We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too special but good for a quick dinner.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ranchito

El Ranchito
Ranked #47 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing too special but good for a quick dinner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was ok but not up to par with the other El Ranchito restaurants around. Good enough and the service was friendly and prices were reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kayzzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Sangria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We always stop for lunch here on our way to stay at The Quinta Resort. The guys go off to play golf and we go directly to the pool. We love to start our weekend away with a delicious margarita and a mexican feast before we start having drinks by/in the pool..=)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Top Notch Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I live in Dallas and we love authentic Mexican food. El Ranchito was outstanding. The fresh home made salsa was the start. I enjoyed my Carne Asada. My wife thought the Carnitas were the best she has ever eaten. We are only here for three days but we will go back before we go home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cordpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“hard to find, but worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

building was built in 1937! located off the beaten path in Old Laquinta. Good food, with some interesting sauces. The serving sizes were ample and we left feeling very full. I had the enchiladas in a green creme sauze and my wife had the taco salad.She loved her strawberry

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cabojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great neighborhood mexican place! Good for eating there and for take out.
If you do take out and want chips it is expensive $6.00, a bag of great chips and a container of salsa fresca!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2eatingndrinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchito also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing