We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PGA West Nicklaus Tournament Course”

PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in La Quinta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by famed Jack Nicklaus, this 18-hole championship desert course is dramatic in design, featuring plenty of large lakes, deep bunkers and steep drops off the edges of greens.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“PGA West Nicklaus Tournament Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The course is in excellent condition and is very challenging. There is lots of sand and water including two island greens. Pace of play was a bit slow (4.25 hours). The green fees are pricy but worth it to play this beautiful course. The clubhouse, practice areas, and staff were all great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DRStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nicklaus excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I have played Nicklaus around the world and he creates similar courses but everyone has a distinguishing feature, feel and identity to it. This course does not bank on you being in great form nor does it require you to a low handicapper, as long as you hit the ball fairly straight and have sparks of good form you will knock it round in a comfortably. What I loved so much about this course was the contours throughout the course, it is visually stunning and not often everybody in your group says WOW! That is something special and worth a mention. Please play this course after the stadium to fully understand my review, I file this after being tormented by the most difficult course I ever played. Plus, I have forgot to mention how welcoming and friendly the staff are no matter whether they are a groundsmen, caddy or bar maid everyone is brilliant!

Helpful?
1 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Course With Typical Nicklaus Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This course is well worth playing! Gorgeous views. Playable but challenging. All of the PGA West courses are outstanding and this one is no exception!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“outstanding staff, great course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My first time and needed to play in the afternoon. The reservationist was very helpful in advising which of the La Quinta courses to play. The Nicklaus course is in the middle of difficulty.

The starters greeted me by name and did an absolutley fantastic job of providing advice on the course and the best way to have fun. One of the superintendents stopped by on the second hole to chat and was very csutomer oriented.

I found the course very cahllengin and spent plenty of time in the sand. Very well maintained and would play there again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingdonUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This course is a great course to play and is more forgiving than other PGA courses. You will enjoy it. Get there early during peak season.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing