We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Taste of France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Brasserie Bistro & Bar

La Brasserie Bistro & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
La Brasserie Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington Street
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Little Taste of France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

After years of passing this restaurant we decided to stop in for lunch today and what a wonderful experience it was! La Brasserie truly brings a taste of France to the desert. Having recently returned from a vacation in Paris we were pleased to see the menu filled with regional flavors and dishes. I had the French Onion soup (excellent!) with a wonderful sandwich that include the most amazing truffle fries! My wife and daughter had vegetarian crepes and the quiche Lorraine. Everything was fresh and wonderful.

Our server was sweet and professional and all the staff were extremely attentive. The restaurant has a lovely decor that that really helps set the mood. We'll definitely be returning soon to sample their dinner faire!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LG_Weinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    69
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Real French food and fine service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Mussels stacked up high, wallowing in a steamy little sea of garlic butter. Shoestring fries sprinkled with flakes of parmesan cheese. A nice chilled sauvignon blanc. Dry desert air and a shady patio. Attentive friendly service.
I thought I had died and gone to heaven. It wasn't just because of all of the above mentioned desirables in a dining experience----it was drowning the last crispy fries in the remains of the mussel-garlic butter broth !
There are plenty of elegant restaurants in the Coachella Valley: Palm Springs, Palm Desert, La Quinta, Indoi, and this is certainly one of them.
In southern California an elegant ambiance does not call for a tie or a fancy dress. Casual golf chic seems to be de rigueur for all outings, so put the flip flops back on. Cutoffs and a T-shirt, maybe not.
You will get great bang for your buck in a cozy and well-appointed atmosphere at La Brasserie. Beet salad with goat cheese. Crepes of all persuasion. Vegan ravioli. I especially liked my iceberg wedge with bleu cheese crumbles and bacon.
The wine list is extensive and interesting, French champagne, Rohtschild white bordeaux, Alsace rose, Cotes du Rhone red, and some choice Californian and Argentinian reds for good measure. Let us not forget the pinot noir from Bourgogne and Oregon's Willamette Valley.
Seafood selections are fresh and delicious, considering the coast of California is two hours away. Classic French dishes such as cassoulet with white beans and duck confit and French onion soup share the menu with inventive nouveau Californienne cuisine like sesame encrusted seared Ahi tuna and Crater Lake vodka "Gravalax": cured salmon with toast points, horseradish sauce and whole grain mustard emulsion.
La Brasserie is on the corner of Washington St. and Highway 111, the main drag from Palm Springs down the Coachella Valley. The restaurant is easy to miss, as it istucked back in the corner of in a shopping center. Easy access from Interstate 10 by the Washington St exit.
For first time visitors who may be staying north of there in Palm Springs, it makes a nice scenic circuit to drive down the freeway, stop for a La Brasserie gourmet extravaganza dinner and take the 111 back to Palm Springs.
All the way there are gorgeous mountain views of the 10,000 ft Mt. San Jacinto range looming over the valley, the vast dry sandy desert, and palms and eucalyptus shading beautifully landscaped golf courses.
It will give you a twenty mile round trip tour of the valley with a fabulous dining experience in between.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneertown, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner at La Brasserie, La Quinta, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went there on 7/14/2014 - Bastille Day- and before on Father's Day 6/15/2014 with my sister and her husband. When I made reservations for 7/14/2014, the lady said "I remember you, will it be again for 4 people" and I told her that my sister returned to Germany. I was amazed of her memory. Everything was outstanding, the food, service, just about everything. I had my Frogs Legs for the 2nd time, took home half of it for a 2nd meal. My husband had the steak special on Father's Day, again with a take home bag and had the Rack of Lamb on Bastille Day, again with leftovers. Of course, their wine selection is excellent and I always favor the French wines. It's a little pricey, but worth every penny.. Only drawback is that the dining room is a little noisy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a great French restaurant in the middle of the desert - I was pleasantly surprised! Started off with a Beet Salad and an order of Escargot Bourgogne which was amazing! I had the Hangar Steak Salad which was also very good. The staff was friendly and attentive and the Pineapple and Melon Mojito's weren't bad either!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
174 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Love love love this spot....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This gem is not to be missed. Delicious food, and great service. We loved the bartender--and returned for delicious food and cocktails since he was so charming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canukgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brasserie Bistro & Bar also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to La Brasserie Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing