We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, cheap construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a pity to have poor construction in a beautiful setting! We could hear everything: a sneeze, a soft voice, even a snore from the next room. The entrance is run down with cracked tile floor. Amenities are scant, service poor. Our room wasn't made by the time that we returned in the afternoon. The lady who cleans the rooms also cooks and serves the breakfast. We were welcomed with a lighted fireplace warming our room; that was a nice touch. The staff was cordial enough, when you could catch them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzy2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn. We are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We will soon undergo a complete resort renovation that will include soundproofing the walls. Our small staff is well-trained in all aspects of our operation, which lends a high-touch service level and maintains familiarity with our frequent repeat visitors. Front desk hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., but we are on call 24 hours a day and can be on property at a moment’s notice. Housekeeping hours are 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily, with additional service provided as requested. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 243 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

As nice a place as it is, I was dissapointed that we were asked to move into another room after our first night. We did stay in the room that we paid for & did not move, this became a mangement issue.
The web site states its a non smoking facility, our neighbor was smoking cigars, & the smoke came into our room so we were unable to use the patio or keep our doors open.
There were no dressers or night stand drawers so we lived out of a suitcase, maid never came into our room for 3 nights/days.
WiFi was weak, but went to the main dining area & could get a connection.
I think if management was more aware of there bookings, they never would have doubled booked the room.
Then we really could have enjoyed ourselves, it is a beautiful charming place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay to the fullest. It is our goal to ensure your complete satisfaction, and we are glad we were able to keep you in your original room. We hope the one free night compensated in some small way for the initial difficulty.

As you mentioned, we are a nonsmoking facility. We were unaware of your cigar smoking neighbor and would have asked him to stop had we known. While lacking dressers and nightstands, our casitas have shelving in the closet for your clothing. No need to live out of a suitcase. We are sorry for the performance of our in-room Wi-Fi. Lake La Quinta Inn has recently come under new management, which is planning resort-wide improvements to include upgraded internet service.

Our daily housekeeping logs show we attempted to service your room all three days you were here. Out of respect for your privacy, we wanted to honor the Do Not Disturb sign that was on your door the entirety of your visit. We apologize for the misunderstanding. We also noted in our log that Mary, our housekeeper, saw you in the Jacuzzi and offered to service your room despite the Do Not Disturb sign. We are sorry we mistook that room cleaning offer to you as a refusal. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the LQI for 4 nights over Thanksgiving, 2012. We were extremely pleased with the location convenient to La Quinta town center, Indio and Palm Desert. The setting was lovely overlooking Lake La Quinta. The breakfasts, with little/no selection, was excellent every day prompt, cordial service. Our room was comfortable (so was the bed) with a small patio overlooking the lake. While we didn't use the pool it looked inviting.

The entire property is showing some "age and wear". When we asked about status we were informed that the LQI had recently been sold and the new owners plan to refurbish all rooms and the common areas in 2013. If planning to go be sure to check if work is underway. Whatever improvements are made will only enhance this charming facility. You'll enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Chose a suite away from the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our 13 luxurious suites and casitas, each of them modeled on a European chateau, are comfortably cozy and charmingly elegant. All of them have wonderful views overlooking beautiful Lake La Quinta. We are happy to report Lake La Quinta Inn is now under new management and will indeed undergo a significant resort-wide renovation to better serve you. If you like us now, wait till you see what we become. Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will consider us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I love La Quinta Inn. The room was amazing. Very modern and super clean. We had a great view too. The service was great and the food delicious. If you go there one time you will be coming back for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinKessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for visiting Lake La Quinta Inn, Karin. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our boutique resort, with 13 luxurious lakefront suites, is an ideal spot for a romantic getaway. We appreciate your review and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I bought a livingsocial voucher for 2 nights at Lake La Quinta Inn, a small Bed and Breakfast. Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the Inn was. Our room was #9 on the second floor with a beautiful view of the lake. The room itself was spacious with a jacuzzi tub. There is also a pool and jacuzzi on the grounds which we did use. The breakfast was delicious which was served on the patio overlooking the lake. It was a wonderful experience and I'm looking forward to a repeat performance.

Room Tip: Our second floor room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for spending your birthday with us, Linda. We are glad you enjoyed your special getaway. We have 13 luxurious suites here at Lake La Quinta Inn, each with a wonderful lakefront view. Our boutique resort is a desert gem just waiting for discovery. We are happy you found us to your liking and hope to see you again soon. Happy birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I spent a very relaxing weekend at the Lake La Quinta Inn. This is a small B&B style location. The place is nice and clean with a gorgeous view of Lake La Quinta. The breakfast which was included was delicious. The room is spacious and modern. A few things that prevented me from giving this location five stars are: I don’t really like the room’s spa style setting where the bathtub, shower and sink are in one room with the bed. The TV is a bit small for such a large room so you can’t see it that well from the bed. Some of the tiles in the balcony need repair, and the tiles in the dining area look like they need to be either power cleaned or replaced.
The location is great, close to Palm Dessert and Indian Wells. Many great restaurants are close by. All in all it was a great weekend in a really nice B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loveagreatvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I had never been to a bed and breakfast but decided to try this one after such great reviews and a great deal on expedia. We stayed at the beginning of October for 4 nights. The place was great, we were really impressed! It was clean and well kept. The room was small but really quaint with lots of character and a balcony that overlooked the lake. The grounds were really quiet too, we barely ever saw other people unless it was at breakfast. And the breakfast, it was amazing! We still talk about how great it was. The service was great too! My boyfriend just kept saying our whole stay how great the place was and how much he liked it there. We would definitely go back again and again. In La quinta old town there was a great wine bar on Saturday night that was pretty busy and a restaurant we loved called Lavender with a beautiful patio.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Lake La Quinta Inn is a great choice for a bed and breakfast-style experience, Lothy. We are glad you and your boyfriend enjoyed your time with us. Our 13 luxurious suites, each with a view of idyllic Lake La Quinta, are chock-full of little touches and convenient amenities that make us an ideal getaway destination. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider us again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
6.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range: $141 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more.A chic boutique with a gorgeous lakeside view, picturesque surroundings and stunningly appointed guest rooms awaits you at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Energetic and vibrant with an intoxicating mix of attentive service and desert solitude, The Chateau invites indulgence and overwhelms your senses. Fresh from a $3.5 million renovation, which has transformed the property, adding thirteen additional new guest suites, a spectacular new lakeside restaurant, Melange, along with a beautiful new lobby bar, The Chateau offers its guests spectacular lake views from all 24 guest suites, outstanding food, sourced from California's finest family farms, and premium cocktails and wines. The Chateau is a remarkable, new, desert experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing