We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great place for a quiet visit with a beautiful view of Lake La Quinta. The staff did all they could to make our visit comfortable. Breakfasts are a treat and change daily. We enjoyed the hot-tub and gas fireplace. Close to great restaurants and amenities. We stayed for 10 days!

Room Tip: The first-floor rooms give you a lovely garden patio to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn, Susan. We hope you will return soon for another extended vacation. Although we have a reputation as an ideal destination for romantic weekend getaways, as you discovered we can easily accommodate longer stays as well. We are glad you enjoyed our resort and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 242 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

This looks place looks better in person than online, when we arrived, everyone was so hospitable and even though the front desk was closed.. ( we arrived later in the evening) they left us a nice note leading us to our room.
I would absolutely recommend this bed and breakfast. We loved it and definitely will come again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kprimo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We are always happy when we exceed expectations. As you discovered, our hospitality stays behind even when our staff goes home. Thank you for your generous review. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Refreshing stay. This is a quaint spot in a convenient location to be able to get to local LaQuinta. It was perfect from a business perspective to be able to come and go and relax at night.

Highlights: Refreshing/trendy decor, cozy fireplace, nice hotel amenities, excellent view of man-made lake with mountain backdrop, morning breakfast (made gluten free), clean and well-maintained. Customer service was great and willing to go the extra mile both during the stay and beyond.

Downside: Doesn't have a great place to work out (although there a some good local hikes), pool is small and if you need something in the middle of the night there is nobody on property. I have no doubt that if you needed something and called the 24 hour line they'd be there, but no late night room service etc.

All in all - would highly recommend to those coming for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtarheel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our 13 luxurious suites are ideally suited for the traveling businessperson – and a joy to return to after a long day of meetings. As you mentioned, they are filled with convenient amenities and stylishly furnished. All guest rooms overlook our scenic lake. Providing first-class customer service is our top priority. We are happy we met your expectations. Pool capacity is based on our maximum occupancy, which is 26. We have on average three to four couples using the pool at any given time. Your instincts are correct: we are always on-call for overnight emergencies. Thank you for taking time to post your remarks. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Located near Palm Springs, this boutique inn/bed and breakfast was the perfect spot to stay while visiting friends in the area. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the small lake was terrific. Our room was spacious and well appointed with a cozy gas fireplace. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Originally intending to stay only one night, we were so pleased that we stayed a second night. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn, Duncan. We are happy you decided to stay an extra night with us. One day just isn’t enough to fully enjoy everything our boutique hotel and spa has to offer. We provide a relaxing sanctuary in the California desert where you can get away from it all. Our beautiful resort is modeled on a European chateau, with rolling lawns, lush gardens and 13 comfortable suites overlooking a peaceful lake. It was our pleasure to make sure your stay was the best it could be. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your generous remarks and hope you will consider us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The two times that we have stayed at Lake La Quinta Inn have been a wonderful experience of bliss and relaxation. We love the casitas overlooking the quiet lake. The view is so soothing and inspiring. We love the simplicity and comfort of the rooms. The balcony in the summer is great and the fireplace in the winter is so cozy. The beds are comfortable and we appreciate all the thoughtful amenities. The pool and the jacuzzi are at the perfect temperature to enjoy. The gourmet breakfast is a nice surprise every day. The casitas do not get internet service, but that is a good thing if you are looking to disconnect from technology for a little while; you can always get the service by the pool or in the lobby. The service is extremely friendly and kind and we have always felt welcomed and well taken care of. Chris and the entire crew have done a great job making us feel at home there. We love our special getaway and look forward to the next opportunity to enjoy another restful vacation at Lake La Quinta Inn and to get to know the interesting surroundings better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaandMonTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a pity to have poor construction in a beautiful setting! We could hear everything: a sneeze, a soft voice, even a snore from the next room. The entrance is run down with cracked tile floor. Amenities are scant, service poor. Our room wasn't made by the time that we returned in the afternoon. The lady who cleans the rooms also cooks and serves the breakfast. We were welcomed with a lighted fireplace warming our room; that was a nice touch. The staff was cordial enough, when you could catch them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzy2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn. We are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We will soon undergo a complete resort renovation that will include soundproofing the walls. Our small staff is well-trained in all aspects of our operation, which lends a high-touch service level and maintains familiarity with our frequent repeat visitors. Front desk hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., but we are on call 24 hours a day and can be on property at a moment’s notice. Housekeeping hours are 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily, with additional service provided as requested. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

As nice a place as it is, I was dissapointed that we were asked to move into another room after our first night. We did stay in the room that we paid for & did not move, this became a mangement issue.
The web site states its a non smoking facility, our neighbor was smoking cigars, & the smoke came into our room so we were unable to use the patio or keep our doors open.
There were no dressers or night stand drawers so we lived out of a suitcase, maid never came into our room for 3 nights/days.
WiFi was weak, but went to the main dining area & could get a connection.
I think if management was more aware of there bookings, they never would have doubled booked the room.
Then we really could have enjoyed ourselves, it is a beautiful charming place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay to the fullest. It is our goal to ensure your complete satisfaction, and we are glad we were able to keep you in your original room. We hope the one free night compensated in some small way for the initial difficulty.

As you mentioned, we are a nonsmoking facility. We were unaware of your cigar smoking neighbor and would have asked him to stop had we known. While lacking dressers and nightstands, our casitas have shelving in the closet for your clothing. No need to live out of a suitcase. We are sorry for the performance of our in-room Wi-Fi. Lake La Quinta Inn has recently come under new management, which is planning resort-wide improvements to include upgraded internet service.

Our daily housekeeping logs show we attempted to service your room all three days you were here. Out of respect for your privacy, we wanted to honor the Do Not Disturb sign that was on your door the entirety of your visit. We apologize for the misunderstanding. We also noted in our log that Mary, our housekeeper, saw you in the Jacuzzi and offered to service your room despite the Do Not Disturb sign. We are sorry we mistook that room cleaning offer to you as a refusal. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range: $186 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more.A chic boutique with a gorgeous lakeside view, picturesque surroundings and stunningly appointed guest rooms awaits you at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Energetic and vibrant with an intoxicating mix of attentive service and desert solitude, The Chateau invites indulgence and overwhelms your senses. Fresh from a $3.5 million renovation, which has transformed the property, adding thirteen additional new guest suites, a spectacular new lakeside restaurant, Melange, along with a beautiful new lobby bar, The Chateau offers its guests spectacular lake views from all 24 guest suites, outstanding food, sourced from California's finest family farms, and premium cocktails and wines. The Chateau is a remarkable, new, desert experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing