We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed there 3 nights in mid February. The hotel is in Old La Quinta a good 20 miles from Palm Springs and the Airport. Old La Quinta is an attractive area of restaurants, about 3 blocks square, with easy parking and many reasonable and good restaurant choices. We liked the "Crab Pot", "Stuffed Pizza" and "Homestead"...all very nice and a short walk from the hotel.

The Hotel is modern and surrounded by a number of two story buildings with 700 sq. ft. "casitas" which you can rent through the hotel They are owned by private owners. We stayed in the hotel main building. There is ample free parking.

We thought the hotel and the rooms were just terrific, clean, large and comforable. It was nice to have a TV in the living room and in the bedroom. Each room had a kitchenette.

The free breakfast is available for about 3 hours and consists of a serve yourself buffet line but also made to order eggs. There are lots of hot choices as well as cereal, fresh fruit and pastries. From 5:30 to 7:30 each night they have a free drinks "manager's party". We met the manager, Keith, each night as he walked around and spoke to everyone there. He is the one who suggested the restaurant choices. We found all the Hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. You get a newspaper delivered to your room every morning.

La Quinta is an upscale growing town with a lot of attractive golf communities. We particulary enjoyed Trilogy, where I played golf on the wonderful desert course with mountain views.

In my business life, I have always enjoyed Embassy Suite hotels and think this was certainly one of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungGrampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

We recently stayed here to catch the early rounds at Indian Wells, what a pleasant surprise this hotel and staff offered. We were treated better that guests, front desk worked very hard to secure a room w/ 2 beds even though they couldn't promise when I booked, they greeted us by name, and always asked if we needed anything. I was also impressed by the entire staff, chefs at breakfast, maids, all very friendly and nice. If you are traveling alone this is a very warm, friendly and secure place. Its also on the far side of the tennis facility so there were never traffics problems. Of course I love the people of Palm Springs, great place to visit, not much night life.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Only in the desert can I, age 64, be a younger guest at this hotel. This is a pretty typical Embassy Suites, lots of space for the buck, comfy room and living room area. It's worth a few extra bucks to get a "corner suite" -- ask for a room in "The Wing," an area off the central zone. Much quieter -- I've stayed in both and it's worth the small extra premium. The usual Embassy Suites' great breakfast and cocktail hour with a nightly snack, some better than others. This hotel, next to the small and a bit odd Old Town La Quinta, is a bit off the beaten track, but I like the area. Worth visiting and close by: follow Calle Tampico to the end and bike or hike the trail that runs off the dead end -- it gets up close and personal with the mountains; check out the La Quinta Hotel a couple of miles down Eisenhower, beautiful grounds and fantastic golf. The pool is ok, but not terribly "scenic." If you are staying in the area for a couple of weeks, then maybe one of the developments in the area is a better choice; but otherwise you really can't go wrong at this Embassy Suites.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rljaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

While we were in Palm Springs for Phish's Festival 8, we stayed in the Ricardo Montalbon room in the original La Quinta cottages. The accommodations were superb, the grounds exquisite and the staff just simply a joy to be around. Not sure I could afford to do it again but it was WELL worth it.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank discmann131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Okay, had to be one of the worst hotel stays ever. By the way, I came home with a horrible chest cold that has lasted a solid week. It started with a sore throat I got from breathing in the air conditioning all night long...

Check in: was given a room that was still dirty - wet towels on the floor, dirty dishes in the sink. Then had to wait an hour past check in time to get a room, the hotel WAS NOT full, just late in getting the rooms cleaned.

Stove: two burners didn't work

Shower: Hot water didn't work, at this point we switched to a different room

Radio: Didn't work

Air conditioning: The fan was like a gale force wind, so powerful that it blew some kind of bacteria or virus into my lungs, five days later I am still very sick. There was no way to adjust fan strength, it was super high or nothing, which is horrible in the desert (when we tried turning off the air and opening the windows it was unbearably hot).

Patio chairs: Broken

Free breakfast: Given how horrible the room was, we skipped the free breakfast for fear of food poisoning.

Pool: cold, small, and locked after 5pm

TV: The channel guide was incorrect for about half the channels

Bed: extremely uncomfortable pillows

View: we were on the second floor in a corner room, but for some reason there are no windows facing the spectacular desert views, just at the building across the way.

Environment: mostly quiet, but the casita rooms are so close together that you can hear people outside even when they are speaking softly.

Kitchen: Had the essentials, but no coffee maker, so you can't bring your own coffee, and no salt and pepper, which is standard in most suites that have kitchens.

Service: Slow and non-helpful, did not offer any kind of discount, even though we had so many problems with the room. Although we were polite (no yelling or anything) in our requests, they seemed annoyed.

Wireless internet: 10 dollars a day, so we didn't use it.

Restaurant: The one time we tried to eat in the restaurant there were no waiters around, and no customers. When we asked the front desk if it was closed, she said, no, it's open, just sit at a table a waiter will be with you in a few minutes. We waited 15 minutes then gave up.

Overall: Worst hotel ever.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This is a quiet hotel so if you want to party this place is not for you.We wanted to sit by the pool and chillax for Xmas vacation.It was clean we had the comp. buffet breakfast and the comp. cocktail hour both were great.
We ate out around the hotel there is a few places to choose from.So if you are looking for a clean quiet place to spend a few days this is a good choice.
We were happy overall with our visit to the area,the temp was 68 - 72 degree (18 - 21 celsius) at Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resortwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed at the Embassy Suites in La Quinta Jan 4-7. Everything between arrival and departure were superb. Check in was quick and easy, room was well appointed, staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was everything you could ask for. Very quiet during our stay not very many people at the hotel at all.

Went with the prepaid reservation and saved a bunch secured the reservation about 1 week before actual stay.

Hotel is easy to find, from the Main Highway you make a total of 3 Right turns - one onto Washington, one onto Tampico and the last one into the entry of the hotel. There are even signs along the way on Washington.

Room had 2 queen beds with lots of extra room, bathroom was large and spacious, living area had room for couch, chair and 4 seat table with plenty of room to spare.

Only downer was having to pay to use the internet - $10 a day or $3 an hour.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskygriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.7 mi away
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
7.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa

Address: 50777 Santa Rosa Plz, La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92253-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range: $120 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel And Spa
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing