sit outside and soak up the atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttj1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Claudio Cravero, General Manager at Chow Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Honored that you're a fan of our food! Which dishes, other than the cobbler, are among your favorites? Thank you for the five-star review and come back again soon!

Take care,

Claudio Cravero, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Saturday night”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great meal, lively place for a fun evening. Plenty of people watching outside.
Fresh ingredients and use of local suppliers make this a 'must visit' place. The stuffed eggplant was unique...more like a ravioli and awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendywantana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Claudio Cravero, General Manager at Chow Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Flattered you think we're a "must" place to visit, Wendy! Did you order any of our desserts as well? Thanks so much for the great review and come back again soon!

Take care,

Claudio Cravero, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, friendly service, decent price.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A very good place to go for breakfast or lunch. They have fresh yummy food, a good selection, and prompt service. There is sometimes a moderate wait for a table, and it's a bit noisy and crowded during busy hours. But that is a reflection of its popularity and overall desirability .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeyPiscitelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, Claudio Cravero, General Manager at Chow Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Fresh food, friendly service, decent prices—you've said it all! Thanks so much for the five-star review, Joey. What options are your favorite on the menu? Your support means a lot to us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Claudio Cravero, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing