We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not as hard as I expected. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course

PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in La Quinta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by famed Jack Nicklaus, this 18-hole championship desert course is dramatic in design, featuring plenty of large lakes, deep bunkers and steep drops off the edges of greens.
redwood city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as hard as I expected. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Played Nov 2 2013. First take note course reopened at end of Oct. fairways and greens are fuzzy and won't be mowed tight until the second week of Nov. Played with my brother and nephew who are not great golfers. I was concerned the course would be very difficult for them. The course plays like many other resort courses. Landing areas are of good size. Sometimes offering split fairways to give you different approach choices. As a 8 handicap I found it a fun fair challenge but would recommend the blues from anyone under a 10 for a challenge. Nice views of the mountains surrounding it. Note: to find it once in on PGA drive go to very end of street at turnaround. That is the entrance for Nicklaus tournament not marked well.good luck have fun! FORE!

Helpful?
Thank robsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
528 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great golf...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Played it twice in one day...not very busy. Temps were about 108. Terrific challenging layout. Lots of sand and water. Greens were not great. Have to have high ball flight to stop the ball as the greens are very hard. Great club house. Take an extra club shooting into the greens as most of the trouble is in front of the greens. Very enjoyable!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Greens were in bad shape nice.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I am sure this course is a lot better during the high season. Played this course in June 2013 and the greens were very hard and did not roll true at all. They were a complete joke. Almost unplayable. If they just punched them let us know ahead of time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrock90631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,403 reviews
623 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 885 helpful votes
“A great, challenging golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

While definitely an easier track that it's neighbour the Stadium Course, the PGA West Nicklaus Tournament Course is no push over. Tight fairways, vast waste bunkers, elevated greens, long water carries and plenty of water hazards make the course much tougher than it looks on the scorecard.

There's no doubt you can score here but keeping your ball in the fairway is a must. We found the pace of play to be decent for a resort course - just over 4.5 hours - and the course was in decent shape. No two holes are identical which makes it an enjoyable course to play and approaching the 9th and 18th greens (particularly if you have a long iron in) can be heart stopping.

Don't be put off by the high greens fees. You can find bargains online if you look. We were able to book our tee-time for $125 (for 8:33am Saturday) on standbygolf.com.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Humana Challenge Tournament”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Watched the Tournament and enjoyed the Course to go around it,
Kept in great condition, Good condition for playing or watching.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buncy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing