We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beside being built into a cliff, atmosphere and food are excellent”

La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Washington Street
Description: From the moment you approach the Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The historic ranch house ambiance complete with a massive fireplace, expansive windows and rustic beamed ceilings creates a warm welcoming environment from which to gaze at the magnificent mountains, share a meal and conversation and stay awhile. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles.
Camden, Arkansas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beside being built into a cliff, atmosphere and food are excellent”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been here twice on business. It is an excellent place to bring your business associates. Great atmosphere and high end food. They have expanded their seafood menu and it is excellent. Good wine selection also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    295
    86
    39
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lasne, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely sunset with bar meal”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Cliff house is as it says an excellent place to look over the valley to the mountains either side of the valley and view a sunset sipping some very well made cocktails or a beer from their good selection. The starters make excellent tapas style to share snacks or their bar meals are tasty, especially their cactus penne or their own beefburger .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Professional atmosphere”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Made last minute reservations for 5 colleagues and we were treated as regulars. The hostess was very professional and efficient in immediately seating us at a nice center table. The server, Rebecca, was very knowledgeable and had an excellent personality. The restaurant had a "sunrise special," that was very reasonably priced.
We started with the calamari appetizer that fed 5 people. The restaurant had an extensive wine list accessible on an iPad.
The dinner specials consisted of at least five entrées that included a variety of seafood and meat. During this meal, our colleagues were embroiled in a variety of discussions, and the server never made us feel rushed or tried to move us along. I would highly recommend this restaurant to my colleagues.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We came here tonight after we discovered that the restaurant we planned to go to was closed for the summer. What a great dinner! They have changed their menu and it was great. We highly recommend the Salmon salad and fish tacos! The service was great! Laurie was excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great place in La Quinta”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a very good, upscale restaurant in the La Quinta area. The valet service is complimentary, so parking won't be a problem. The place is built right into a rocky hillside. You walk up to the restaurant level, or you can ride a elevator for the short trip up. We had really good food, from steaks, to seafood, appetizers etc. It was quite crowded and noisy but that is usually what you expect for a popular place. I would recommend reservations. There were people ahead of us that didn't have reservations and had to settle for eating in the bar, which is not a bad thing necessarily as the bar is very nice and has a whole bar menu. Service was also very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maverickguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing