We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've stayed here several times while visiting family nearby. Each time we stayed we feel like we got our moneys worth. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the folks at the front desk have been very courteous and helpful. We have only eaten the breakfast here once, but it was decent. Not gourmet by any means, but there was a good selection of cold and hot foods available. Some other reviewers have mentioned the freeway noise, but that has never been a problem for us. This is just a nice little motel on the highway for staying at for a relatively affordable price. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papadon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    68
    38
    19
    22
See reviews for
108
50
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family stayed here for 3 nights and had to change rooms each day to try to find a quiet room. No such thing. Who knew that after the first sleepless night due to the street traffic, our request to be moved to a quieter room would result in them moving us to a room on the highway side! Needless to say, again virtually no sleep. The next day, after we again complained, we were again moved, but only a few doors away -- to their quietest room-type (still on the highway side, but nearer the pool). Finally, at midnight, after another call to the front desk regarding the endless noise, they came to our room with a large bag of earplugs (clearly they were accustomed to noise complaints from their guests) and allowed us to take a few. They helped, but only a little. Third strike. Also, the pre-prepared breakfast choices (served in a small room) were pretty paltry and unsatisfying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breester03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELaMesa, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us some feedback in efforts to better improve our hotel. Please allow me the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while staying at our property.

We are currently looking into solutions to decrease the highway noise. For future reservations please contact the hotel front desk directly and we will notate your account and place you in a room away from the highway and I can assure you a 100% satisfactory stay.
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Thank you,
Tanaja P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Major freeway noise. Needs better sound proof windows.
Hallways smell horrible.
Cable TV with 100's of channels, but non-HD cable box results in very poor picture quality.
Breakfast ok. Breakfast lady works hard. Generally staff were nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amuzed2death
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear amuzed2death,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are delighted you appreciated the service you received from our staff and the breakfast. My apologies for the inconvenience you had with the noise and the condition of our facilities. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

While the staff is friendly and the room is large, the hotel is a little on the old side and a little off the beaten path. The room was comfortable, the workout room is small and the pool outdoors, but both look decent enough to use.

For Priority Club members, I received the sack of goodies, but there were no cookies on the counter.

Breakfast was typical - good! Biscuits, Sausage gravy, Omelette, bacon, Cinammon roll and then, of course, their healthy items.

Room Tip: Room I stayed in was on top floor and away from elevator, rm 432
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELaMesa, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel feedback about your most recent stay. It's great being a Priority Club Member, and receiving the goodie bag and recognition is the icing on the cake :) .You can't start your morning without breakfast! We are glad you enjoyed it. I am also pleased to announce we will be undergoing renovations this upcoming year. We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you,
Tanaja P
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

First the favorable...staff very friendly and accommodating. Beds and pillows were quite comfortable. Room size adequate. Plenty of hot water and nice sized bath towels. The cons... Pool is ridiculously small and looks nothing like the photo. Doors going into rooms need replacing or fixing up. Could not open window as track was rusted and there were no screens. Unless you have a lot of kids free breakfast not very good. Not worth it. Horrible smell in the lobby and elevators most likely to camouflage another smell. Carpet in both elevators were dirty and spotted. The worse was the desk was newly stained and got all over me and my clothes. They did send my clothes to the cleaner and miraculously they removed the red stain on white shorts. I don't know if the fabric will rip when washed though. If you have a student at SDSU it is very convenient. Literally minutes away. That is why I picked that hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherS838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELaMesa, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your most recent stay. We appreciate the feedback, as it is a guide to inform our management team on improvements we can make. I can assure you we have addressed all matters , and will be undergoing renovations within the next year. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and we are grateful the cleaners were able to take care of your clothing. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Thanks you,
Tanaja P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed on the 2nd floor and listened to the idiot next door on the phone and the stomping above me. There seemed to be staffing issue as one desk clerk was a no show - leaving the breakfast server to do both jobs. Another desk clerk was indifferent to guest inquiries - mine in person and others who called in. Some female "live-in" guest occupied the computer in the lobby on a daily basis. Should be a meter on that kind of behavior. Even though the outside temp was over 100 degrees, the pool was stone cold. Hallways are dark and dated. The pancake machine in the breakfast room was out of order. The elevator was a sweat box - no exhaust fan and the carpet was in need of replacement. For a couple of extra bucks, I should have stayed in a property that did not resemble a flop house - my mistake.

Room Tip: Charcoal House Restaurant next door was very good - service and food. Even though it's a retro e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeekaPooPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyteam11, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay. We apologize sincerely, for the disturbance that was caused by ta fellow guest. We can assure you, these instances do not take place on a regular basis. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Thank you,
Tanaja P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The staff was very nice and helpful. I was concerned about staying here due to the reviews that mentioned the noise from the freeway. But we had no problems with it at all. We were on the 3rd floor in the back of the hotel and due to the very warm weather had the air going and was not able to hear the traffic at all. Great restaurants on both sides of the hotel. The breakfast was nice, make sure you try the cinnamon rolls they were the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate0574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyteam11, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience. Our staff and management team appreciate your feedback. The cinnamon rolls are amazing! We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Tanaja
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.4 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#4 of 8 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#4 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego
Address: 9550 Murray Dr, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego nestled centrally in San Diego La Mesa. We are just off the 8 Freeway and minutes away from SDSU, Grossmont Center, Grossmont Hospital, Downtown La Mesa and El Cajon. We strive to provide the perfect accommodations for our ideal guests: the business traveler, the small family, the sports team, and the corporate group. Our new rooms have the most comfortable bedding and pillows. Lie down, open up your laptop, and enjoy our stellar Wi-Fi while you enjoy over 200 HD channels on our 42-inch flat screens displaying the best of DirecTV(R) programming. Take a hot shower or bath, enjoy a hot breakfast, and enjoy the best of San Diego. We would love to see you! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (Sdsu Area) Hotel La Mesa
Holiday Inn La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing