We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Italian in La Quinta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bucatini Trattoria

Bucatini Trattoria
Ranked #35 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good Italian in La Quinta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have visited Bucatini Trattoria several times for dinner. In each case, we had very good food and the service was outstanding.

We have tried a variety of their dishes, but the pizzas (including gluten free, made in the house) are outstanding.

The service is great. We had several servers checking up on us and the prime server took great care to be sure our grand-kids enjoyed their meal.

A note: it gets crowded on weekends, plan accordingly.

If you enjoy eating outside, the restaurant has a beautiful seating area, served with water misters during the heat of the afternoon and evening.

Prices are what you might expect for good Italian food. Entrees are about $12 - 18, and are worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank navigator53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    61
    21
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've been twice so far and both times had good service and great sandwiches/salads. The place is very clean, people with good service skills and the food and prices to match!
Enjoyed this very much...and will continue to support!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 816RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Liking that this place has opened”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A new place for La Quinta! I give this place 4 stars but don't want to indicate that this is a high-end place ... it's casual but nice; definitely a step up from chains like Olive Garden and a nice addition to options in La Quinta. (Which seem to be very high-end or chains like Applebees and Red Robin)
Have been twice, and each time was quickly brought a generous plate of warm sliced bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar... that touch alone, in 'high end' places would raise the cost of entrees. My wait staff on each visit have been pleasant, friendly and attentive. Though first visit was on a Saturday and the place so swarmed, it is amazing that a new staff wasn't making lots of mistakes.
Am enjoying the menu ... lots of different pastas with different seasonings and sauces ... pesto, garlic, carbonara ... not just the two basics...tomato and alfredo. Nice selection of seafood options with one's pasta as well. On this visit I had Spaghetti Carbonara, on last visit a specialty pizza, very crisp thin crust and great ingredients. (And serving so large, brought home half of it!)
From the desert selections ... the usuals...tiramisu/canoli, which haven't tried yet, to give their pistachio cheesecake a try. You don't see that everywhere. And it's very good!
For a casual environment, this is an attractive location ... both indoors and the outdoor patio. Yes, it's in a strip mall ... but does being a free standing building make a chain Applebee's or Red Robin or Olive Garden serve any better food? I think not.
There are nice special touches ... attractive décor, an orchid blossom alongside the desert. A row of Fresh white pots of geraniums on the bar. The waiters wear crisp Orange colored aprons with black shirts and pants. The industrial 'loft' touches to light fixtures, etc. lend a contemporary touch.
If you're in Palm Springs ... not worth the drive. But for La Quinta... a nice addition to the restaurant options!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neapolitan Pizza at its best!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bucatini opened this winter. It has an authentic neapolitan pizza oven.
The crust is fabulous; there is a good selection of toppings.
Close to pizza I've had in Italy.
It is crowded. Make sure you have a reservation if between 6-8!!
We sat at the bar for pizza one time; went in after 8 P.M. the other nights for dinner.
The homemade pasta is wonderful, too.
I'd skip the veal dishes unless they change their supplier.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta4170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Finally!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was very badly needed, as is now clear from the crowds that flock to it seven days a week. Love the outside patio and fountain, but inside is where the action is. It is busy, so it is noisy, and somewhat frenetic. However, what else can you expect in such a busy spot. Yes, our service was spotty at times, and they did run our of Italian Pinot Grigio (again, cause they are so busy), but the overall experience was a good one. I am not usually one for Spagetti and Meatballs, but after tasting my daughters leftovers, I ordered it the next time and could not stop eating, even though the portion was very large. All of us - on both visits, were very pleased. Which is not something I can say about MOST of the restaurants in the Desert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveStGermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucatini Trattoria also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to Bucatini Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing