We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Tavern; Charming with refined American comfort food expertly prepared.”
Review of Rustic Tavern

Rustic Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Rustic Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 76 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Walnut Creek
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rustic Tavern; Charming with refined American comfort food expertly prepared.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a hectic work day, we rolled into Rustic Tavern and were warmly greeted by owner, Chris Amsden. We were delighted to find heat lamps on the patio for this fall evening but did opt to sit inside. The dinner menu isn't extensive, but has a nice variety, paired with specials, there is something for every appetite. Prices are comparable to other Lafayette restaurants.
A member in our party had learned about their "known" hamburger and they accommodated the lunch menu item readily. My traditional husband went for the Caesar and grass fed NY. I loved loved my pear salad with wild arugula and blue cheese. My fish was perfectly cooked on a bed of spinach and delicious. We added to our table squash, Brussels sprouts and the beer battered pumpkin fries. Yummy! Fabulous food all the way around and I left refreshed, full and happy. We look forward to returning on an evening to sample the signature cocktails and other delicious recipes delivered by the clever and attentive food servers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ARFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impressed..”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We recently ate here and came away impressed. We had a reservation and were going to be seated inside, but preferred to sit outside on a lovely evening. The hostess quickly accommodated our request. We started with cocktails and found the selection creative and very tasty. Our starters and dinner were excellent. Very fresh ingredients and preparation that highlighted the ingredients. Our server was delightful and offered excellent suggestions. We will definitely return to this welcome addition to the Lamorinda dining scene.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sebilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice gem, but a limited menu”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had dinner here for the first time on a Sunday night.

The ambiance is just fine for this rather smallish restaurant. There are a maybe 6-8 tables outside. Inside the mirrored wall increases the feeling of space. However, the small space and reflective walls make the noise level rather intense even when not packed. I can only guess what it would be like with a complete compliment of guests.

The service was fast, helpful and attentive. No complaints there.

We found the kale salad and interesting and tasty change from the typical mixed greens of most restaurants. The NY Steak and the wild Coho salmon we excellent. The salmon came with a nice assortment of vegetables and the steak was cooked medium rare as requested (something that is often not the case). The desert was tasty but quite small.

We will certainly be back to try other dishes in the future, but making sure to bring earplugs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Has Potential!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This new restaurant in the heart of downtown Lafayette is still a bit rough around the edges, but locals are supportive and the place is packed. The food is good, not yet great. Menu is small and in need of a couple of intricate, exciting items since this community is foodie-centric. We ordered the arugula salad, pork chop, and steak. Prices are bit too steep for the items as they are now presented. The creamy cheesecake in a mason jar was as yummy as touted. Although service is friendly, the servers lacked training, especially about wine. Table settings need to be checked more carefully for cleanliness. We had a dirty fork and a knife with food encrusted on it at two of our seats. Inside the noise level is cacophonous. Hopefully owners will be able to address this as it’s challenging to carry on a conversation. The TV’s above the bar distract from the dining experience as well unless patrons like the feeling of a sports bar. Outside tables on the sidewalk are the place to sit. We’ll check Rustic Tavern out again in a few months once they’ve had a chance to iron out the creases.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“outstanding salad”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had lunch there a few days ago. Excellent prompt and personalized service. Very pleasant ambience. Extraordinarily delicious salad, with tasty non-alcoholic beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ankplasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Rustic Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing