We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but fun waterpark”
Review of Splash!

Splash!
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in La Mirada
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but fun waterpark”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is very local and inexpensive. Only $18 for over 48' inches. There is an Olympic pool, lazy river, 2 kid play areas & some slides. FYI: no outdoor food only water bottles

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank anniefran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome water park for kids & adults of all ages!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is in a perfect location for me & my family. Not too far like other water parks & it has a little of everything from toddler pools to huge water slides & most of all the lazy river is suitable for everyone. The showers, restrooms & changing rooms are well maintained. You get a good deal if you buy your passes ahead of time and not to mention the coupons you get per pass, usually discounts on food and free sandwich from Chick-Fil-A, plus free friend admittance to Splash.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Camp Out”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am a season pass holder along with my daughter. First the good stuff. It is is closer to me and they have so many lifeguards you feel safe taking a restroom break without your over 48" 9 year old leaving the lazy river to go along with you. Don't become complacent people it your kid needs a life jacket do not let go! It is not crowded but the people in tubes are there to have a good time not look out for your sputtering, floundering child clinging to the wall of the slow moving river for dear life. The 3 slides are perfect for average thrill seekers and the lines are short. Perfect time to go is on a Friday when they are open till 8 p.m. Go after 2 p.m., that is usually when the summer day campers have left. Now, the family camp out August 9th. Logistically good of been set up better. Not sure why they did not have the s'mores cook out set up closer to the tent sites. Not sure why they did not offer carts to schlep your gear to your site. I did get help from a staff member to carry my gear after I asked for help. The staff really did not promote the "games" they advertised on their posters/flyers. On the way to get s'mores I saw the hula hoops, sidewalk chalk and random bean bags strewn about but no staff or directed play or games. They really need to tell people that the sites are measured out for a 4 to 6 person tent. Any bigger than that and your are in your neighbors site. The showers need to be cleaned out after the park closes so that the people that paid extra to spend the night don't have to clean up after the crowds that have been there all day, just so they can use the shower. Pretty gross, hair in the drain, left over bottles of and zip lock containers of shampoo and other products, towels and wash rags. My biggest complaint is that none of the shower curtains were hung correctly on the hooks. They were either missing hooks or unhooked or broken. So privacy was limited. The meal provided is the same stuff you can get from their snack bar. Burgers, hot dogs, pizza, chips and a soda. Breakfast was a choice of small boxed cereals mini packaged donuts, muffins from Coscto cut into fours, croissants, milk, oj, apples, bananas, string cheese, go-gurt, danimals yogurt drink, and coffee. I spend $28.00 each for my daughter and I for this (that was the season pass holder rate) Still not sure if I will go to the camp out next year

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank marlo642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Annoying safety focus”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Let's start with the good: free parking, no lines to get in and much cheaper than 6flags.

But our visit was a MAJOR disappointment. For others, you should be helped knowing the following:

The dressing rooms had lockers, but nobody told us we would have to get a special locker armband ($5 once) to use them. Seems like rarely any guests shower before entering pools, showers are mostly not used.

The worst point though is the EXTREME focus on safety. I have been to quite a lot of water parks all over the world, and I have NEVER seen anything like this. There are lifeguards EVERYWHERE. In the river about every 10 feet (the water is 3-4 feet deep..), there is two serving the "big slides" where only one person is allowed at a time (for your safety), and yes they also have a lifeguard at the end of the small kids slide to make sure they exit safely. That slide is 3 feet tall. Water is perhaps 5 inches deep. Plus they insist that EVERY child under 46" height is not allowed on "big slides" and MUST wear a swim west. No matter how closely guarded by a parent, no exception. They claim it is ocean rules...

And the 50m swim bath we also came for (so that one adult could do laps) ? "Closed, because we do not have any lifeguards. ". The smaller swim area ? "Closed until 1230, because of education of swimmers".

Yes, we paid 70 USD to wade around 5-10 inch deep baby pools guarded by at least 15 life guards. Our 5 year old wearing a life vest. She probably could not even have drowned if she tried to.

The irony of all this annoying safety focus: in a splash area, where they finally let little kids free of the life wests, a mat at the bottom of a slide was loose from the screws that fixed it to the concrete. Result: kids would scrape the legs landing on concrete. Response after telling 3 staff members "yes we know, it will be fixed during next week". Would they tell the same if a sharp object was tearing your foot somewhere "yeah we know, but you do not drown."

I gave up explaining to these safety robots the irony of it all. Feared they would follow the 5-year old to the toilet fearing she would drown in American toilets.. the water there is deeper than the pool where she had to wear life vest.

We did not buy any of their unhealthy and expensive junk food. Chicken nuggets, fries and soda, is that the best food you can come up with ?

All in all, the park is probably good if you have someone max 2 years old. For any other age groups this park is nothing but restrictions "for your safety".

Whatever happened to responsibility for own actions ?

Deeply disappointed. Family of 4 from Europe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank inkjetmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“children enjoyed”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We took the kids and they enjoyed the different water activities. food queues were quite long and food costly yet they do not allow youto bring in a snack or something...should improve on that...also activities that the kids wanted to do were frequently closed and lifeguards would not allow most ordinary activities in water....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash! also viewed

 
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Splash!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing