We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“touristy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar

La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Washington Street
Description: From the moment you approach the Cliffhouse you are surrounded by the dramatic sights and sounds of this desert destination. Jutting from a massive rock outcropping above the desert floor the Cliffhouse is renowned for its spectacular views across the valley and providing a lively, casual destination to enjoy a menu of American classics with innovative preparations focused on premium steaks and seafood at great prices. The historic ranch house ambiance complete with a massive fireplace, expansive windows and rustic beamed ceilings creates a warm welcoming environment from which to gaze at the magnificent mountains, share a meal and conversation and stay awhile. The menu highlights vibrant flavors from the valley along with a generous selection of fresh fish and seafood. The wine list has been thoughtfully chosen to complement the food and provide reasonably priced selections including rare and limited bottles.
Hailey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“touristy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've been curious about the Cliffhouse for 20 years and finally had dinner there. We had reservations, but had to wait 20 mins. The dining area is large and the tables are right next to each other. I don't want to hear other people's conversation when I'm eating. The food was acceptable, but a bit bland & boring. The wine was very over priced! i.e.; a bottle I buy a Costco for $15, they are selling for $60. I've been there once & that's enough. The early birds in the bar looked they were having more fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaileyHorse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    282
    81
    38
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprise Hideaway in Cliff features high class Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Eclectic crowd that skews to upper class senior locals. Diverse happy hour menu featuring superb Ahi Tuna, simply delicious fish tacos, and tastefully finished asparagus and crab soup. The menu will satisfy anyone with great $6-8 offerings. Quite romantic. Makes you look like a big spender and still walk out satisfied for under $50 for two, including food,drinks and optional tip for free valet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Speaker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a very nice desitnation restaurant located between La Quinta and Indian Wells. We avoided it because we try to not get caught in "big deal" restaurants. This one was very nice. Big bar area and lots of tables. Small plates are easy to do and all of the food was superb. Excellent service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better than most”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The whole experience is very positive, good food, especially the artichoke, valet parking, good views, friendly staff. It is a bit dated and when full quite noisy but experience in a restaurant pays off. Prices actually reasonable for the quality and quantity. Somebody here cares. Hey this is old Palm Springs when Sinatra and Dean Martin frequented these places. Enjoy the nostalgia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caribttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
164 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cliffhouse is a restaurant in the Palm Springs situated on a mountainside with views of the natural stone, a waterfall, and the desert landscape. This place had tourist trap written all over it but was highly recommended on many travel sites so we gave it a shot. Not horrible by any means but definitely overpriced for the average quality of food served. See details after the pros & cons.

+ Complimentary Valet Parking (tips appreciated)
+ Unique setting with views available from some tables.
+ Outdoor seating available

- Cuisine not up to par with other dining establishments at this price point
- Inexcusably poor wine/liquor selection
- Some interesting concepts on the menu... too bad they are poorly executed

Skip the cocktails as our drinks were weak and the bartender did not know the difference between Tonic & Soda for a Gin & Tonic. The Liquor selection is not horrible but offers nothing more than you might find behind the shelf at a moderately priced franchise pub & grill.

The wine selection consists of labels you might recognize from your local Albertson's or Safeway. We poured over the wine list and could only find one or two bottles that we would consider tolerable. The white was delivered warmer than we would have liked and left of the table without a chilling bucket. We noticed other white wines were also sitting naked on tabletops. Our waitress was kind enough to find a chilling bucket for our bottle.

The menu is composed of steak and seafood dishes, many infused with Asian flavors. The grouper with forbidden rice, bok choy, and orange sauce sounded delightful. In reality the rice was not cooked evenly. Some rice was undercooked to the point of being crunchy while other bites were soggy. Only a small portion of the rice was cooled correctly. The boo choy was inedible. The grouper itself was slightly overcooked but close to correct and would have been very nice if it had some seasoning.I was able to spoon some of the orange sauce over the fish and rice to get an idea of what this dish may have been intended to taste like. The concept was interesting but the execution was a failure.

Overall: If you are a foodie or a wine connoisseur skip Cliffhouse and save yourself the anger of paying for a mediocre meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hi_Fi_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to La Quinta Cliffhouse Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing