We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Pizza we've found so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gondola Pizza

Gondola Pizza
Ranked #4 of 86 Restaurants in La Mirada
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It all started 43 years ago when Josephine & Sam (Onorato) Agrusa first opened. Since then, Gondola Pizza has served original fresh homemade Italian food. Together with their 3 children, they worked from 4 a.M. To late hours, 7 days a week. As of today, they still work. Some in the office, some in the kitchen and some have opened their own business (North Carolina). All with the same goal - work hard and make the best food. We at Gondola Pizza, owners and workers, thank you for all your support through all these years, and we will be here for many years to come, always making homemade fresh Itailian food
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza we've found so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We laughingly consider ourselves "food-aholics" and are continually in search of good things to eat. Since moving west we've had lots of problems satisfying our tastes for good pizza. However, Gondola Pizza may be the answer to that.

The atmosphere is very loud, but that's because you have so many customers in line waiting to place an order. And people waiting everywhere for carryouts. I don't know if they don't have delivery, or if that is just the way things are done out here, but it made for a very loud dinner! We had an extra large pizza with lots of toppings. I loved the fresh mushrooms instead of canned and it was the best Italian sausage I've had in decades. We also tried the calzone which was unimpressive and another small pizza. We had 6 hearty eaters at our table and still had 2 boxes of leftovers. I was impressed. We don't usually have leftovers!

I am definitely looking forward to trying this place again. I recommend getting there early on a weekend. We arrived at 4 pm on Saturday and it was a very short line. Before we got our food the line was out the door and never let up. The plates of pasta being delivered to other tables looked delicious! I don't usually find good pasta at a place mostly known for their pizza, but I will be trying theirs in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarineMom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

So we decided to try their pizza while on vacation, after hearing great things about it, and it turned out to be an awesome pizza place. We loved it. We ordered the extra large pizza with everything on it, we wound up having a lot of leftovers (that actually even reheated well)..I highly recommend trying them if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
“to die for!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been going to gondolas for as long as a could remember!!!!!! It has never changed nor have the people. my favorite thing on the menu is the fettuccini Alfredo. the sauce is just cooked to perfection! if you want a great family restaurant this is the place to go!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best pizza in So. Cal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Growing-up in Chicago where the best pizza in the world is plentiful (sorry New Yorkers) I was depressed living in LA as I could find no decent pizza. Until I found Gondola Pizza in La Mirada/Whittier, CA. Good thin crust, tasty sauce and all the toppings are quality. All at reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjtravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big and loud- but pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Everybody goes there- except us these days. Pizza pretty good but too heavy. We are just old farts now & heavy food weighs us down.

Helpful?
Thank MargeBee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gondola Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Gondola Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing