We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and Stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed with my wife and kids for two nites in a standard room. In general, I'm in agreement with most of the reviews preceeding this one. The hotel is nice and generally what you'd expect from an Embassy Suites, though this one was somewhat nicer and also had "casitas" on the property in addition to the usual ES rooms (which are nice and spacious).

However, it appears that the hotel has installed a new type of thermostat in the room in the rooms that has an embedded motion detector. If the motion detector does not sense anyone in the room for about one hour, the air conditioning is shut off. This is presumably to be more energy efficient and I'm all for that. However, the net effect is that the room is usually hot and stuffy and almost never at an ideal, comfortable temperature. If you leave your room for a couple of hours it's hot and stuffy when you get back. Also, the motion sensor is in the living room and thus doesn't detect anything while you're sleeping. We would wake up sweating several times during the night and go over to activate the sensor. This was in late March when the daytime highs were only in the 70s. I couldn't imagine what it would be like when the temps get into the triple digits.

In my opinion, a comfortable environment is one of the key components of a hotel stay. I would not stay in this hotel, even for free, unless the managment removes these thermostats with the motion detectors.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed at the Embassy Suites, La Quinta on a recent trip for golfing. Had a one bedroom casita, pool and hot tub just outside the front door, (the hotel had a large main pool and hot tub as well as smaller ones scatter throughout it's propery). very quite, kitchen with all of the comforts of home, living area, fireplace, large bathroom, large walk in closet. Stacked washer and dryer. Paper arrives at front door each morning. Right across the street from old town la quinta which has some delicious restaurants. Walking distance to the Ralph's grocery store to stock up on any essentials. The library is also near by. You can still get in on the famous embassy suites breakfast and happy hour. The pool was like bath water, very relaxing. Although the embassy suites could take out the older t.v.'s and put in flat screens, and wi-fi could be free. You can rent bicycles from the hotel, the area is very flat and easy to ride. If you do have a vehicle, there is ample parking.
The staff are wonderful, house keeping is efficient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Great location for golf. Suites are nice, Staff is blah! Breakfast is just there. No variety at all.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We chose this hotel because we thought it would be close to the polo fields, but it was a little farther away than we expected it to be. So the second night we stayed closer to the polo fields, and we regretted that decision. You can read my review for the hotel we stayed in that was closer, but not anywhere near as nice.

We will definitely stay here again when we go back in the next few weeks. This hotel has the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The room is new and modern, yet classy and well kept. The only odd thing was the bathroom is in the middle of the room, to separate the bed area from the front sitting area. But the bathroom is roomy, and has plenty of counter space. Just be careful if you open the door - you will definitely take someone out if they are walking there! There is a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. There are two TV's, one in the bed area, and one in the sitting area.

The grounds were nice and well kept, and I did go out and look at the pool area. It was decent, not a huge pool, and it was heated. They have a fitness room with new equipment and its own on site spa, if that is your thing. I didn't check that part out, so I have no idea how that is.

Check in was wonderful, the desk person was very friendly and accommodating. There is a beer/wine snack food reception in the late afternoon, and the room comes with breakfast. The breakfast is above average - there was an omelette station, as well as cereals, oatmeal, pancakes, juices, coffee, toast, fruit and yogurt. Not a continental breakfast by any means. The atrium is a nice place to sit and have breakfast, and the atrium bar has a good selection of alcohol.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank saddith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed for three nights over New Year’s.

Quality of the premises: Overall we were very pleased with the quality of the rooms. They were new and clean. We liked the fact that there was a king size bed in a separate sleeping area and two TVs. We had a nice view of the mountains from our window. Unfortunately we did not have a balcony. We were assigned a fourth floor room in the hotel and only a few of the hotel rooms have balconies. There are also villas on the property. There are apparently five swimming pools, although in reality you only have access to swimming pool assigned to your accommodation. The pool was heated, making it comfortable for an evening swim.

Noise: My biggest complaint with the hotel was the thin walls. Our neighbours on one side of us were extremely noisy. In the evening we could hear them cheering on their favourite sports team. We were woken each morning by their early alarm clock at 4:45 a.m. following which we could hear their entire conversation right down to their coughing. I cannot imagine why a new property would be constructed with such poor sound proofing between the rooms. This made our stay less restful than it should have been.

Other services: Wireless internet was available in the rooms for a charge. There was also a complimentary business centre on the main level. Newspapers were completely unavailable on the property. We walked to a nearby convenience store each morning to buy a paper. It was nice that the room rate included a hot buffet breakfast (with a customised omelette).

Location: This was my first trip to Palm Springs. At first I was a bit disappointed with the fact that the hotel is located about 45 minutes from downtown Palm Springs. However, after a few nights in the area, I really came to appreciate our hotel’s location in La Quinta. There is almost no reason to head to downtown Palm Springs, so after you have walked the main street for 20 minutes, there is no need to return. The valley is essentially a cluster of gated communities interspersed with strip malls or box stores. The location of the hotel in La Quinta was a good choice. There are many golf courses close by – although with over 100 courses in the valley to choose from, this statement probably applies to most vacation properties. The hotel is across the street from a few restaurants. It is also located very close to some cycling and walking trails. We rented bikes from the hotel. In our one hour we barely scratched the surface of the available trail system. One of the best features about this hotel’s location is that it is not on a busy street unlike many of the properties in the valley.

We really enjoyed the Palm Springs area and will return. If it wasn’t for the thin walls, we would definitely return to this hotel. As it stands, we would consider staying at this property again but it would depend on what other deals were available elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MtnBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My family and I stayed here one night while passing through La Quinta, CA. The hotel was very nice. Front desk staff was pleasant and accomodating. Room was very clean and well presented. The beds were comfortable. The in room air conditioner was a little on the noisy side but bearable. The cooked to order breakfast and the buffet were fantastic. The pool was on the small side and located on the side of the hotel, not impressive. But for the one night I stayed there I would definitely stay again. The hotel has a lovely center atrium were breakfast is served. It was really a beautiful hotel and I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dream_chaser_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Tosed a coin between this hotel and the other embassy Suites nearby. This one was a much better all round experince. Checked early no problem. had a pllol facing room with patio. Asked if a larger room was available. A deputy manager showed me the alternatives but decided to stay with original room. Quietly located so had a good nights sleep.

Typical Embassy breakfast and with some healty options unlike the one at LAX North.

Excellent location with the mountains as a backdrop. Opposite hotel a nice up- market shopping and business area. Next door a cantina and circleK.

Nice quiet area inside hotel called a library. Very ggod decor throughout.

Managers reception was excellent with a proper bar that you could sit or stand beside. Excellent bar staff.

Good business centre and fitness room.

I would be back in a shot.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jonnoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
7.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa

Address: 50777 Santa Rosa Plz, La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92253-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range: $110 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel And Spa
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing