We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful course near the Mountains”

The Golf Club at La Quinta
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The setting is just gorgeous. Every hole has a view of the mountains so it's a treat to the senses as well as a challenge energetic golfer. Course is not too hard with wide fairways. Fun to play.

2  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at The Golf Club at La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Thank you, Nancy! We are glad that you en joy the views and playing our course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

I found a spectacular rate ($20 per person) for the course and prepaid for our first round in the area in more than 2 years. After booking, I looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor - started feeling this may be a bad outing.
We had played the course 6-7 years ago and remembered it as a nice course, so we hoped for the best. Once we got to the course we found two things:
1) Service and amenities are lacking - no beverage cart or food on site. No ranger or personnel at the bag drop. Don't know if this is due to low patronage for summer, or is typical. This was a very different experience than our first visit.
2) The course was in good shape and well maintained. The course features wide fairways and the largest greens on any of the eight courses we played this visit. Pace of play was excellent since no one else was playing at 8:00 AM.
Bottom line, good value for this time of year on a good course. If you care about the service - go somewhere else (Indian Wells, Desert Willow or PGA West). If you are looking for low priced golf on a good course, keep this on your list.

Thank rkaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at The Golf Club at La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Thank you for your review. Since you have been on our course, we have changed management and have changed a lot of things about our service and course. We hope you will come play with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Haven't played the course in over a year. Found a good deal on-line (Golfnow.com)!! The staff was polite and helpful, albreit skeleton crew for summer! The course was in good shape and the greens were OK for the hottest part of summer. They have obviously kept the greens very wet, they held all my approach shots ( even some long iron shots!) The only negative was the greens were bumpy ( but not as bad as a lot of courses...) I'll go back for sure!

Thank Deputy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at The Golf Club at La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Thank you for this review! We are glad to hear that you have had such a great time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

When you hit a good shot, you get a good lie. Great course to get a PR score!

Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at The Golf Club at La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Thank you for your review, Lori! We hope that you have been to our course since your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I live here!!! Great "younger" spirited a VERY active 55+ adult community. Lot's of activities..

1  Thank caj3848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at The Golf Club at La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Thank you for this review! We are glad that you enjoy yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golf Club at La Quinta also viewed

La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to The Golf Club at La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing