We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, beautiful common areas, and soon to be updated rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great staff, beautiful common areas, and soon to be updated rooms.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We found the Chateau via Hotel Tonight and we were looking for a quick overnight get away. The price was right we figured why not spend some time out in the desert? The common areas are well done and they have a nice outdoor space with a pizza oven. The dining room has a wine dispenser that will use a card that you are given at check in, that will dispense wine by the glass, or as a free sample. This is a nice touch if you are looking for a glass late at night. The demographic is decidedly older in here, and in La Quinta in general, but it still made for a nice getaway. The room we had was the handicap accessible one and it did look like it was in need of an update. Apparently the rooms are next on the list to get updated. The bathroom fan was non functional, but our room had a fireplace and a nice bed with comfortable linens. All in all the service, room, and space were nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandtpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Chateau at Lake La Quinta for your overnight stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations and amenities. We are happy you found the wine dispenser to be a nice touch! Your feedback is highly valuable to us, and will help to ensure a pleasant stay for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    34
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
161
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a fantastic four day stay here -- it was just as wonderful as we'd hoped it would be. Chris had a great level of attention to our comfort and made sure we were at ease and at-home from the moment we arrived. The entire staff was friendly and helpful, we never felt rushed or un-considered during our stay and our needs were always politely and promptly take care of. The breakfast was delicious, as were the food items we tried outdoors in the evenings. The grounds are serene and well maintained, our room was great and all the rooms feature a lovely view of the lake. The fire pits and shared areas made for a calming and welcoming environment that never felt crowded or busy. We did not want to leave and look forward to visiting again when we can.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are thrilled you had such a fantastic experience at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. We love knowing our guests are receiving world-class service. It is extremely important that our guests are comfortable and feel at home from the moment they arrive. We appreciate your compliments about our amenities and resort grounds. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in october 2013 in a Lakefront Spa Villa w/ Kitchen as part of our trip to Vegas and California.

We like to alternate between huge chain hotels and small inns like this and we couldn't have done a better choice with this place.

The room was beautiful, huge space, double vanities, whirpool inside the room,

The decor and furnishings were good quality.

Nice patio by the lake to have a drink at sunset.

The hotel had a very quiet, charming and romantic couples feel.

Breakfast was nice.

Nice and attentious staff.

Overall a very good experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are delighted to read that you could not have made a better choice than The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations and staff. We hope you will return for an extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we checked in we wished we had booked our stay for more than 2 nights. The staff at this wonderfully intimate hotel (it feels more like a luxury B & B) made us feel welcome before we even arrived by calling ahead to make sure we knew exactly how to get there, and continued their top-level hospitality right up until the moment we drove away. Everything from the incredibly serene views of the lake right out our room to the gourmet breakfast prepared every morning could not have been more perfect! We will definitely look to stay here again whenever visiting the Coachella Valley area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We loved reading your review title. We know we have done our job when your only regret is not being able to stay longer! We are thrilled our staff made you feel welcome from before your arrival till the moment you drove away. We appreciate your generous compliments and look forward to welcoming you back for an extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Chateau at Lake La Quinta is a beautifully charming and quaint hotel. Situated on a lovely lake with and amazing view. It is the perfect retreat for someone looking for an intimate and serene setting. The rooms are suites equipped with a fireplace, french doors, a large wash room, flat screen TV's and extremely comfortable beds. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful to your needs and requests.

I highly recommend this gem and look forward to staying here again!

Rachel Baer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavishingRed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing this complimentary review of your stay at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. We are glad you enjoyed amazing views and our intimate setting. We appreciate your kind remarks about our accommodations and staff, along with your high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In my opinion, it does not get any better than this. From the moment you drive through the gates you sense something special. We were not disappointed. Walking into the Chateau Lake La Quinta is just WOW. The lobby, dining room and communal seating area was beautifully decorated. Outside has an alfresco dining section with fire pits where we had super breakfasts every morning, and next to that is an area of sumptuous settees and chairs for relaxing outside with a little something, enjoying the views of the lake and the mountains beyond. The rooms are immaculate with large bathrooms and showers. The icing on the cake is Chris and his team ( Tammy, Omar and Mary ) relaxed but so efficient, where nothing was too much trouble. Can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing this glowing review of your stay at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. We are thrilled you were so impressed with our accommodations and amenities. We greatly appreciate your compliments regarding our staff, and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We waited to write this review, since the inn is small (13 rooms) and we wanted to secure our reservation for our next trip...and we have!
We arrived after the renovation of this wonderfully situated inn. Although we have no idea of its former condition, it is now tastefully decorated and in a word,"beautiful." Ample parking spaces are conveniently located directly in front of the building.The lobby is lovely, and the rooms and the bathrooms are large, well appointed and immaculate. A small patio on the lake was just outside our door with chairs for a comfortable place to relax after a long drive.
The breakfast room is also inviting. Breakfast is included and the selection was excellent. (Bloody Marys available.)
Tammy Knowles, welcomed us and assisted us with making future reservations. She fully answered all our questions and made us feel at home.
A thank you as well goes to Chris Chmielak, general manager.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONYNJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing this delightful review of your stay at Lake La Quinta Inn. We are thrilled you found our accommodations tastefully decorated and beautiful. We appreciate your generous compliments about our staff and amenities. We love knowing our guests feel right at home. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Property: The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more.A chic boutique with a gorgeous lakeside view, picturesque surroundings and stunningly appointed guest rooms awaits you at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Energetic and vibrant with an intoxicating mix of attentive service and desert solitude, The Chateau invites indulgence and overwhelms your senses. Fresh from a $3.5 million renovation, which has transformed the property, adding thirteen additional new guest suites, a spectacular new lakeside restaurant, Melange, along with a beautiful new lobby bar, The Chateau offers its guests spectacular lake views from all 24 guest suites, outstanding food, sourced from California's finest family farms, and premium cocktails and wines. The Chateau is a remarkable, new, desert experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing