We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice grounds, close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Legacy Villas at La Quinta
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice grounds, close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well, everything in La Quinta, anyway. Pretty layout, good facilities, clean, quiet, very enjoyable. Easy walk to the La Quinta resort next door, which has a variety of restaurants, golf, tennis, bike rentals, and other amusements. Recommended for families, especially little kids. Main pool includes a fine small children area. Only possible complaint is the evident lack of staff - nobody much around except for the gate attendant and maintenance workers. The snack bar was either closed or understaffed during our visit, which wasn't much of a hardship.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cosoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Been to the La Quinta resort a few times, but first time here. Will be coming here from now onwards. Spacious townhomes with new furnishings for a great rate. Plenty of pools and the clubhouse and fitness center was awesome. Also its less crowded than the resort for a better price. Ample walking trails, friendly people, 24 hr security gated and just amazing homes inside and out. Clean pools and plenty of chairs and free cabanas. Close walk to the resort so you can enjoy the restaurants etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous resort setting in La Quinta, CA. The condo homes can be rented out nightly or weekly. Beautiful landscaping, fountains and 14 pools. Nice for family's or romantic get away. We rented 3 BR condo with fountain and mountain views. Self contained complex w all the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripsfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

when i stayed at the legacy villas last Christmas, it was amazing. the temperature was perfect and it felt like you were living in your own little house in a gated community. the people there were very nice, one even took the time to cook a delicious Christmas dinner for my family. my visit was very enjoyable and i look forward to the next time i go there. its an amazing place to spend a week or two with your family and friends.

Room Tip: rooms near a pool are very fun. at night you can go sit in a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

I've stayed at this property twice, once in winter and recently Memorial Day weekend. During the winter I found this resort absolutely gorgeous and accommodating. However, since the recent and numerous foreclosures coupled with an unregulated rental program at Legacy Villas has turned this property into a 2 star Las Vegas Strip Hotel with unruly guests. Except for one security personnel at the gatehouse, I saw no supervision on the property. To claim a pool lounge chair for the weekend, guests left towels and toys to hold their spot. Smoking signs ignored, toddlers on the treadmills. One owner remarked that the weekends of the Coachella and Stagecoach concerts were worse. Too bad for such a beautiful property. Next year we're going back to La Quinta Resort although in Chapter 11 they've managed to retain a dignified environment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank WhatIKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

I had the most relaxing 4 days ever. I rented a unit listed on royalevacationrentals.com. It was emaculate and quiet. Legacy Villa is new and very well maintained. There is a gym and large ornate common area or "office" as my guy called it.
It is located near PS and we had no problem finding the place. Nice location for a walk too.
After a day of relaxing by the pool and lounging in the hammocks we drove est. 45 min away to Pappy and Harriet's for a red-neck western evening. Awesome.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mar2mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

The Legacy Villas at the La Quinta Resort is a beautiful place to stay and to live. Travelers should know that the LV are related to the La Quinta Resort, but are not part of it like the core hotel and the Spa Villas.

Many units are owned by full-time or seasonal residents, and others by long-distance owners. Everyone has access to the excellent clubhouse and pool area, which includes gas grills, a lap pool, a modern fitness center and a large pool area with fountains, cabanas and a play area for kids. There are 10 other small pools around the complex, so you are never very far from taking a dip. The location itself is stunning, built abutting the mountain and with lots of lush greenery and palm trees. Within 15 minute drives are whatever you might need, from Trader Joe's to excellent restaurants to shopping at the Paseo.

People booking the LV as a short-term or overnight guest through the La Quinta Resort should know that the hotel is a very short drive from the main hotel grounds but isn't a particularly great walk down the street. I suspect that several reviewers may have been unaware that the LV are physically separate from the Resort and are quite different from it. I would not recommend the LV as an apples-to-apples equal for the resort experience, though you'll find the same high-quality sheets, furniture and design, and pay-per-view channels. For example, the smallest rooms at LV are lock-off rooms-- subdivisions of a larger, 2 or 3 bedroom unit. The walls and doors between the rooms are not up to hotel standards because they're really designed as interior walls and doors.

People who arrive at the LV outside of the La Quinta Resort typically rent from owners or agents in the area who pool owners, and rent either the 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom or detached 3 bedroom condos. These units are not managed by the Resort and each is directly responsible for their own tenants, but all are well-designed, feature modern kitchen and baths and either patio or terrace space.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank onechase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.0 mi away
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
Indian Wells Resort Hotel
#4 of 4 in Indian Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Villas at La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Villas at La Quinta

Property: Legacy Villas at La Quinta
Address: 48-784 Classic Drive, La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property consists of three 3-bedroom, 3-bath villas. .* Amenities include, fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, bar-b-que, 3 fire places, 5 TVs -- HD TV with 23 movie channels and DVD players, Free Wifi. .* It is located just steps from the clubhouse with three pools, 2 spas, fitness center, grille, hammock garden, outdoor fireplaces, lobby, meeting room, bar-b-ques, children's play area, pool cabanas and more. .* This is a private gated community with 24x7 security guard. .* We are two blocks from the La Quinta Resort and close to restaurants, tennis, golf, shopping casinos, and other activities. .* We are non-smoking and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Legacy Villas At La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
Legacy Villas At La Quinta California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing