We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Raves, but no Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here overnight while on a quick business trip. Front desk was pleasant and helpful. Room was suite with lots of useless space and sofas. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean. Very nice selection of DirecTV channels. Internet was free and strong signal. Parking was tight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Captain814,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We strive to be the best in the industry and it makes us happy to read that you found the room clean and comfortable, and the staff helpful. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we most certainly welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying and we hope you to serve you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 322 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

After a cross country drive to relocate son- the room was very quiet, staff very friendly and accommodating.
Room on first floor exceptionally clean- great black out blinds and no noise! All that you need in a hotel room!
Will stay when I visit next!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieY58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a last minute stay in San Diego and the Holiday Inn Express offered a military discount and complimentary breakfast so it was OK. The hallways and my room had a musty smell to it. The front desk manager TRIED to help by spraying air freshener and opening the window, but it only helped for a brief amount of time. The hotel is right off the freeway and the noise for the traffic was too much, so the window had to be closed immediately
The hotel offered an complimentary parking and hot breakfast that was very good. Over All an OK at best stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalldtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Travelalldtime,

Thank you for staying and for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am glad that you liked our complimentary parking and breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the scent of the hallway and your room. Rest assured that I have shared you comments with our hotel management to consider improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope you visit us again.b

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and convenient. Carlos worked the desk and was as welcoming as could be. He baked some chocolate chip cookies and had fresh coffee to help "spoil" our dinner. The room was cooled and not stuffy. The hotel just smells clean. The beds are firm but comfortable. The furnishings are classic and fresh. Good location. We will stay here again if given the opportunity.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Gambrino5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we entered the door Carlos welcomed us and made us feel like we were home. He had home-baked chocolate chip cookies and fresh coffee. The room is very comfortable. We came here after having a very bad experience in another hotel not too far away. This is a welcome respite after that experience.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Gambrino5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This property is a way from San Diego about a 15 min drive. Good value older property staff very friendly and helpful. Corridors a little dark room was very spacious liked that we had a small fridge and microwave. This hotel is right next to the highway so you do hear traffic. There were a couple of restaurants near by as well. Breakfast was very good didn't get to check out the pool was a little cold when we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ygmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked this hotel online. The person who checked me in was quick, efficient,and very helpful. All of the staff was very nice during my stay, and they are definitely still updating. The corridors were a little dark, and the halls seemed a little older, still, but the rooms were excellent, breakfast was wonderful, and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the interstate, it can get a little loud.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
2.4 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
776 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
14.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
3.6 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego

Address: 9550 Murray Drive, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range: $113 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego nestled centrally in San Diego La Mesa. We are just off the 8 Freeway and minutes away from SDSU, Grossmont Center, Grossmont Hospital, Downtown La Mesa and El Cajon. We strive to provide the perfect accommodations for our ideal guests: the business traveler, the small family, the sports team, and the corporate group. Our new rooms have the most comfortable bedding and pillows. Lie down, open up your laptop, and enjoy our stellar Wi-Fi while you enjoy over 200 HD channels on our 42-inch flat screens displaying the best of DirecTV(R) programming. Take a hot shower or bath, enjoy a hot breakfast, and enjoy the best of San Diego. We would love to see you! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (Sdsu Area) Hotel La Mesa
Holiday Inn La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing