We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of La Paloma

La Paloma
Ranked #2 of 87 Restaurants in La Verne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
La Verne, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant has been in business for many years. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent. I would have given 5 stars but the noise level is high especially if there is a party going on. The wait time for seating isn't long as this restaurant is quite large.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu120639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic good food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The service and food here are excellent. I love the enchiladas, especially the cheese enchiladas. The beans and rice are very good too. My husband loves the taco's and rice. Great service and good food, what more could you want in a Mexican Restaurant?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Older32586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Gold Standard for casual Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It was great to get back to La Paloma and find virtually nothing had changed. Chile Rellanos and Carnitas are the best I have had, anywhere. Manager Steve runs a superb crew of waiters and waitresses - always on top of things and ready before you are.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheplabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great combination plates, Nice courtyard-style décor, prompt service. Chimichangas are well seasoned and crisp. Savory salsa. Really great carnitas. Takeout is just as good as dine-in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheplabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Retro Mexican”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

La Paloma is the Mexican restaurant I used to go to in my teens and twenties. A recent visit forty years later and nothing has changed. Same exterior. Same interior but now with big screen tv . Same old carpet tired and dirty. Be prepared to leave smelling of fried food. We were seated next to the kitchen and service area despite an empty restaurant. The bus boy was curt and unfriendly. The.waitress was much nicer. She reconnended the street tacos. The street tacos with carne asada were good. The steak was chewy but tasty. Nice tomatillo sauce. Store bought tortillas. The taquitos crispy hot and full of beef. The guacamole was tasteless seemingly.cut with sour cream. Blah. One of our group had the taco, enchilada and tamale. He.could not eat it
The are literally dozens of better places for Mexican food.

Pass

Helpful?
1 Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paloma also viewed

 

Been to La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing