We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever !”

El Ranchito Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Welcome to El Ranchito Restaurant. We have been serving Authentic Mexican Food in the Coachella Valley for more than 25 years. Located in Old Town La Quinta, we offer a variety of fresh Mexican cuisine and a full bar. We are a family owned and operated restaurant that serves fresh, traditional Mexican Food. Our food is made to order using only the freshest ingredients. The menu is full of classic Mexican dishes made from scratch using family recipes handed down through the generations.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to El Ranchito Restaurant. We have been serving Authentic Mexican Food in the Coachella Valley for more than 25 years. Located in Old Town La Quinta, we offer a variety of fresh Mexican cuisine and a full bar. We are a family owned and operated restaurant that serves fresh, traditional Mexican Food. Our food is made to order using only the freshest ingredients. The menu is full of classic Mexican dishes made from scratch using family recipes handed down through the generations.
Sooke BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best ever !”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Found this little gem while searching on my GPS! What a great surprise - they feature authentic Mexican cuisine, served quickly and by a server with a great smile and pleasant personality. The food was outstanding. I had probably the best Quesadilla I've every had - my friends had steak fajita and a taco salad. Both said their selections were excellent . The flavour was exceptional and the ingredients fresh. The manager came by and checked to make sure everything was okay. I might say too the price was totally reasonable. What a super find - definitely will return before heading back to Canada.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sookebroncofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the Coachella valley!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We've been coming here for great food for years! Every trip to the area is not complete without a trip to El Ranchito. Eat out on the patio -- they have heaters for nights and misters when it's hot. They have great food. Their specialty is chicken fajitas -- they are the best. Chips and salsa are fresh and good, too. Plus, the staff is always friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SGYoung1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Cozy Charming comfortable little Gem”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Coem as you are to this charming cozy eatery. No it is not fancy dining but sitting out in the patio, watching the scenery and sipping a good margarita is pure heaven. Service is good and friendly. Food is good, fajitas are special. Come as you are bring your dog and just hang out. Salsa and chips are plenty. Setting is relaxed. You cannot go wrong with this place. We are keep coming back a least once a week.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I guess some people told me that if you are looking for authentic mexican food that is the place where the locals go. We went,ate and won't be going back. Food just average even margaritas, dark and little dusty place that needs updating and menu refresher.Not too many choices on drink side if you are looking for anything other than margarita or beer.It looks like it has been there for a long time and its a family run place. Shady characters by the bar, not sure if it's typical.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evie631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had an excellent meal there, while on vacation, and only wish we could have stopped in more than once. The food was outstanding and the prices were reasonable.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlairM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchito Restaurant also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to El Ranchito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing