We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food in a Beautiful Setting”

Adobe Grill @ La Quinta Resort
Reserve with OpenTable
Adobe Grill @ La Quinta Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Resort in mid-May and the six of us had dinner here. We sat outside in the balmy desert climate; I highly recommend doing that if the weather permits. The six of us (parents and "kids" in their late 20s) eat quite a bit of Mexican food, and really enjoy it. Many people have differing views of what constitutes good Mexican food; all I can say is that all six of us really enjoyed the meal and thought the food was good (not just OK or average, but flavorful and interesting). A welcome change from past visits is an improvement in service. The last time we were there (a few years ago), the service was miserably slow. This time it was friendly, prompt and efficient.

The food prices at a resort like this one were fairly reasonable: Tortilla Soup at $8; Carne Asada at $28; Shrimp fajitas at $26; a combination plate was $21.

Liquor was variable: $7 for a Negro Modelo beer; $14 for a perfect margarita; $12 a shot for a fantastic resposado tequila; $10 a glass for a decent but pretty low end Chardonnay.

We really enjoyed the place, and look forward to another delightful evening on their patio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    143
    75
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fancy Setting Awful Food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Yes, its a beautiful place located at the La Quinta Resort and Club. Yes, the margaritas in the birdbath size glasses are good but after one of them you don't notice how mediocre and expensive the food is! ( and the margarita is expensive too!). The food should be so much better. No excuse for this! We have plenty of great Mexican restaurants and great Mexican cooks, bakeries, tortilla shops in the area. as well as great and fresh Mexican vegetable and ingredients from the Mexican kitchen readily available Everything is available super fresh.They take out of town guests for suckers! Shame on you Hilton!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lqgueradg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great tortillas! Order some on the side if your dish doesn't come with the fresh handmade tortillas. Nachos for an app is excellent. The perfect margarita is... perfect. Can't go wrong with the steak fajitas. The only downside was that the manager was a HORRIBLE greeter. Chastised us for being late- even though we called to apologize and inform that we would be 10 min late (had to get a 2 year old ready and a dog situated in the room before we left to walk to the restaurant). Reservations are a must per my recommendation though I don't think the restaurant requires it, not sure. Casual, fun environment, minus the manager.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
240 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Below average Mexican food in a lovely resort setting”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The La Quinta resort landscaping is outstanding. The Mexican food in their Adobe retaurant can be described as below average at best. Nothing on their dinner menu looks or tastes fresh, on my last visit, the chicken in mole sauce was overcooked, dry, covered with their version of a sauce. Tasted like it could have come from a can. The selections for the other three at my table were equally uninspired. There is no excuse for food like this in a great location. The inside of the restaurant has that musty, dark quality of a very tired chain Mexican restaurant. Tourists seem to love this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian12154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good service, so-so food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our tamales were served undercooked, not edible. The staff replaced them with a second choice and did not charge us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adobe Grill @ La Quinta Resort also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to Adobe Grill @ La Quinta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing