We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Do You Improve On Perfection?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
South OC, CA, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“How Do You Improve On Perfection?”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

How do you improve on perfection? You just have to be a return guest at The Chateau At Lake La Quinta! We've visited about 20 times over the last 10 years and now that the property includes a Bistro, it gives us one more great reason to stay close and enjoy the great suites, sunny pool and amazing breakfast. The lobby/dining room/great room/patio updates look beautiful, and our dinner at the bistro included one of their special flatbreads baked in the patio oven and probably the most tender filet mignon we've ever had. We also enjoyed the high-tech-meets-old-world wine dispenser, which had great whites and reds and added a little fun to enjoying wine with dinner and during the day. We cannot wait to return near the end of the year when The Chateau reopens with another remodel and expansion!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bonesting69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your flattering review. We are delighted you continue to return year after year, and hope you will allow us to serve you for many years to come. It is gratifying that our new bistro and resort renovations give you even more reasons to plan a return visit. We think you will really like the end result of our planned expansion. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and especially for your loyalty. It is our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    34
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
161
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelseyville, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The jaw dropping views, the rooms, the conveniences were stellar. The staff was welcoming and treated us as one of the family. The breakfast, the food and wine were terrific, especially the flatbread pizza cooked in their outdoor oven. Can't wait to return. Incidentally, you don't have to be a guest to eat there for dinner and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are thrilled you had the best boutique hotel experience at The Chateau. We appreciate your generous compliments about our accommodations, amenities and staff, and are delighted you enjoyed our personalized service (and flat-bread pizza!). Thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenbach
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent three nights at the chateau. Our room - in a separate villa close to the lake was simply great. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on our small terrace in the evening when the temperature had gone down to 30 degrees celcius from 40 + during the day overlooking the lake and watching the turtles.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
There is no choice for breakfast which is not ideal. One day we had french toast with slices of a spicy sausage (in close neighborhood on the same plate) with some whipped cream in between which you need to get used to. This is really our only critisismn. Our overall opinion score is between 4 and 5 points.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssenbachBayern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are thrilled you had a wonderful, relaxing stay at The Chateau. We are happy you found our accommodations comfortable, and perfect for enjoying the view of the lake on cool evenings. We appreciate your generous comments regarding our staff, along with the feedback you have provided. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a fabulous candlelit wedding and reception June 1! It was truly spectacular as the setting, beauty,architecture,service,and ambience is extraordinary. Our friends and family dubbed our wedding and celebration as "the event of the year"! Our colors were twenty shades of pink and with the sky and water as the backdrop it was really jaw dropping. We booked this venue because one of my friends told us it was so lovely and upon visiting The Chateau at Lake LaQuinta we immediately booked our event! The wedding and event and staff and location and country French Chateau made for an exquisite chic vintage wedding! Thanku Chris and Tammi for your skillful and professional and management talents!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your wedding and reception. We are thrilled your experience was truly spectacular and delighted that we could justify your decision to entrust us with your very special occasion. We appreciate your generous compliments about our resort and staff and hope you will come back soon for a visit. Perhaps on your anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife an I escaped for an overnight anniversary stay and had the most perfectly relaxing stay in a lakefront spa suite. Chris is a fantastic and accommodating host. We did not have the pizza but did enjoy the small, yet delicious breakfast the following morning. When you are sitting on your patio staring at the sunrise over a lake, it's hard to remember you are in "Palm Springs".

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO_8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing this generous feedback regarding your experience at The Chateau. We are delighted your stay was perfectly relaxing, and that our staff was fantastic and accommodating. We appreciate your kind remarks and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We found this through an online offer, checked reviews and descriptions and booked a 2 day stop for the end of April.
It couldn't have been better with just the right level of personal attention, warm welcomes and great food. Our room was perfect - a lake view facing east with a deliciously comfortable bed. Steps away from the pool and hot tub, too.
We met Chris, the general manager who went out of his way to stop and visit. Tammy, the front desk manager couldn't have been friendlier. Rebecca was all-around everything, serving breakfast in the morning (a really good breakfast!) to housekeeping. And then there was Mike, on the spot with whatever we needed, including being the wizard behind the flat-bread pizzas cooked in a wood-fired outside oven.
A jewel of a find in the Coachella Valley. Located on a charming lake, this belied the true location of the middle of the desert.
Close to shopping, other restaurants and all attractions of the Palm Springs region.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. We are thrilled your experience could not have been better, with just the right level of personal attention, warm welcomes and great food! We appreciate your kind remarks about our accommodations and staff. We will certainly be sharing your praises with the team, and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Recently had the pleasure of attending a wedding at this resort. While we did not stay here over night, we had the great experience of being able to spend two days here with friends. Since it was a wedding, all of the rooms were rented out by the wedding party and guests. This is an amazing location with breath taking views. The staff were beyond accommodating and very friendly. They made it seem like all the guests were family and at home. The rooms that I saw were comfortable, although a little small for the price. I wish there were more rooms available, otherwise we would have stayed here without a doubt. The decor and ambiance of this venue are top notch. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay and relax if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watermonkey305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Chateau. We are thrilled you found our location amazing, featuring breathtaking views. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and love knowing our guests feel right at home. We are delighted to have your high recommendation, and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Property: The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more.A chic boutique with a gorgeous lakeside view, picturesque surroundings and stunningly appointed guest rooms awaits you at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Energetic and vibrant with an intoxicating mix of attentive service and desert solitude, The Chateau invites indulgence and overwhelms your senses. Fresh from a $3.5 million renovation, which has transformed the property, adding thirteen additional new guest suites, a spectacular new lakeside restaurant, Melange, along with a beautiful new lobby bar, The Chateau offers its guests spectacular lake views from all 24 guest suites, outstanding food, sourced from California's finest family farms, and premium cocktails and wines. The Chateau is a remarkable, new, desert experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing