We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden luxury”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Embassy Suites in La Quinta is a hidden hotel with great suite rooms. The breakfast is good and the happy hour at night brings everyone together. You can walk across the street to Old Town La Quinta and enjoy a number of great restaurants. Great people and quiet location; away from Hwy. 111 crowds. Close to Polo Fields. Only recommendation is that pool could be more fancy.

Room Tip: Ask for room 314
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleatherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgrLaQuinta, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay. There is allot to discover in our area. Just to let you know, in 2013, we will be introducing enhancements to our pool area for the enjoyment of all our guests. Hopefully, you will return and check them out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    310
    70
    33
    18
See reviews for
349
425
51
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
621 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had stayed at this facility for New Year's several years ago (I didn't review it then) and elected to do it again. A few things were different this time, however.

Let me start off by saying the location is excellent for a brief stay in the Coachella Valley. This hotel is directly across the street from La Quinta Old Town, down the street from a supermarket complex and within easy walking distance of a number of good restaurants (Sandbar, Desert Sage, Hog's Breath, Lavender Bistro, Stuft Pizza). The reason we stayed here was because we could walk to dinner on New Year's Eve without concern about having a cocktail or two. And compared to its older, more luxurious competitor, the La Quinta Spa & Resort, the price was reasonable.

But this is not a four-star resort. As a Hilton Honors member, I at least expected staff to read my preferences. Maybe they did, but it wasn't evident with our first room. Yes, it was a high floor (there are only 4 floors in the hotel) but it was directly across from the elevators. So without so much as even looking at the room we marched back to the reception desk and asked for a different room.

The person who had given us the first room was busy but another young man (David) who seemed to be some type of Manager on Duty, gave us a second room. He mentioned there was a service elevator "near by" but thought the room would fit our needs. Unfortunately he was wrong. This room ended up being worse than the first because the service elevator shaft backed up to the bedroom wall of the suite, and the same hallway to the elevator ran adjacent to the room where it housed both a soft drink machine and an ice machine.

So for the third time we marched down to the front desk to see what else was available. I mentioned to David that we would happily pay the added cost of a balcony room (we knew from earlier conversations that they were full for the holiday) but none were available. So this time we were on the 3rd floor but the room was mid-corridor and not a problem.

The only other somewhat annoying problem, if it can be called that, is the lack of appetizers during the Manager's Happy Hour. We certainly didn't book our reservation based on free food, but all three nights it was basically the same appetizers; tortilla chips & salsa, potato chips and a sour cream based dip or a vegetable platter. In prior visits to Embassy Suites I have see potato skins, Buffalo chicken wings, taquitos, cheese & crackers and even hot dogs. I am not sure if this Embassy Suites always has the same poor selection or perhaps it dumbed down the menu knowing there were going to be a lot of guests in the facility. Either way, not much of an appetizer selection.

I will say the complimentary breakfast was excellent. Two kinds of eggs (scrambled and Mexican) both sausage and bacon, a potato dish and several kinds of fruit. All kinds of juices, milks, coffee & tea along with breads, muffins and Danishes. In addition there was there omelet station cooking to order. They didn't skimp on selection or service.

The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was the usual. In all other ways it was an Embassy Suites. The most important aspect for me was being able to walk to Old Town Coffee each morning while my wife slept so I could get a good cup of coffee and read the paper in peace (without the Embassy Hotel kids running up and down the hallways). All in all an adequate experience, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room for a little extra money if you want peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have had excellent experience with Embassy Suites in different cities, but we left here disappointed, and not likely to return. Check in took so long my husband got out of the car to see what was going on. While I was checking in we were interrupted by another employee asking about a package that arrived and who it might belong to, so they stopped checking me in to go through the list of guests while I stood there waiting. Our room felt like it was in someones dark basement suite. There were stains on the carpets and our bathtub had the leftover soap & shampoo from the previous guest which made me wonder if the bathtub had been cleaned. Our first morning we were awakened by housekeeping to clean, we told them we weren't ready, could they return after breakfast. We went for breakfast then left for the day, came back at 5 to a room that had not been made up. We called front desk, told them to give us 45 minutes to get ready and we would be gone for dinner and then please could our room be made up. Literally 15 minutes later, housekeeping was at our door. ???? We did specify when we would be out . We asked for the full 45 minutes. You won't believe this. but exactly 15 minutes later, housekeeping returned!!! Again, we said we had asked for 45 minutes, come back then! Off we went to dinner came back at 8:30...yep! you guessed it, the room was still not done!! We called front desk again who apologized, offered us a drink at reception while we waited. We appreciated the offer, but asked if we could have free wi-fi for our stay which he obliged. (by the way, WiFi is very expensive here..not impressed with that either). So, we were unhappy with room location and cleanliness, unhappy with the service, and then when we got the bill, they had charged us for the WiFi, which we had to get reversed at check out. Frustrating. On the plus side, the breakfast is beyond fantastic and the servers/cooks were really nice. We really regret paying so much for the room we got. We generally do not complain but for the price we paid, we feel we did not get good value. Our friends who winter in the area looked at our room to see if they could recommend it to others who visit and we both felt they could not. When we return to the area next year, we will look at other hotels instead.

Room Tip: If you are given the first floor, get changed immediately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familylikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgrLaQuinta, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your trip. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast but apologize the room and service did not meet your expectations. This is not the experience that we want our guests to have. We take all of our guests comments very seriously. Feedback like yours is important to us as we will use it to guide us when training our staff and updating our rooms in the future. I would like to discuss this further in person. Please feel free to contact me at (760)777-1711. We would appreciate the opportunity in the future to show you the product and service levels that you and all of our guests deserve. We hope to see you the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed over for the weekend, this is one of the better Embassy Suites I have stayed at. The rooms very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice. There were no lines and very tasty. Great location, beatiful City. There is a Ralphs right down the street if you need to pick up some items.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgrLaQuinta, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with your family. Our area has many wonderful places to explore so we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
544 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend in 2012. First off, that was dumb on our part, as every thing in the area was jam packed. Palm Springs is a much nicer vacation when it's less crowded.

I was very impressed with the Embassy Suites in La Quinta. It's a huge hotel with a great lay-out and in a convenient location. We walked across to Old town for dinner and really spent a lot of time on the hotel property.

Our room was huge, with a kitchen area that included a big mini-fridge, a sink and a microwave. Our room had a nice big bathtub and a separate sitting area. This hotel was overrun with families on vacation and I can see why, it's ideal if you have a big group. There is plenty of space and the sitting room couch makes into a bed. As noted by others, the furniture was a little old, but really, it wasn't bad or desperately needing replacing.

The pool was the one major disappointment. It's small for the size of the hotel and was packed on the busy weekend. We had intended on making it a pool holiday, but shifted out plans immediately. The pool might be okay during the slow season, but don't expect to use it when it's busy.

I couldn't believe that they have a free cocktail hour (actually hours). It was way more substantial that I would have thought and we took full advantage of it, having multiple free drinks and snacks. This is a huge perk. Plus, we enjoyed chatting with the nice bartender. The staff here are great.

The free breakfast is also a bit of a wow. It was a huge buffet of hot and cold items and a build your own omelet station. I seriously could not believe that they don't charge for this, what a perk. I'm not even a breakfast lover, but I enjoyed it.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and have been recommending it to friends.

Please check out my blog for further reviews and adventures from our Palm Springs getaway.

Room Tip: I would pick away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgrLaQuinta, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
It is nice to hear that you both enjoyed your trip and in particular, your stay at our hotel. We not only appreciate but take to heart our customer feedback. We have exciting news! We have just installed new LED TV's in all of the guest rooms. 42" LED TV's will installed in all our living rooms and 37" LED's in all the bedrooms. In addition, we have introduced new decor to our breakfast presentation. There will be more updates to follow in 2013. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We actually stayed here twice this month. Looking to buy a place down here. Very nice both times. Very good suite. Bath good. Breakfast was good, especially the made to order omelet. Reasonable price. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgrLaQuinta, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the compliments in regards to or service, product and staff. We strive to exceed our guests expectations. Although we are disappointed that we will not have you as a guest once you move to the area, we are ecstatic that you have discovered the all the wonderful aspects of La Quinta and want to make it your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days.
Wonderful hotel, exceptional service. David at the front desk was very professional, friendly and helpful. The suites are very roomy with separate bedroom, with very nice linens, large bathroom, microwave, fridge, 2 tvs and coffee maker. You will need utensils if eating in your room.
The location of our room wasn't great, as we were on the ground floor facing north, and had a view of the cement wall of our patio.
There is a nice 5' deep pool, hot tub and a full service spa, games room with video games & pool table, and guest use washer/ dryer on site.
There are seperate condo like buildings that are an upgrade. They look very nice, but these are not the standard rooms. So make sure you know what you're booking.
The complimentary breakfast is wonderful. Made to order omlettes, bacon, hashbrowns eggs, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, beverages. There is a reception each evening with complimentary drinks and snacks.
I would stay here again without hesitation, but in one of the casitas.

Room Tip: Room on higher floor would have much nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgrLaQuinta, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on the hotel and the staff. We value the insight of all our guests so that we can best serve you in the future. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
7.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
Address: 50777 Santa Rosa Plz, La Quinta, CA 92253-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
Embassy Suites La Quinta Hotel And Spa
La Quinta Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing