We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Tranquil site with Great Walking Trail”

Lafayette Reservoir
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tranquil site with Great Walking Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great walking trail, beautiful scenerey , nice lake that you can fish from, child friendly. Only disadvantage is parking.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank susanweisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    44
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Lafayette Reservoir has long been a favorite place to walk alone, with friends, with your dog. The 2.7 mile lower trail is about an hour's walk with a few fairly steep grades to get your cardio going. There are other shorter options as well. Lovely views and a quiet oasis in nature. Lately there have been a number or large white pelicans visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing place for long walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a wonderful place to go for a run or a walk. It's always full of people. They have parking for $6. There is also free parking but it's always full. I love the trees and the plants all over. It takes about an hour to walk this place. It is all paved although I think they may have trails that go into the forest.

You can rent boats and other things to enjoy the water. There are also public restrooms all over. Not very clean but better than nothing. All and all I liked it and will go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Ruxandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its gotten really busy in the last few years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My first time was over 20 years ago. Back then you could walk the concrete path and maybe see a few people, now its like a major highway, folks taking their daily exercise tend to be a bit more talkative/loud than I like when visiting any park. Great place to bring families for picnic and my husband has been sucessful when fishing in the reservoir.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful all four seasons and in all weather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've walked the lower 2.7 mile paved trail and the upper level rim trail more times than I can count. It's my dog's favorite place and it's hard not to see why! Lovely views, wildlife of all sorts, excellent hiking, peacefulness so close to the city. If you're from Lafayette, you'll see your friends, your neighbors, and their dogs. We are so very lucky to have it in our midst!

Fee for parking but otherwise free. Great fishing docks, paddle and row boats for rent. Great picnicing areas for large groups by reservation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fifistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lafayette Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Lafayette Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing